More Beaded Knitting Designs

 

I have been very sidetracked during the second half of this week. I am taking part in a blog tour as part of the launch party for a new magazine called Make and Craft. It is all very exciting and I have been busy getting bits ready for my blog post on Friday. If you are interested then either look at the above link (the website has a lot of information on, along with forums, giveaways etc) or have a look at theseΒ  posts by the lovely Wendy. Keep a look out for my blog post, there will be a giveaway included in it too.

Anyway, now on to my makes this week. I have been on a bit of a beaded knitting phase. I asked a question about what I should do next and the lovely lady from Crafts from the Cwtch suggested I should make napkin rings. I thought this was an excellent idea and so set off to make some more designs to add to this:

My star cuff.

This is my first new design:

Mini Christmas trees.

I found this one really tricky. I had to re-string it at least twice which is really frustrating. I have come to the conclusion that it is because it is not a symmetric shape. Not really sure what difference that makes but I can’t think of any other reason. At least the colours are nice and festive.

Hoping that you can see that these are snowflakes?

This one went easier although as you can see I am, having a few curling problems. Hopefully these will right themselves after blocking.

I now have three designs? Any suggestions for other festive icons that may work well with this method?

As always I shall be linking up with Handmade Monday over at Handmade Harbour. Do pop over to see what other festive things have been made this week. I am sure you will not regret it :).

44 thoughts on “More Beaded Knitting Designs

  1. CatkinJane

    Trying to think of other symbols – I guess they have to be a simple shape which rules out lots of things. Would a stocking shape work? I think what you’ve got is great πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Martha

    these bead straps are so fun! I love beads and i love to see them on threads. what you’ve done looks unusual! What sort of beads do you use that will go a thread/wool?
    They must be special beads for wool, mustn’t they?

    Reply
  3. freespiritdesigns

    these are gorgeous!! the Christmas trees are my favourite, they look so perfect! it must have been very frustrating having to re-string… i admire your perseverance πŸ™‚

    would snowmen work…? perhaps you already have enough ideas to try for one week! x

    Reply
  4. t1ckledp1nk

    They are lovely – so pretty. Would snowmen work? I noticed you were part of the Make and Craft blog thingy and am excited to see what you have been up to on Friday. xxx

    Reply
  5. Louise Oakes

    Are the napkin rings crocheted? That’s something I have yet to master, but these napkin rings look fiddley something I am not good at.. They would also look nice used as a trim.

    Reply
  6. raphaele42

    These Christmas trees are adorables. How do you manage to make them look so good when the design is so small? This is brilliant.. Do you think a holly leaf would be doable with this technique? Or baubles in assorted colours?

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

