Cylinder Necklaces

This week I have been working on two more designs that follow on from last weeks necklace:

The beads are not all uniform size hence the name.

If you look very carefully you can see that at the back I have crocheted a piece without beads. It is still a tube shape so this week I wondered whether it would work in wire. With wire you can usually see the stitches quite clearly and so could be quite intricate.

To start with I used some very fine copper wire with a 3.5mm hook. In order to keep the shape I worked around a knitting needle in the same way that I did for the above.

I was working on this with Joanne Scrace (the very esteemed designer – have you soon her latest design? It is fabulous and made the top ten patterns on ravelry this week. Do take a peek as even if you don’t crochet you will not be disappointed I promise.) She suggested threading ribbon through the middle. I was really taken with this idea as it not only solves the whole ‘how do I fasten it together debate, but also will probably create the perfect back drop to show the stitches off.

So what do you think?

A green and copper one.

A green and copper one.

wire tubular necklace 2

A silver and turquoise one.

This last one is a bit bigger than the copper one as I used slightly thicker wire and a larger hook. The main difference is the size of the stitches as the circumference is very similar. They both fit on the same sized knitting needle.

wire tubular necklace 3

A shot of one on a ‘model’.

Those of you who have seen my last post you will know that I am on a journey in an attempt to be able to decent photographs. Unfortunately I have been unable to get anything like a clear shot of the green one ‘in situ’. I also seem to have misplaced my white ‘model’ which is a little annoying!

A plus with this design is that there are many colour combinations so personal preferences can be accommodated. As can matches for outfits. What combination would you choose?

Now as always I am heading over to handmade harbour to see what everyone else has been up to this week. It seems to be the perfect thing to do on this cold, cold evening. Why don’t you join me?

Hope everyone has a great week πŸ™‚ xx

47 thoughts on “Cylinder Necklaces

  1. freespiritdesigns

    Ooooh i love these! The silver and turquoise one especially is stunning! The addition of ribbon was certainly an inspired idea as it really does compliment the intricate wire stitching and also adds a lovely splash of colour πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
  2. highland monkeys

    Will have to have a look at the link later. I like the blue necklace best as well, blue being one of my favourites. There are so many different techniques that you can explore which will keep you going for a wee whiley!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Cylinder Necklaces « bitsandbobscrafts

  4. adaliza

    They look wonderful, and so sparkly. The ribbon is a wonderful contrast to the glassy beads. Photography is so difficult at this time of year – nightmare.

    Reply
  5. Sophie

    These are lovely. I think the ribbon works well to bring out the intricacy of the wire structure.
    Hope you have a great week too! πŸ™‚ Sophie x

    Reply
      1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

        Did you sort your pinterest button? The ‘patterns’ is a page. The ones following this are also pages. The pattern page is the parent and then you put in the numerical order. Hope this make sense?

        Reply
  6. byhook

    Ooh they are gorgeous! My colour choice would be a watermelon or coral ribbon with some very shiny silver wire. You are so clever – I love the idea… And the photos look pretty good to me too πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Now that is something that I hadn’t thought of! I had thought of adding the odd bead to the wire but I like the idea of adding beads to the ribbon. It may just be a bit of a nightmare to thread through though!

      Reply
  7. Anna

    Wow! Love the turquoise.
    There are some quite good tutorials/ advice on photography on here somewhere. Will see if I can find some and message you back. One thing you could try is photographing your pieces in a white bath, sounds bizarre but I found it worked quite well. Another good tip I heard was to use a ‘natural daylight’ lightbulb….hope this helps x

    Reply
  8. Alison

    The silver and turquoise one looks lovely you can clearly see the stitches. I think trying to photograph at this time of year is a challenge in it’s self.
    Ali x

    Reply
  9. Alison

    Love the blue and silver, the stitches show up really well. Photo’s at this time of year are a nightmare. I had no idea till I started blogging. Have a lovely week.
    Ali x

    Reply
  10. EleanorLucy

    Fab. U. Lous. !!! I think this is my favourite post yet – these are gorgeous, and so classy without being too classic! My favourite is the blue and silver, and I think warm gold on an emerald ribbon would look great too (hint hint) πŸ˜‰ Great idea to crochet around something, why didn’t I think of that!?! Joanne’s design is also very cool πŸ™‚

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

