You win some, you loose some.

I'm so smug! Sculpture in Fairburn Ings RSPB (...

I’m so smug! Sculpture in Fairburn Ings RSPB (Royal Society Protection of Birds) site. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For the last few posts for Handmade Monday I have been quite smug and pleased with myself as all my projects were turning out well.

Well I can now show that I can be smug BUT I am also able to admit it when things do not go quite to plan. I am talking about my plans for the third necklace. I have to say that I am quite surprised that it did not go so well as when I did my ‘prototype’ I was really excited.

I really loved the way the bottom rings overlapped each other and the middle shells turned slightly side ways. Unfortunately it did not quite look like this in wire:

I think that I maybe went a bit overboard with the beads, making it look too fussy. I wonder if this would be better without any beads at all? Oh well I put it all down to learning.

Do you like my new display stand? I am really pleased with it but poor Macca Pacca is no longer needed. I have 2, one in white and one in black. So my trio of necklaces are reduced to a duo. See here and here if you have missed them.

Maybe as a reaction to the disappointment I felt I have not done anymore wire jewellery but have switched to knitting with wool. It is still a WIP but I wonder if anyone can guess what it is?

It is not a Christmas hat but the yarn is so soft and lovely. It would make a great teddy bear!

Well that’s all for today. I am now going to nip off and find out what everyone else has been up to this week on Handmade Monday. Do join me….. 🙂

30 thoughts on “You win some, you loose some.

  1. t1ckledp1nk

    It would make a fantastic collar on a plain sweater don’t you think?
    By the way, I hear Makka Pakka has been in touch with his union representative!!

    Reply
  2. freespiritdesigns

    i think your necklace looks fabulous! i can understand you feeling disappointed about how it turned out though – as you will know from visiting my blog today i am no stranger to viewing my own work with a critical eye!

    I think its okay to identify what you would like to do to improve something as long as you are proud of your achievements too. You have been hugely creative with your ideas for these pieces of jewellery and as you say, it is a learning process!

    your new knitting project looks wonderfully intriguing and i love the softness of the yarn – can’t wait to see the finished article!

    Reply
  3. Stephen @ Soy of the North

    Sometims projects do not go exactly as planned or do not work out, but that is one of the interesting things about handmade. Anything could happen and we are always learning through our actions.

    I’m going to guess you’re knitting a jacket for Macca Pacca to say sorry for making him redundant.

    Reply
  4. nicki

    I always call times like that happy craft-idents because you either learn from them or you get a different effect. I think the necklace is lovely. Love the froggy statue, his smile is infectious

    Reply
  5. fiddlyfingers

    I like the necklace, but if you are not happy with the beads perhaps slightly smaller ones would have worked? I think the lovely fluffy ‘thing’ is something with the Jubilee in mind maybe!

    Reply
  6. karen

    I too love the necklace dont be too hard on yourself things always turn out differently when using different materials sometimes new ideas comes from doing something that you 1st thought was a mistake its very pretty xx

    Reply
  7. CHRISTMAS PIE CRAFTS

    The good thing about handmade is we never have disasters, just the potential for something different if it doesn’t quite turn out the way we had hoped. The necklace is really beautiful – so don;t be too critical about your work, it is gorgeous. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  8. RosMadeMe

    I think it is always difficult knowing when to stop but there is a simple answer, make another one that is plain! It really looks great, well done 🙂

    Reply
  9. Libby

    Hmm I’m not sure what you’re knitting..something red, white and blue?? Your necklace looks great – it would look fab with a plain top. I agree with the above as well – if you’re not sure – make a plain one too!

    Hope you have a lovely week x

    Reply
  10. Chris

    Hi – I think you might be right about the beads looking a bit busy. The cream version is gorgeous on its own – or maybe just one row with beads on, at the edge. Haven’t a clue about the red/white project – an un-Christmas one for Santa?! Thanks for sharing. x

    Reply
  11. Mrs A

    Personally I love how your necklace has turned out but understand from your point of view how disappointing it can be when it doesn’t turn out how you had envisaged .Are you knitting some thing for the jubilee?

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

