Experimenting with Tunisian Crochet

This week has been one of those weeks where I feel that I have done a lot but there isn’t a lot to show for it. I don’t have any finished objects but I do have some pieces that may well turn into finished objects at a later date.

Some of you may remember this bracelet that I made:

A Tunisian Wire Bracelet.

A Tunisian Wire Bracelet.

I felt that it worked really well so dug out my faithful crochet book and decided to look at the formerly neglected Tunisian crochet section.

I started off in wool as it is a technique that I am unfamiliar with and wool is far easier to rip back than wire! (It is also easier to see each stitch!)

Basic Tunisian Stitch.

Basic Tunisian Stitch.

Fan Stitch

Fan Stitch

Queen Lace Stitch.

Queen Lace Stitch.

I only did very small samples but as you can see Tunisian Crochet makes quite a dense material. I do like the patterns. I then did them in fine wire:

Basic Tunisian stitch.

Basic Tunisian stitch.

Fan Stitch

Fan Stitch

Queen Lace Stitch.

Queen Lace Stitch.

As you can see using wire opens the stitch up nicely. They look very different don’t they? Add a few beads and I think some bracelets may be made. Hopefully I shall get around to it this week.

Have any of you tried Tunisian Crochet? I would love to know what you think about it.

The other major thing I did this week was to watch a free webinar from The Design Trust on Twitter. I learnt loads and I would definitely recommend watching it. It remains free until Feb 28th so be quick. One of the sections is on the 10 minute Twitter session. Apparently this is all the time you need to spend! I also found HootSuite through this which I really love – you can have several feeds on the page at one time, can follow tags, schedule tweets and even tweet a link straight from a web page. You also get analysis. I am sure that you are probably all using something like this but it is all new for me!

The final thing is that I have joined my first ever CAL (Crochet along). If you crochet and are interested in joining in (there are even prizes up for grabs) then have a look at this link. The more that join in the better πŸ™‚

As always I will be heading over to Handmade Harbour, glass of wine in hand, to see what wonderful creations other people have been up to this week. Do join me – it is great way to spend a Sunday evening. πŸ™‚

39 thoughts on “Experimenting with Tunisian Crochet

  1. adaliza

    That’s such an experimental technique – using wire and making jewellery. The results are stunning. I quite like Twitter but have never ‘got into’ Facebook!

    Reply
  2. Fiddly Fingers

    I’ve tried Tunisian Crochet before and quite liked it, although I’ve never tried it in wire. I made a scarf which I was very pleased with. Thanks for the links at the bottom of your post. I may try and watch the video when I have a spare minute.

    Reply
  3. claireabellemakes

    I hadn’t ever wondered about ripping back wire crochet before. I guess you have to be rather gentle?

    I am also joining in the CAL. Looking forward to it.

    Glad you found the webinar useful. I do them quite often and they are very handy.

    Reply
  4. sue

    Haven’t ever tried Tunisian – I’m having enough trouble getting the tension and corners right with the ordinary sort.. still I’m looking forward to seeing your makes – as always! Sue x

    Reply
  5. Ali

    I’ve never tried Tunisian crochet. I think your so patient working with wire. As you pointed out it can’t be easy if you want to undo it. I think the different designs will look great with beads. Thanks for the info about the webinar I haven’t heard about it. Have a lovely week.
    Ali x

    Reply
  6. EleanorLucy

    I’m back! I’ve missed you! πŸ™‚ Love the Tunisian crochet, it looks so different in wire, although the Queen Lace crochet in wire is my favourite result I think, it looks like bubbles! πŸ™‚ Definitely going to look up the Twitter stuff – I need all the help I can get! Have a good week x

    Reply
  7. lululoves

    I’ve had a couple of weeks like this, seeming to do lots but not getting anything finished! I really want to try Tunisian crochet – I love the effect it had on your wire, particularly the Queen lace stitch. Look forward to seeing what you create with it. Em xx

    Reply
  8. Pingback: A Blogiversary and Queen Stitch Crochet | knitnrun4sanity

  9. Pingback: A Happy Mistake. | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

