Granny Squares and Flowers

This week, in an attempt to get my focus back I started out on some variations of granny squares as they had been successful for me in the past. My first attempt was coming along well, especially when I saw that I had found a new flower:

Really pretty but a bit too big!

It measured about 10cm so I stopped and undid it. One of the ‘pleasures’ of crocheting is that it is easy to rip back. Unfortunately this does not apply to wire. It takes as long to undo wire as it does to make it in the first place! (maybe even a bit longer.)I did go on to make another one, shortening the chains but will save that for another project as I quickly moved onto another project.

This time another granny square with a different flower in the centre.

I used 0.3mm purple wire for the central flower and then went on to make the rest of the granny square inΒ  thinner gold wire (0.2mm) for a contrast. I was really pleased with this (Yay πŸ™‚ ). I think this will make a great pendant on its own as well with some smaller gold wire flowers added in which I in the process of doing. I also think that this makes an unusual bracelet:

Thanks to everyone over at Handmade Harbour for your really encouraging remarks last week. These, along with your great blogs really helped me to not give up and therefore produce these. πŸ™‚ If you are unaware of the great party over at Handmade Monday which is stuffed full of inspirational people who write great blogs, do follow me over there for a good browse.

36 thoughts on “Granny Squares and Flowers

  1. Margo

    I really like these – I did machine knitted wire handbags for my college project and have loads of different colours left. I never thought about using them for crochet!

    Reply
  2. Alison

    Wow, this is so pretty I can imagine people wearing them at a wedding. I really like those colours as well. I think it’s amazing you crochet with wire. Ali x

    Reply
  3. freespiritdesigns

    you have so many creative ideas! your big flower is very pretty and i think a slightly smaller version would make a fantastic pendant πŸ™‚

    the purple wire combined with the thinner gold is very effective on your second project, and the bracelet wonderfully striking and unusual! x

    Reply
  4. Caroline

    I mam in the throws of making cuffs and your knitted one is so pretty, still think you have the patience of a saint to to this with wire, does it hurt your fingers?

    Reply
  5. mcmillenwrites

    I have been reading your blog for a while. I know I almost never comment. I just want to say I think this is one of the prettiest pieces you have posted.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

