The Knitting and Stitching Show 2012

Some of you will be aware that I have not posted my usual weekend post this week. This is mostly because I had a wonderful day out at Alexandria Palace in London. I have often seen these amazing building from the train as it is set up on top of a hill but have never been to it before.

Getting up close was a bit of a disappointment as the windows are all boarded up but inside you can still see many grand features.

            

I did honestly spend some time looking at this but mostly I was busy looking at:

Knitted items.

Beautiful intricate shawls made from linen.

 

A knitted wedding outfit for him and her.

Lots of lovely buttons.

A whole knitted community. This is the farm.

A play ground.

The farm shop.

And a cub scout camp site!

Of course there were also lots and lots of stalls to walk around with lots of lovely things to buy!! I am very proud to say that we managed to get around every stall and stop at all the ones we wanted to (just). Oh and yes – I did spend some money…..

Of course I had to buy some bargain yarn but I do know what I am going to do make with it. Something really rather special…….

Some really gorgeous silk that feels divine.

Some really bargain wire and a few beads (well I couldn’t totally resist!).

Some yarn with Stainless steel in it. I have been looking to get some of this for ages so am really excited about this purchase.

A ‘vintage’ crochet book that is literally as old as me but has some great ideas in it (and yes there is a granny square top in here which will not be being brought back to life.)

I couldn’t resist all the bargain offers on magazines with their freebies either. You never know – I may be making myself a dress next year!!!!

This bag came with some of the mags. I love it.

I am guessing that you can tell I had a good time? I have come back buzzing with ideas and don’t really know where to start!  Oh yes I forgot to say that when at the show I saw someone exhibiting a necklace like one of the ones i have made. I was quite pleased in a way as it shows that I am not completely crazy and that maybe I should believe in myself a bit more!

Have you ever been to a show like this and come away with loads of ideas? Did you follow them up or did they get forgotten?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Knitting and Stitching Show 2012

  1. Anna

    I went to the Knitting & Stitching Show with my Mum on Saturday and had a brilliant time! So much to see, so inspiring, and yes I did some shopping too. 🙂 Will definitely be going back next year!

    Reply
  2. fiddlyfingers

    It sounds like a great show – perhaps next year! I like the look of the stainless steel yarn, I’ve been wondering about that as I’ve just got back in to making wire brooches. What company did you buy it from?

    Reply
  3. raphaele42

    It seems you ahd a great time. The Knitting and Stitching show is coming to Dublun early November and I hope I will be able to go and have a look. This silk you got looks gorgeous indeed. And yes, you definitely should believe in you as you’re great.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Hijacked! « knitnrun4sanity

  5. CrochetJay

    I’m looking forward to attending the Harrogate knitting and stitching show. Thank you for posting these images… It has given me a sneak review and I’m really getting excited about it now!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Knee update | knitnrun4sanity

  7. Pingback: More Stash Aquired | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

