A Bookmark

This week I have spent an inordinate (hoping that is a word!) amount of time on my knitting. It is growing but VERY slowly. I have also spent the time that I would normally have spent running (I have been resting up before a race) getting my head around Photoshop and the ‘touching up’ of photos. I still have some way to go but am getting there I think.

During Creatives Unite, however on Thursday I did make a piece to show you today:

This, believe it or not is a book mark!

This, believe it or not is a book mark!

So what do you think?  I used a very fine thread with a 1mm hook. Yes it did take me ages but I do think that it is worth it. After blocking I gave it a spray with some starch so that it holds its shape a bit.

A slightly closer view.

A slightly closer view.

I did think that this would really lend itself to wire!!

Being Mothering Sunday in the UK I am hoping that all the Mothers reading this have had a great day (despite the cold, snowy and wintry weather again!) As always I am going over to read all the other lovely blogs that are other on Handmade Harbour.

Hope you all have a great week 🙂

57 thoughts on “A Bookmark

  1. freespiritdesigns

    Oooh that is an amazing book mark! I love the colour you’ve used and the sculptural shape is very striking 🙂 x

    Reply
  2. adaliza

    Such a pretty bookmark. It could hang up in a window if it was starched – would throw pretty shadows in the sunshine (you remember, that yellow thing that used to be in the sky when we were young)!

    Reply
  3. Martha

    this is a very nice pattern and i like the purple shading 🙂
    i love bookmarks – making them and collecting. mine are mostly with cross stitched patterns 🙂

    Reply
  4. EleanorLucy

    This is really pretty! Can totally appreciate it must have been extremely time consuming, but I think it’s worth it. I can definitely inagine it in wire too, although the edges would catch on things if it were a bracelet – would have to be a special occasions piece! 😉

    Reply
  5. Divine Debris

    That is beautiful! I bet you could make that longer and get a really fun spring time scarf. Yeah, I think that is a word. 🙂
    Oh, great thread, the color variegation is really nice.

    Reply
  6. fatmonica

    That’s a beautiful piece of work-I love the purples.I wanted to thank you for introducing me via your post last week to #creativesunite. It’s opened up a whole new world!

    Reply
  7. Bits and Bobs Crafts

    I love the bookmark! Being into fine crochet too I can imagine just how many hours went into making this. Would love to see it in wire too! I joined in with Creatives Unite last week too and enjoyed it – will definitely be joining again this week 🙂

    Reply
  8. sue

    For someone like me who can only just about go round and round it’s amazing to see what someone who really CAN crochet can do! Lovely! Sue

    Reply
  9. Jan

    Love the colours you have used, it’s very pretty. I was thinking about you on Sunday, it wasn’t the best weather. I hope you had a good day 🙂

    Jan x

    Reply
  10. daniellajoe

    Happy Mothers Day to you too!!!! I love the bookmark it’s very delicate and Lacey looking which is what I like too, yes it grows slowly but it’s prettier 🙂

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

