Hot, hotter and even hotter!

 

A couple of weeks ago you may remember that I had a bit of a panic (here) with a half marathon rapidly approaching with very little training having taken place. Well last Sunday was the big day! I have to be honest that it was not the most enjoyable day ever (I should not have done it would be closer to the mark!).

Training

With two weeks to go I set to my training in the best way that I could:

 

Activity

Distance

Average Pace

Monday  20th August

run

3.15 miles

10.22

Tuesday

Run

3.26 miles

10.27

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Run

4 miles

9.04

Saturday

run

10 miles

10.02

Sunday

 

Activity

Distance

Average Pace

Monday 27th August

run

6 miles

9.53

Tuesday

Wednesday

run

8 miles

9.26

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

run

10 miles

9.36

Sunday

rest

As you can see not much really! It was still holiday time and it is hard to not completely go overboard and over train!

Forecast

Two days before the race a had a really encouraging text from a fellow participant to say that it was forecast to be 28′ on Sunday. Great! We have the wettest summer on record and yet the one weekend when I don’t want hot sun I get it. I do not run in heat. I read these blogs of people in America where they train in 30+ temps regularly but I am simply not built for it.

Grunty Fen

This is the name of the race and, as suggested takes place in the fens. For those of you who don’t know about fens they are very, very flat (great for runners) and consist of long straight roads through boring countryside:

Now I don’t mind the fens at all, we have great sunsets and you can literally see for miles but wind and sun are exaggerated here. There is no shade at all and therefore no shield from the wind either. Just long straight uneven tarmacked roads!

English: Stubble field, Grunty fen Flat arable...

Race Organisation

Brilliant! There were drink stations every 3 miles with sponges as well. There were also a few hose-pipes being sprayed which were more than welcome! For anyone who had problems there were first aiders cycling the route regularly and so able to get to wherever they were needed. (Unfortunately they were needed too 😦 )

My Race

Very unpleasant indeed! I ran the race with two others. we did very well for the first half and then by mile 10 we seriously began to flag. With the race starting at 10.30 it was nearly mid-day by now, supposedly the hottest part of the day. Here is the break down for you:

Mile 1: 9.19 pace

Mile 2: 9.27 pace

Mile 3: 9.30 pace

Mile 4: 9.19 pace

Mile 5: 9.27 pace

Mile 6: 9.30 pace

Mile 7: 9.32 pace

Mile 8: 9.33 pace

Mile 9: 9.29 pace

Mile 10: 10.07 pace

Mile 11: 10.26 pace

Mile 12: 10.19 pace

Mile 13: 10. 58 pace

As you can see things were going ok until mile 10 where they got progressively worse. I think that we started off too fast but it is always easy to be wise after the event!

What next?

I have another race planned for the end of October which will not be anywhere near as hot! I am now going to run 10-13 miles every week with two 6 ish miles in between. I never ever want to feel so horrible ever again! No doubt life may well have a say in whether I manage to keep this plan going or not (I have already been ill this week so no running taken place yet!) Watch this space to see.

 

15 thoughts on “Hot, hotter and even hotter!

    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Yes- just tweeted you. Am loving the smells. Have just finished the last one and will start these today!!! I get so very excited. It really is lovely using them and I would miss them. I will do a comment on your etsy shop too.

      Reply
  1. Katie Vyktoriah

    As someone who can’t run at ALL (I did a 5K once and the longest streak of running was 27 seconds!), I still find this incredibly impressive. I’m sorry it was such a crap day, but I guess at least you’ve learnt something from it in hindsight! 😉 Plus, you proved that you persevere even when things are horrid, and that is a very admirable quality.

    I hope your race in October goes a million times better! xx

    Reply
  2. Michaela

    I love sponge stations!!!!

    Well done on hanging on till the end, it is really tough when it’s hot. A 10km race a couple of years ago in 30c put me off running for about 6 months!!! I’m now cramming for a 10km race in two weeks, planning to run everyday this week (while I’m on holiday) and then rest for a few days before the race. Probably not the next strategy really!!

    Good luck for the next round of training!! xxx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      No probably not – probably best to put in a couple of rest days? I have also signed up for a 10k that day! Thank you very much for all the encouragement. I hope that your training goes to plan!! 🙂

      Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

