My Non-classic Beaded Rope Necklace

I know that in my last post I said that I would post a picture about my explorations with photography but I was wrong. Today is the first Handmade Monday of 2013 and so I needed to write about something I had made. I am sure that photography may count but I always err on the safe side :).

This Christmas I have been very fortunate to download several free e-books, many from the Crochet-me website. I think that they are there all the time but I only just found them. The one that really caught my eye was the Not So Classic Bead Rope. I have wanted to have a go at these for a long time and this week I decided to have a go.

Golden Ball - Crochet Silver Beaded Rope Necklace

Golden Ball – Crochet Silver Beaded Rope Necklace (Photo credit: ClearlyChosen)This is a classic design, pretty isn’t it?

On Thursday, I spent my Creatives Unite time (1 hour) threading hundreds of beads onto thread:

I should have measured it!

I should have measured it!

I then followed the really clear instructions to make my beaded rope. As I don’t have a mandrel I improvised and used a knitting needle. True to form I needed to go down a size as it became too tight!

The only other decision I had to make was how to finish it off as the instructions said to join the two ends together and I wanted to add a clasp in some way.

The beads are not all uniform size hence the name.

The beads are not all uniform size hence the name.

I love the colours - very spring like becasue spring is not far off (right?)

I love the colours – very spring like because spring is not far off (right?)

I am personally really pleased with the way that this turned out and am now keen to have a go at a more traditional one – just need to get the beads first.

Now, for the first time in 2013 I am heading over to Handmade Harbour to catch up with other wonderful crafty people. I have missed them all over the Christmas break.

41 thoughts on “My Non-classic Beaded Rope Necklace

  1. freespiritdesigns

    What a pretty necklace! I love the Spring like colours, it looks like it would be lovely and tactile too – i love jewellery that is fun to fiddle with! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. adaliza

    Wow – that looks awesome and incredibly complicated. Crochet I can cope with, but crochet & beads & a knitting needle – how many hands do you have? Super necklace.

    Reply
  3. RosMadeMe

    Can I just say how far your work has advanced over the last year… you really are a mistress of the technique now, and with your eye for shape and colour, it really is a winning combination.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I was surprised how simple it is really. Of course I didn’t have quite the correct beads they suggested so yours will be very different – I am good at winging things. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Sarah

    I am loving the colours on your bracelet…. Isn’t it lovely when you have a go, even if you don’t have ‘the right beads’ and something brilliant turns up!
    Happy New Year
    Sarah x

    Reply
  5. Martha

    wow, you’ve been busy!
    i would definitely get lots with those threads and thousands of beads!
    love the spring colours – fresh and vibrant πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Wendy

    I love your beaded rope necklace – the colours are gorgeous and there’s nothing at all wrong with anticipating spring. Let’s hope it arrives early!

    Reply
  7. raphaele42

    How nice. I love how you always manage to imprint your own style to your projects. The colours and texture are just gorgeous!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Tunisian Crochet Wire Bracelet « knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

