Beaded Spiral Jewellery

Last week I got a crochet book out of the library and in it it had spiral crochet. I was keen to give it a go and after a quick go with thread I set out to have a go with wire. The results are here:

I asked you for feedback and I had plenty, thank you to you all for taking the time. It was very interesting as they were quite varied – it seems that we do all have truly different tastes and opinions which is good to reaffirm.

The earings above were made with 0.2mm purple wire with a border in gold 0.2mm wire. The necklace was much chunkier with the green wire being 0.40mm. The purple border was thinner at 3.15mm.

 

 

 

 

 

ADDING BEADS:

This week I had a go at doing some more, but this time I added beads:

The earings are made from 0.2mm wire and seed beads whilst the necklace wire is 3.15mm and the beads are consequently a bit larger. The main difference between the two ‘sets’ is that the beads were incorporated into the top of each of the trebles rather than adding a border later. Although I like the green necklace as it is unusual I do think that the thinner wire works well. Unfortunately I did not really have enough of the green beads to make the Beaded Necklace any longer. If I had I think the effect would have been better, although this way I have spread it out into a coil shape which adds another dimension.

PROJECTS IN PROGRESS

I really feel that these are ‘Projects in Progress’ and I shall return to these in the non-to-distant future. I would have done it sooner except that I have some other ideas that I wish to do from the library book I have on loan and obviously have a time limit on these as the book has to go back soonish. To add to my creativity a friend has also leant me some books which have got even more ideas buzzing around in my head! Once I get an idea I cannot wait to have a go. 🙂

As always I would love to hear you opinions – good or constructive as they are really useful in the development of my work. Hope you all have a great weekend and thanks for reading. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Beaded Spiral Jewellery

  1. Not So Granny

    I think the green beaded necklace is my favourite piece yet. I really like the purple beaded earrings too.
    Hope the books and mags help you produce more wonderful pieces.

    Reply
  2. fiddlyfingers

    I used to make jewellery and now have fallen in love with crochet so your projects tick all my boxes! Would it be too cheeky to ask which library book you have been using? If you would rather email me you can find my email on my blog. I still love the earrings but if you had had more beads I think the silver/green necklace would have been beautiful in the .315mm.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I do not mind at all. I do not think that you and I or anyone else will make 2 pieces the same! In fact you reminded me that I meant to have this sort of info on my blog and have now updated it. You should find it under the techniques and information tab along the top. Hope it is useful and if I can help in any other way then please just ask. 🙂

      Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thank you so much. I am really flattered by this. Ironically I was nominated on Weds by craftsbythesea so I am wondering if it would be cheating if I linked the 2 together? After all if I hadn’t been so keen and wrote it up imediately before then I could have included you both on that one. I shall write a new post but link it back if that is ok?Thanks again.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Hooplar Earings « knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

