A Quick Christmas Wreath

This week I would like to share a Christmas wreath that I have made. I am always a bit of a bar humbug when it comes to Christmas decorations, making my family wait until the weekend before Christmas. This year however, even I agree that next weekend is leaving it a bit TOO late! Our decorations have gone up this weekend.

Patterns

On Friday I suddenly had the urge to make a wreath. In years gone by I have made one out of foliage. I love doing this but am by no means an expert. It also takes a fair bit of time. In a supplement from Simply Knitting (magazine) they had a pattern for a knitted one which, back in November, I quickly dismissed. This week however I hunted it out.

Substitutions

The yarn the pattern suggested did look amazing:

Image from Readicut yarns

You can see why it would work really well. Having left it so late (typically) I did not have the time to hunt around for it, or order it online so I went to my local shop and found a great substitute: Shaggy from Sirdir.

Christmas Wreath

Pattern

If you are like me and have not got a wreath you can make one of these in an afternoon.

Materials: 1 ball of the Shaggy Scarf wool. (0601)

8 mm needles

25cm polystyrene ring

2 meters of ribbon (I used ribbon with wire in to help the bow hold its shape)

decorations of your choice (I used three glittered pine cones)

Pattern: Cast on 10 stitches. Knit each row until the knitting fits around the ring (about 1 metre).

Sew the knitting onto the ring. (After struggling for a bit I put the seam on the outside and then twisted it around when finished. I suggest you do this from the beginning!).

Sew the 2 ends together.

I folded the ribbon in half with the loop at the top. Wrapping each end around the ring completely I then tied a bow. At the base I then used cotton to attach the three glittered pine cones.

That is it! Finished.

I now have to work out how to attach it to my door without upsetting my OH. (I am not allowed to put holes in anything so may have to invest in suckers).

The best thing about this is that it can be got out each year and the materials were not that expensive. Perfect if you ask me!

We have had quite a busy weekend, finished off with Candles by Candlelight at the local church. After that I shall be coming back to have a browse around the other blogs over at Handmade Monday whilst looking at my Christmas tree! The perfect end to a lovely weekend. Hope you all have a lovely week πŸ™‚

31 thoughts on “A Quick Christmas Wreath

  1. Jo

    That wreath looks incredible and I had no idea it was knitted from the picture! I am ashamed to say we have no decorations at all. I am going home to the Lake District for Christmas so for some reason haven’t made any effort at all this year and am very cross with myself!

    I hope you have a fabulous Christmas!

    Reply
  2. Jill Spain (@JillSpain)

    Such a beautiful wreath – when I first saw the picture I hadn’t realised it was knitted, so even more lovely. Well done. I hope you have a very happy Christmas and look forward to ‘seeing’ you in the New Year.

    Reply
  3. Sew Blissfull

    Oooo, it looks great! It might be the thing that makes me get my knitting needles out after years. And great to be able to reuse it. Good luck with attaching it to the door! Happy Christmas.

    Reply
  4. Angella

    This is so awesome. I always look at the shaggy wools in the shop and think “what could I do with that?” now I have at least one idea! thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Made It – More Christmas Entries | woolhogs

  6. Pickle-Lily

    A brilliant wreath – I may have to do one for next year! We always hang ours, by looping a long piece of ribbon around the top, and then hanging it over the door and drawing pin on top of the door itself, no pins or holes to be seen! have a lovely Christmas and see you in a Handmade New Year! Jo x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

