Roses and granny squares.

As you may know, I have had a very busy week this week. I have however, been quite productive. I have finished the edging to my crocheted throw which means it is now fully complete.

I have joined together the granny squares that I made for a cushion cover. To do this I used an idea that I got from crochetime. During the knitting and crochet blog week we had to write about our hero (within knitting and crochet circles that is) and she wrote about a website called Garnstudio. It appears to be an amazing website that has free patterns for the wool it sells as well as tutorial videos! I followed a link for a zig-zag way of joining granny squares and decided to give it a go (well in my own little way of course!)For those wanting to check out the tutorial and the website in generalย the link is here.ย My version is:

As you can see I also made a flower to go in the middle to try to tie it all together.

Finally I would like to thank everyone from handmade Monday for your comments and suggestions about the rose I made last week. I have had another go and have come up with this:

I think it works really well but would love to hear your comments and suggestions on this and any of my pieces.

There was one more make that I made this week but have already written about it here.

Do follow me and see what everyone else has been up to this week by following the above link to handmade Monday on 1st unique gifts.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚

19 thoughts on “Roses and granny squares.

  1. Jill

    Your beaded rose is very smart. I like the way you have joined together the granny squares – looks really nice. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  2. Anji

    Well done for completing the blogathon. Love the rose, it’s gorgeous. And how did you find time to finish the crochet as well!

    Reply
  3. Natalie

    your rose is beautiful! i love delicate things like this ๐Ÿ™‚

    I don’t know much about crochet but i love the way your zig zaged granny squares have turned out and the little flowers finnish them off beautifully – what a fun and original cushion cover!

    Reply
  4. Susan (@Eatitanyway)

    I love that you have a video tutorial, I think I could actually learn from that. I could not possibly read the directions and *get* it. But that made it seem easy to understand. Thank you! Very nice.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

