My life in colour + challenge for you!

Day 1:            23rd April       COLOUR LOVERS          3KCBWDAY1

I am a child of the seventies – need I say anymore? Therefore I think that it goes without saying that I was dressed in a kaleidoscope of colours.  Maybe this contributed to me being a painfully shy teenager, I wanted to fade away into the background:

I am positive however that I was not as successful as these ladies! I tended towards dark colours (esp. black). With the benefit of hindsight I can now see that black is not really a very good camouflage – how much of the world is black? In nature?, In our homes (anyone painted their kitchen or living room black?) . I take it you get my point? I think that the only thing really going for it is that it is ‘safe’. Most people seem to have black around them most of the time and it is hard to get it wrong – most other colours look ok with black.

After my second child I decided that I needed a bit of a treat and booked an appointment with a ‘Colour Me Beautiful’ agent. She was wonderful and completely changed my mind when it came to colour. Colour is good. Colour is fun.

    Colour can:

and everybody elses too. Colour is extremely powerful! She even suggested that,as a primary teacher I could actually help the children in my class learn more! Simply by wearing the right colours.

So, to summarise the ‘Colour me Beautiful’ lady helped me to stop being afraid of colour. She taught me how to tell if a colour suits you. It is so simple. Do you remember as a child holding a buttercup under someone’s chin to see if they like butter? (if there was a yellow shadow you did and if not then you didn’t!) Well the test for colour is the same. If you hold the wool or material up to your neck or chin and you can see a bright reflection then that colour suits you. (It brightens up your skin a bit like holding a mirror up does). If not then the answer is no. You can buy books with the colours that suit a particular skin shade together but I am hopeless at remembering this and tend to rely on the chin test!

My rules for dressing now!

Now, down to my knitting and crochet. Do I follow this theory through now that I have bright red coats, pink tunics and mustard tops? Ummm, well, ummm, not exactly! When I was thinking about this post I thought about the things I had made. There is one lime green scarf :D:

But to be honest I do not continue my new-found love of colour through! I knitted a great muted green poncho. 3 grey teddies……

My throws are also quite muted:

(My excuse for these is that my husband is quite traditional and conservative when it comes to decorations around the house. So if they were to be used then they had to be!)

Talking about my better half made me remember that I did knit him a jumper in a colour similar to the edging on the throws. It would seem that maybe I can make things in bright colours for others. I did have one adventurous moment when I brought this:

As you can see it was a good idea in principle!

Having recently begun to use beads in wire jewellery I looked at the ones I had in my box. I had a bit of an epiphany. Yes I like wearing red, I dress my children in orange and yellow but I am still drawn to the ‘safer’ colours of greens and blues. These are the colours that I have been most comfortable with for the majority of my life. As for the wires I can take no credit for the fact that I have got purple, pink and red as I bought a sample pack that came with these colours. I do like using them however.

To summarise therefore I would say that I am not good at choosing bright coloured components to make things with but I do quite enjoy wearing and creating things with them (except for the unused wool!) I therefore declare that I am going to set myself a challenge (and you too if you wish):

I will give you a choice of 2:

1. My son has a challenge to find me wearing black – it happens sometimes but not often. How about you? Can you go a week without wearing anything black? Including makeup?

2. Join me in trying to move away from your comfort zone when you buy yarn. Try to be bold. I will if you do!

If you are fashion conscious (or wish to be) there is a guide to the colours that are hot this spring at Spoilt Rotten Beads (remember to choose the brighter colours!)

Please let me know if you are joining me with this challenge and follow me on twitter or Facebook to see how I am getting on!

“The purest and most thoughtful minds are those which love colour the most.”
John Ruskin

10 thoughts on “My life in colour + challenge for you!

  1. adaliza

    That’s an interesting thought – the colours that we wear might affect our students’ learning! What colour is best then? I may try it in class and see if appeals to sixth-formers too! I was colour-coded once, some years ago – apparently I’m Autumn so should wear cream not white – that’s about all I remember. Fun though – eh?

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      It is fun – I can’t quite remember the details but it goes with the general moods of colours i.e. green is soothing or relaxing, red is stimulating etc. I shall have to do some more research now I have thought about it again. I do remember that not many people can wear pure white (myself included) it is not a very forgiving colour so you are not alone!

      Reply
  2. Natalie

    This is such an interesting subject and a very thought provoking post!

    I think i have a bit of a duel nature when it comes to my relationship with colour – i love bright cheery colours and i use them a lot on my art and craftwork but when it comes to my clothes i am far more reserved – i don’t wear black though, ever, i don’t think i even own anything black! I like pink, blue and grey mostly 🙂

    I will be very interested to hear how you get on with the challenge you have set yourself – it sounds like a great idea!

    I love your throws btw, the second one is just the kind of colours i’d choose – gorgeous!!

    Reply
  3. Butterfly Blossom

    Very interesting reading! I do wear black quite a lot but never all in black, I like to mix it with other colours although I recently bought myself a pair of teal coloured jeans – I do worry that I look like a bit of a beacon in them though 🙂

    Reply
  4. quirky houses

    I love colour! Black can be quite draining, on some people (like me)!
    I like the patterns in your throw. Maybe you could add some small accent colours around the home.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

