A Blogiversary and Queen Stitch Crochet

So it would seem that I have been writing this blog for a year now. Wow. I can hardly believe it. It has certainly been a really positive thing in my life. I have ‘met’ so many completely amazing people through this. I have always known that I am aΒ  ‘people’ person who cannot survive without contact with people and this has opened up a whole new world of people (almost literally!). If you are one of these people then do please help yourself to piece of cake and join me in my celebrations. (I would love to have had a giveaway but am sadly not that organsied – will do better next year I promise.)

Today is the day of the week where I eagerly await the ‘biggest’ regular coffee (tea or wine) meet up with fellow crafters through Handmade Monday.

Handmade Harbour

Through a special link everyone shares their post about what they have been making during the week. I have to say I have learnt so much through each of these wonderful people and eagerly await the time when the children are in bed and I can sit down and have a good read. A big, huge thank you to all (with a special mention for Wendy whose idea it is and who hosts it every week.)

Another marker in my week is the creative ‘meet up’ called Creatives Unite that happens on a Thursday evening.

MissBeatrixThis is simply a time where you can sit down and know that others are also crafting away too. There is a great sense of community on twitter throughout. It is the time that I set aside each week to create my object for handmade Monday if I have not got around to making anything for the rest of the week. A huge thank to Anna for organising this one.

So what have I made this week? Following on from my experiments last week with Tunisian crochet I was very keen to have a go with wire and beads. I chose the queen lace stitch and created this:

Beaded Queen lace Crochet

Believe it or not this took 2 hours. Unfortunately it is not long enough to go around my wrist so cannot technically be called a bracelet although this is what I am hoping it will end up as.

I do really like this as I think it works really well.

Queen Lace Stitch.

Queen Lace Stitch.

The idea was to add beads to the ‘loopy’ (technical term!) bits that go across. I added 4 seed beads to each loop this time although I would also like to try using 1 larger one each time.

I think the beads would hang better if it was this way but I don't have a long enough hook (yet!).

I think the beads would hang better if it was this way but I don’t have a long enough hook (yet!).

So there you have it. A work in process for this week. This is because I am also in the middle of a test knit which has taken a bit longer than I anticipated getting going. It is now on its way but I have a long way to go yet.

As for now….. well I should be knitting but fear that I shall not be able to avoid the lure of Handmade Harbour!! Hope to see you there πŸ™‚

45 thoughts on “A Blogiversary and Queen Stitch Crochet

  1. Anna

    Happy Birthday blog! I think we should all organise our diaries around crafts, wouldn’t the world be a happier place? Pleased to have you as a CU member πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
  2. freespiritdesigns

    Happy first birthday!! Yum, thank you for the cake πŸ™‚

    I love your bracelet, the bright blue beads work so beautifully with the delicate silver wire, i can imagine it looking really pretty on πŸ™‚

    Thank you for the heads up re postage increases in April… you saved me re-doing a lot of work! xx

    Reply
  3. Alison Rimmer

    Happy anniversary! a year of blogging – well done, hope I can keep it up for a year – it’s hard when you are also making things and reading everyone else’s fab blogs! Never heard of creatives unite but will take a look now!

    Reply
  4. Fiddly Fingers

    I think this has been quite successful. The Tunisian Crochet still looks lacy but also appears to have a bit of substance to it so the finished article will remain in shape. Congratulations on your first year!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Simmi

    Happy Birthday to you! I know exactly what you mean about needing the interaction with other people, especially for feedback on your makes, if you work alone. I love the ‘nearly’ bracelet – it looks so delicate and pretty. Have a good week! Simmi x

    Reply
  6. Bits and Bobs Crafts

    The bracelet is beautiful – love the way you’re using the wire with tunisian – do you use a metal hook? You could always add ribbons to close the bracelet instead of adding more length? I’m joining you on Thursday evening, its a brilliant idea – am becoming more involved in e-crafty groups as it breaks up the time working solo πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      LOVE the idea of using ribbon as I have run out of beads too. (hmmm) I am so glad that you are joining in with Thursday evenings. It is a great idea that somehow seems to work really well. See you then πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Ginny

    Happy Bloganniversary! It is funny but I always assume that others have been blogging for years. You have just made me realise that I am coming up to my first year of blogging!

    Reply
  8. EleanorLucy

    Happy bloggy birthday! πŸ™‚ Everything takes me longer than I think it will, but it’s usually worth it! Can’t wait to see how your bracelet turns out, loving the lace stitch, very pretty! x

    Reply
  9. fatmonica

    Wow- 2 hours!That’s real dedication and it obviously paid off because it’s a great piece of work. I’ve never heard of Creatives Unite before but I’ll be signing up to that!

    Reply
  10. Wendy Melling

    Happy blog birthday! Was that a chocolate cake, if so it was delicious! Your work in progress will make a beautiful delicate bracelet. Enjoy your first birthday!
    Wendy x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

