An exciting new collection

This week, amongst the Christmas build up madness something quite exciting happened. My friend notsogranny launched her latest collection that she had designed in collaboration with Eden Cottage Yarns. It is called Bletchley.

Nothing exciting in that you might think, except that I was lucky enough to have been asked to knit some of the original pieces that were then used for the photo shoot. How awesome is that?

Baudot

Source

This was the first bit that I knitted. It is called Baudot, a lace knit slouched beanie that actually has an original cipher code hidden within the lace work. How cool is that?

Bombe

Source

This is the Bombe. This is the piece that I am most proud of because it was my first ever go at colourwork (thanks to Joanne for her confidence in me). Luckily it wasn’t anywhere near as difficult as I thought it would be and was a piece that I really enjoyed knitting. It is knitted in the round and then grafted together. Please don’t be put off by any of this. If, like me you are new to it don’t dismiss it because it really isn’t as hard as it sounds.

Both of these pieces were quick to work with the yarn being a real pleasure to work with. The only downside to all this is that when I see Joanne wearing them I feel slightly jealous….maybe it is time that I treat myself to my own?

Behind the scenes info

Should you wish to find out more about why the collection is called Bletchley then check out Joannes post here.

The complete collection

To have a look at the other amazing pieces that are part of the collection or to purchase the patterns then head over here.

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

