My Word for 2013

I am so glad that I do not ‘do’ new year resolutions! If I had I would probably have stated that I will:

Open an e-shop of some description.

Rewind a couple of weeks and I would have been full of optimism and raring to go. Now? …..well lets just say the doubts have set in.

There is a silver lining. When in a slightly more positive frame of mind I signed up to The Design Trust’s 2013 Challenge.

January’s Challenge:

Select one word to guide you through your year.

What is your guiding word?

And how will this come to life for you? Add 5 examples how you this word will play a part in your life this coming year.

My word? Well it had to be BELIEVE.

I need to be able to believe in myself and what I am doing. If I don’t then I spend the whole time procrastinating, putting things off and not getting anywhere. I can already feel the rot setting in! Hopefully the monthly challenges will help me to shake the disbelief so that I can make progress. It may not work but it will have more chance of working if I can be positive and enthusiastic. Both of which rely on self belief.

To break this self belief down more I need to be able to believe in:

1. My ability to design something that people will want to wear.

2. My ability to produce an object that is good enough for others to buy.
3. That my designs are worth the money that I am selling them for.
4. That it is worth my while spending time and money to set up an e-shop (and that I can manage this successfully).
5. That I can take photographs and write descriptions that are good enough to explain each product.

Easy right? Only time will tell. I will keep you posted. How do you deal with self-doubt?

10 thoughts on “My Word for 2013

  1. Natalie

    Keep on believing! It is really hard if you are trying to turn something that starts as a hobby into some sort of business – I’ve always made things for myself and have recently made lots of things for others because they have asked (and been grateful). But making something in the hope that someone will like it and want to buy it is a different matter. I would say just enjoy the process of the making, know in your heart that what you make is beautiful and keep putting yourself out there!

    Reply
  2. Nice piece of work

    how do i deal with self-doubt? very very badly, it’s often only with help from people like you who can kick-start me into getting back into gear. I tend to curl up and go into a sort of creative hibernation. I’m there now, actually, and it ain’t good. It’s been 4 days and I desperately need to get my mojo back. Good luck 🙂

    Reply
  3. Michaela

    For me it’s not so much self belief as time! Taking photos and writing descriptions is tricky at first because you don’t know what to include but once the first one is out the way it gets easier. X

    Reply
  4. raphaele42

    You definitely picked the right word for this month challenge. You should believe in yourself because you’re very talented. Now it is normal to get time of doubt. When it happens I try to focus on my goal: making a living of something I love and allows me to work around the kids. What helps a lot is to read positive stories, such as the ones that are posted on Etsy blog. I have also found that making is how I learn what works best for me, so I continuously fight my tendency to think too much 🙂

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

