Out of my depth!

 My first time:

This Sunday just gone I went to my first ever bead fair. (Please also bear in mind that I have never been to a proper bead store before either! Just online.) I was very excited but also nervous. I took my eldest with me for 2 reasons: 1. so I didn’t get carried away and 2. as company! I went to a Beadwork Fair as it was just down the road and well it would have been rude not too.

Expectations:

I expected to find lots of beads and other accessories there (obviously!). I also expected it to be very busy, crowded even but it wasn’t. There was ample parking close by – we walked straight in to pay and we were able to wander around the stalls at leisure.

Beaker's Beads, The Beads

Beads, beads, beads

There were 40 stalls in all and there were a lot of beads! Unlike many people I saw I had no real list so we wondered around to ‘get a feel’ and see what there was. I don’t feel that I am a real Beader unlike most of the people there. I got the feeling that they were all experienced and knew what they were looking for! They had all the lingo and were talking about last year …..

Bead Etiquite

 Having wandered around I got a feeling for what I wanted to buy and began to approach the stalls. This was fine if the beads were packaged into little packets but some were hanging up in strings. How did you get them off? Did you have to ask someone? Well I did and we managed to muddle through but I am still unsure of the etiquette of bead stalls.  Is there one? If someone knows the ‘proper’ ways to do things then please let me know.

Anyway this is what I came away with:

Bead Fair purchases

Not loads but enough to keep me going! As you can see I got a couple of books which will be good for inspiration but more about them later. Probably the most important thing was the actual going, the experience of it all. If there is anything that would help me in the future then please do let me know as I hate that feeling of uncertainty and muddling through. I would much prefer it if there was a list of rules to follow because then I would be less able to make a stupid mistake and look all inexperienced! maybe I am being a bit over sensitive but I am sure that everyone goes into situations where they feel uncomfortable. How do you cope with these?

Versatile Blogger Award:

I must also take this opportunity to thank bits and bobs crafts for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger award. I am so pleased to be nominated again but feel that I cannot link it back again. All the same I really wanted to say thank you to Bits and bobs craft. Do go and have a look over there, as it is a blog well worth visiting (well obviously as she is winner of the Versatile Blogger award – I need say no more!).

14 thoughts on “Out of my depth!

  1. fiddlyfingers

    Well, I think you did the right thing, getting a feeling for the place first. I could never quite work out how to go about them. Do you choose by colour, size, cost ? It’s a bit overwhelming. I’m not sure there is a ‘right’ way. As long as you came back happy with what you purchased that’s all that matters 🙂

    Reply
  2. emmasblethers

    Wow, good for you! I hadn’t even heard of a bead fair! In the past when I’ve visited bead shops the sales assistants tend to be really friendly and helpful 🙂

    Reply
  3. e1aine

    I’ve never been brave enough to go (making beaded jewellery for twenty five years and I still feel like a beginner). I don’t even go to classes as I’m sure I won’t ‘fit in’. How pathetic is that. You are way ahead of me. 🙂

    Reply
  4. gmaellenscraftycorner

    omg . . . you bought one of MY all-time favorite books!!! The Beaded Edge. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have. Give us a review on the other, will you please? I have been looking at it to buy for quite awhile.
    So, I am so jealous, I have been to one bead show, but it was also a rock show. My daughter is into all that. My little town doesn’t have a ‘proper’ bead store. We did, but it went out of business before I really got into crocheting with beads. I would probably kept them from going under! LOL

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Well I am glad I made a good choice! I will let you know about the other one, once I have had a chance to find my way around it! It is very different from anything else that I have! Beads and rock…mmmm interesting combination 🙂

      Reply
  5. Pickle-Lily

    Your beads look lovely! I’m sure like all crafters, everyone as happy to help! Have a good week-end. Jo x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

