Cloth Crocheted Panal Bag (bag tutorial included)

When looking for some projects to take away with me on holiday, I quite fancied making myself a crocheted bag. I have seen several that I like the look of, usually along the net market bag style. I went into my local shop and asked the knowledgeable owner what sort of yarn would she recommend in order to crochet a bag from. Her response was not what I wanted to hear: You will have to line it so the yarn doesn’t get stretched. Humph!

Type

Having got used to this idea (and choosing some awesome yarn) I decided that I could go to town and do any design I fancied. I chose to adapt a design that I had usedΒ  before in wire:

My yarn version.

I came back from holiday with this and then did a second one. With a border around the edge I was ready to make the bag!

It is being blocked here – see the added border?

Out came the machine!

Warning:Β  I can get by with sewing but am no expert. I am sure that I made some silly mistakes but I thought it may give some people an idea. (If you do sew please skip over this next bit :).)

Step one:

Obviously to measure the size required and then to cut the material into pieces. As this was a large bag I decided that I would add 2 side panels and a bottom rather than simply stitching the two sides together:

The 5 pieces of hacked material. (Too late I realised my scissors were blunt!)

(I added on an extra 1.5cm along each edge for the seams.)

Step 2:

As I had made such a hash with the cutting out I decided to iron the edges so I could see where the hem allowances were to make it easier when sewing. (You could miss this bit out.)

Step 3:

(Not needed with all materials.)

To prevent fraying I sewed a mini hem along each of the edges.

Step 4:

With right sides together I lined up the ironed edges of the bag.

These are then pinned together (and because I am lazy I do nothing more but should tack!) before then sewing them together.

Step 5:

It makes a perfect sewing machine cover!

I then ironed all the seams flat so that they would lie down well when it is turned in the right way.

Step 6 Making the handles.

I again made a mini seam along each edge to prevent any future problems with fraying. I then simply put the right sides together and sewed along the long edge. My next challenge was to turn them out the right way. (Not as easy as it sounds!)

There is a definite knack to this!

My secret weapon! I used this to unpick a few stitches to try to make the process easier and then to push the material through.

In order to add a bit of substance to the handles I threaded a bit of rope into each handle before sewing it onto the bag.

Finishing off:

All that now remains is to sew the crochet panels onto the cloth bag. I did this by hand!

One side….

….and the other side.

 

If you look closely you will see that the yarn is a slightly different colour way. I have a bag that suits my mood, slightly subdued or brighter and bolder!! (Intentional of course!)

As always I am now heading over to Handmade Harbour (to see how it should have been done!) Do grab a glass of wine or a cuppa and follow me over there.

Thanks for being patient with me this week :).

56 thoughts on “Cloth Crocheted Panal Bag (bag tutorial included)

    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I had not thought about this because I always associate it with threading elastic of cord through a tube. It may have helped though – will remember it for next time πŸ™‚

      Reply
  1. freespiritdesigns

    how fun to have a ‘mood shifting’ bag! πŸ™‚

    it is fascinating to see the same pattern in wire and yarn – amazing what you can do with some creative thinking! x

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    I have wine πŸ™‚
    Adore the bag….I’d make one myself but I can’t crochet or sew….. I will sit here with my RosΓ© and admire yours. xxx

    Reply
  3. Jan

    I like the different colourways, I also like the idea of rope in the handles. (Your not the only one with blunt scissors, I really need to sharpen mine).

    Reply
  4. Alison

    Lovely bag. I really like how you’ve used your jewellery design to create the bag.
    I hate having to turn thin pieces of fabric to the right side. I cheat and fold the seams in so there’s stitching on one side. Lazy I know but easier πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing. Ali x

    Reply
        1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

          I crochet in order to sit down. That is I can’t sit without doing anything and knitting and crocheting means I am sitting down but still ‘busy’. Go for it.

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

