Decisions, decisions!

Hmmm. I really hope that this doesn’t get too complicated.                                                                                                (Picture Source: Life through Preppy Glasses.)

I shall explain.  I am in the process of setting up an online shop in an attempt to sell some of  my work. Whilst running today I realised that it might be useful (or funny) for others if I share my experiences. (I have certainly read whatever I have found on the topic!) I did toy with the idea of starting another blog but really wanted to keep everything in one place. Why not blog about three things when you already do two? At least two of the three are connected!

Anyway, I have already spent a fair amount of time on it so I shall try to catch you up:

Background: During the blog week challenge I took part in during April, one of the topics was “Improving your skill set” which also involved setting targets.My second target was to set up an e-shop! So I recently thought that there is no time like the present and started.

It has been a very slow start and one that has involved a fair few decisions. Some of you will know how much I hate making these but it is inevitable.

Decision 1: Which craft market place to go with?

There are many out there and I have looked at a good number of them. Most involve paying something (a percentage etc) which is very reasonable but I find it hard to spend money. Through Handmade Monday I found Anjikrafts (or to be more exact I think she found me) who has a shop on ToSouk.

The social marketplace for people who live, buy and sell handmade, vintage and collectables

This is a place to buy and sell handmade and vintage items. In addition it is free. Now I realise that because it is free the add ons will be limited and it may not appear high on search engines but it is FREE! I decided that as a place to have a go and test the water this was the place for me. Decision one complete 🙂

Decision 2: What to call my shop?

Mmm well… all over the web I am known as knitnrun4sanity but I do not think that it is appropriate in order to sell jewellery. Sooo I had loads of play with different themes, words etc . I tried them out on family and friends until I finally took the plunge and settled on AliceBdesigns. No particular reason except I liked it. Decision 2 complete 🙂 I was now able to open a new e-mail account and to actually register with ToSouk.

Phew writing about it makes me all nervous all over again. I do not make final decisions easily. I need to read this book!

Cover of How to Make Good Decisions and Be Rig...

Cover of How to Make Good Decisions and Be Right All the Time (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I am aware that I have written a lot and so I shall leave it there for now.

As always if you have any tips, please let me know 🙂

Next time: Decision 3: What logo?

Desicion 4: How to package my product?

5 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions!

  1. fiddlyfingers

    It’s not easy starting out like this. I’m trying to start up crochet workshops and I am feeling completely overwhelmed. Good Luck 🙂

    Reply
  2. craftsbythesea

    Well done, I’m going through exactly the same process for my crafts and setting up a website with a shop and a corresponding Facebook shop. I can’t believe how much time it is all taking. It was a lot quicker with my wool shop as I didn’t have to create any product and could spend the time on the naming, logo etc.
    Take your time with the name and logo and presentation of product , especially how it looks when the parcel is opened by the customer. Good luck

    Reply
  3. Pingback: The House Cup | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

