Beaded Ring

A Week of learning!

Following on from playing around with triangles last week I thought that the next step may be to take the shape into a ring. I have seen some large rings that are diamond-shaped, covering the whole of the lower part of the ring. I innocently thought that moving into the ring would not be that different or hard! Well, at the moment all I can say is that it was definitely a week of learning!

Prototype:

As always I started off with trying the pattern out in cotton:

A small knitted diamond!

As you can see, true to form it curled up and needed pinning down! Then followed the first complication (totally of my own doing, of course!). I thought “hmm why don’t I crochet one too!” So I did:

A small crocheted diamond.

This one doesn’t curl up so much. (Please don’t look too closely at these as they are nowhere near perfect!)

A first go:

I first tried crochet.

I was really pleased with the way this turned out. It sort of curves in on itself.

So I then thought – beads.

Attempt Number 2:

Hmmm – needs more work I think!

I tried knitting this and ….it didn’t work! So I pulled this apart and started again. This time I referred to a book leant to me by Notsogranny:

Western and Eastern!

It gives clear instructions on how to knit with beads on every row. Apparently there are 2 different types of knitting: Western and Eastern (no not continental as I would have thought). To do this sort of beading it appears that you have to use a mixture of both in order to get the beads on the same side of your work.

After a few attempts, (I was unable to thread the beads onto cotton so went back to my trusted wire, but then managed to break it a couple of times), I managed this:

It is nowhere near perfect but not at all bad for a first attempt! I am quite proud of myself really. You also have to take into account that this method is not meant to be used with wire.

My Second First

This week I taught myself to knit an i-cord. At first it was a bit flat:


More like a thin knitted strand really but the second timeΒ  I got it and made the band for the ring:

So there you have it. I managed to do a knitted beaded ring complete with a knitted i-cord. πŸ˜€

Have you managed to teach yourself something new recently? I would love to know.

I am now going to go over and see what other people have been up to on their crafty blogs at Handmade Harbour. I really recommend that you have a look too.

43 thoughts on “Beaded Ring

  1. fatmonica

    I love the ring,and am inspired by the dedication you have in keeping on trying till you get it right!My new thing this week was a brooch weaver kit my friend gave me.It was fun to try something new!

    Reply
  2. Libby

    You are so patient! I love your wire knitted ring. I’ve recently started bead work – time consuming – but addictive. Hope you have a great week x

    Reply
  3. Mrs A.

    You have certainly been rewarded by your patience. Your ring is lovely. Trying a new thing using paper napkins torn up into bits and gluing onto a cardboard base. It has worked really well as the shape has rounded edges and the napkins being really thin wraps well . Hugs Mrs A.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

