Crochet versus knitting

3KCBWDAY7       29th May               Crafting Balance

 

Few nearly there and I will have written a post everyday for a week!

 Now for the final day we have to write about how we balance knitting and crochet. The short answer is I don’t! I do whatever the whim takes me and what pattern I fancy doing next. At the moment that tends to be crochet as it lends itself more to the wire jewellery that I am currently doing. However, to be fair I did a comparison table:

 

Knittingisawsome

 

suzyhausfrau

I can knit without looking at what I am doing. I usually have to look where I put the hook.
You have to cast off. You just finish the last stitch.
You have (or should) finish the row before you stop. You can put it down whenever you need to.It takes more wool. 
Needles are quite long and could be used as weapons by children. It is more portable (hooks are smaller than needles)
Needles not allowed on aeroplanes. Hooks are not as dangerous and so can get past security.

As you can see the weight seems to be very much in favour of crochet. Having smallish children adds quite a lot to this result as I need to be able to put work down immediately and stash it away from hands!

As I said earlier, there is no even balance between knitting and crocheting in my life – I am just really happy that I can do both. As long I continue to enjoy doing them the, and am able, then I cannot see it changing .

Did I miss anything out from the table? Do let me know if I did – I may well be looking through blinkered eyes!

There, finished. I have blogged everyday for seven days. I have really enjoyed it and would like to thank Eskimimi from Eskimimi makes for organising it all. It has been an excellent experience. I am now going to go and catch up with all the things I neglected. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Crochet versus knitting

  1. Jill

    Frog crochet? Doesn’t just end with the last stitch? Now I know why crochet and I didn’t do well together. Although I know crochet is (like knitting has) gained popularity again, so perhaps I need to re-think learning it. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  2. travellinghopefully

    I must try to learn to crochet. Again. I was getting there slowly but surely, and then got distracted by, um, knitting. I need to find a good beginners project challenging enough to keep me interested, but simple enough so I don’t throw it out of the window.

    Reply
      1. mcmillenwrites

        Yeah I know, I am hoping to learn from my step mom. It may be a while before I a can get time to even try to learn. *crosses fingers*

        Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

