Exciting Projects

I have to say that I have a bit of a problem with today’s post. The thing that I have spent all week working on is something that I would dearly love to share with you but for reasons out of my control I am unable to…yet.

This is about as much as I can show you. Pretty isn't it?

At first I didn’t think that I would be able to manage a post for Handmade Monday at all this week which saddened me greatly. Then I remembered that I would be doing something on Saturday that would mean I would have something to show that had been made by me! YAY

There is a group of very lovely ladies from the Cams City WI that are meeting up once a month to do a very exciting crochet project. The idea is that during October as part of the  Cambridge University Annual Festival of Ideas we shall be displaying some crochet at the Botanical gardens in Cambridge. Last month we met and some learnt how to crochet, some learnt how to read patterns and some practised making leaf shapes. This month was all about lichen. Yes really – we were having a go at making our own interpretations of lichen.

For anyone unsure of what lichen is, it is a plant consisting of a fungus and photosynthetic partner growing together in a symbiotic relationship. A perfect symbol of the project as we are working together to create something together.

English: Lichen Eesti: Sammaltaim, kasvab mänd...

The idea is that it will be displayed in the alpine glass house, covering the rocks that are the home for the many species of plants that are growing there. How very exciting. Although it seems to be a bit daunting. Just look at all those bare rocks!
image

image

The aim of yesterday was to get everyone comfortable with working on the patterns that Joanne Scrace had devised in the hope that we would be able to teach the Cams City WI as a whole at the next meeting (gulp!) We will certainly need all the hands we can get!Here are some examples of the patterns:

image

The next phase will be a bit more free-form I believe. I am really enjoying these little meetings. The group is very friendly and it is lovely to see people improving on their skills. I am very impressed with the dedication many are showing – working at home to improve their skills further. I am very proud to be part of the group.

For now however I am popping over to Handmade Harbour to see what everyone else has been up to this week. It’s one of the highlights of my week 🙂

P.S: If any of you know someone who would quite like to start blogging but are unsure where to start I have started a new series where I share all the things that I have learnt over the past year in an attempt to help. I am aiming to post these up on a Wednesday. (Sorry for the shameless self plugging but I am simply keen to help people start their journey in the wonderful land of bloggers. 🙂 )

58 thoughts on “Exciting Projects

  1. Anna

    This all sounds very exciting! There was a woolly (knitted I think) under the sea exhibition in Sheffield last year which was much admired, though we weren’t allowed to take photos. Lots of luck with yours! x

    Reply
  2. adaliza

    What an unusual project. I guess you could add in textures from stitches and different yarns too. Do show us your finished project – and the other one that we can’t see today!

    Reply
  3. Red Hen

    I know there was an exhibition of such crochet/knitting in Trinity College Dublin a couple of years ago, the depicted the coral reef.Didn`t get to see it, but it`s a fabulous idea.

    Reply
  4. Simmi

    Ohhh what a fab creation/installation it will be! I’m just debating joining my local WI so it’s nice to see the crafty efforts of another group. Simmi x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

