Crochet Twisted Braid Tutorial

In my last post I mentioned that I had learnt a new technique called the Twisted Braid. I also promised that I would share how I did it with you all. So here it is:

To start with you make a chain of a number to suit your purpose.

Starting chain.

 Insert your hook into the second chain from the hook.

Yarn around hook.

Pull yarn through the first loop.

You now have two hoops on your hook. Now for the twisted bit!

You twist the hook around 360′ holding it horizontal.

…. and the final part of the turn.

Half way through the turn….

You now finish off the double crochet by putting the yarn around the hook:

Yarn around hook!

Then pull through the 2 loops on the hook so that you are now left with one.

Pull yarn through the 2 stitches on the hook.

You then repeat this in all the chains along the rest of the edge of the chain:

A twisted stitch along one side of the chain.

At the end of the row you do one chain and then go along each chain on the other side repeating the twisted double crochet in each chain.

At the end you will have  a chain with twisted stitches along each edge:

And there it is!  I hope that you can see that it is basically a double crochet with a 360′ twist of the hook half way through.

There are plenty of uses for this stitch and I hope you have fun with it. I would love to know what you use it in.

Please note: I have used uk crochet terms. For US conversion see here:

4 thoughts on “Crochet Twisted Braid Tutorial

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

