Coral Reef Necklace

I have really enjoyed this week :D. Not that I don’t normally of course but this week some things have come together. I feel proud of my running (not something I would usually say!) and an idea I had for a necklace not only worked but has produced more than one possible design – 3 in total!

In the last couple of Handmade Monday posts I have shown you roses that I have made. It was whilst making these that I had the idea for a necklace.

I am guessing you can see where I am coming from now. The rose is made in a strip and then twisted into the rose shape. This picture shows it before it is rolled into shape. Me being me I wanted to make sure it really would work as this does not lay flat so I made another mock-up:

This time I used crochet cotton which is closer to the thickness of the wire that I would be using. I made a few adjustments and then decided it would work so started on the real thing! I am really pleased with the way it turned out.

In the end I reverted to the original pattern but I believe that it is better to be safe than sorry! Here it is modelled by Macca Pacca:

(Thanks goes to my better half for giving it it’s name!)

Having finished this I have now worked another prototype which has given me a further 2 ideas!! I’m hoping that they will both work.

Thanks for popping by. Why don’t you now pop over to 1st Unique Gifts and see what everyone else has been up to this week? Oh and don’t forget to let me know your thoughts.

33 thoughts on “Coral Reef Necklace

  1. gmaellenscraftycorner

    Hey! I too have made the roses, and thought about doing something different with the pattern! The cuff on some pretty wrist cuffs maybe, or necklace did come to mind also . . . great minds think alike??? I like the beads on the edge.

    Reply
  2. Nina

    I love it when a piece of work turns into a new piece of work with a little creative thinking, good job, the necklace is really pretty, very in fashion too all those collar style necklaces!
    I love wire crotchet, although crotchet is one thing I will never master, I can only say “if at first you don’t succeed try and try again” so many times!!

    Reply
  3. fiddlyfingers

    Isn’t it great how one idea leads to another and you end up with something totally different! Love the beads around the edge 🙂

    Reply
  4. Jill

    I love the name Macca Pacca – great choice. The necklace (would make a lovely collar too) is very pretty. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  5. freespiritdesigns

    beautiful work! its lovely when you get an idea into your head and then end up with something original that you’re pleased with – the creative process at its best!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Crocheted Wire Tiara Necklace « knitnrun4sanity

  7. Pingback: You win some, you loose some. « knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

