Testing!

You may remember a couple of weeks ago I was saying that I had a project I was doing that needed a lot of knitting? I was unable to share this project with you because it was a test knit – I was testing it before it became a published pattern.

So what is a test knit?

It is what it says on the tin. Testing to make sure that the pattern works. I suppose it is a bit like proof reading. You knit the pattern in the hope that you pick up on any small mistakes there are. When you are writing something important you check it, review it and check it over numerous times. Unfortunately this is no guarantee that there are no mistakes lurking in there somewhere. You are so familiar with it that your brain doesn’t recognise any mistakes anymore. There are ‘Tech Editors’ that will check patterns for you but some people still like people to test their patterns. It is also a way to get your object knitted in a different colour without having to knit it yourself.

So what do I get from it?

Usually you get the pattern for free (yes I am a bit of a cheep skate) and you get the garment to keep. You also get the experience of knitting things that you may not normally knit thus expanding your repertoire. This test knit taught me that there are a few differences between UK and US knitting terms – something that I had not realised before.

So what is it?

Well …it will be a beautiful shawl. Unfortunately I was unable to meet the deadline of this project – it was last Sunday but I had knitted enough to get a good idea of the pattern and was able to give the lovely designer some feedback. Even more unfortunate is that it is still not finished. I really hate to let people down but this is one knit that is taking longer than usual to knit up. That said it will be so worth it.

This will block out and stretch out much more giving the pattern much more definition.

This will block out and stretch out much more giving the pattern much more definition.

It is a beautiful lacy pattern and lovely to knit with enough interest to keep it interesting. The cast on was a new one for me and one that I love. It gives a beautiful edging without going back and adding one later.

Β© Christina Loman, 2013

See isn’t it gorgeous? You can see the lovely edge on the left and the way that it blocks out beautifully. Should you wish to knit it (and who wouldn’t?) you can get the pattern from here. If you would like to read more about it then see the blog post here. On the blog you will also be able to see more of her amazing patterns.

Test Knit number 2

Well crochet to be exact. This week I was a little distracted and offered to test an amugurami pattern for Joanne (notsogranny). This was a quick, easy project and very fun to make:

cute isn't he?

cute isn’t he?

He started out as a rabbit – then a bear. Finally he turned into a mouse.

See, I even did a tail!

See, I even did a tail!

I have to say that I can really see how this could become really addictive. I shall definitely be making others!

The really interesting and unexpected thing about this happened when I put a picture of him on my Facebook page on Friday night. It has turned out to be my most popular update ever. I have 58 lovely followers to whom I am very grateful for their interest. This got 220 views!! When I put the tail view on, that one got 109! Completely amazing. I have no idea why except that he is obviously cute. Thanks to Joanne for her pattern!

So you see that testing things is a great way to have a go at new techniques as well as a few unexpected benefits too. I recommend it to anyone.

Yet again it is a cold, snowy evening – perfect for snuggling up and having a good old read of lots of amazing blogs. Do follow me over to Handmade Harbour and have a look – there is not a lot else to do is there?

Hope you all have a lovely week. Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

50 thoughts on “Testing!

  1. Natalie

    Your rabbitbearmouse is gorgeous! I’ve just bought my Mum some new crochet hooks and am so tempted by crochet as there are so many cute patterns around at the moment. I might have to get Mum to give me a quick refresher course! The shawl is beautiful, although I can imagine it does take a long time to complete.

    Reply
  2. Alison Rimmer

    The lacy pattern on that shawl is beautiful and I really like the shade of green too. You really must finish it! Not really heard much about amugurami so there’s another thing just waiting to distract me!! Your rabbit-mouse is very cute no wonder it got the views!!

    Reply
  3. Alison Willcocks

    Interesting to hear your experiences of testing patterns. I wouldn’t mind giving this a go one of the days, just to give myself a challenge, although it would have to be crochet, I’ve not knitted for a while now! Love the shawl and the green is gorgeous πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Ginny

    The shawl looks really lovely. Do you have to provide your own wool? I do sometimes think I should have test knitters. I end up knitting my patterns so many times to make sure there are no mistakes in the pattern, but then it gives me some stock for craft fairs.

    Reply
  5. Red Hen

    It must be hard to knit to a deadline. Love the shawl, yes, and that edging is super. I`ve no idea how you get it from casting on though. I can imagine a kid loving a whole family of those mice!

    Reply
  6. freespiritdesigns

    Ooooh i love that shawl.. so pretty! I can’t wait to see you finished version! And your little mouse is just gorgeous! I love the colour you’ve used, he really is cute πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
  7. Gertie

    I’ve never heard of test knitters before. Sounds like a great idea. The shawl looks beautiful. You’ll have to put a photo up when you finish.

    The little mouse is so adorable !!!!

    Reply
  8. Bits and Bobs Crafts

    Oh wow the shawl is amazing! Testing patterns looks interesting and I like the idea of then having patterns to work from too. I love the little amigurumi mouse – I’ve been playing with Amigurumi recently too and need to turn my angel into a pattern.

    Reply
  9. EleanorLucy

    Aww love your rabbitbearmouse, what a cutie! πŸ™‚ The shawl is amazing, just the thing for draping over bare shoulders on a spring evening… i just wish it would hurry up and get rid of all this snow! x

    Reply
  10. Maryanne

    Wooohooo Alice! The shawl is staggeringly beautiful – wow, I’m in awe! Well done on the test knitting, sounds like lots of fun. And Mouse is toooooo sweet, no wonder you got a whole lotta views!

    So glad I twisted you arm to enter the Made It – you are the defending champion after all!!!

    xxx

    Reply
  11. Ali

    Wow you have been so busy while I’ve been away. The shawl looks really pretty. I love the design and the mouse is so cute. I expect test knitting is a good way to try out something you may not have thought about making before. Congratulations on having your pattern published. I agree with you I think they would be perfect for a bridesmaid.
    Ali x

    Reply
  12. Wendy Melling

    The shawl is stunning, and looks incredibly detailed. You must be so pleased with it. The mouse looks cute and friendly. Like the colour you’ve used as well.
    Wendy x

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Ring Ring, calling last bell for Made It entries! | woolhogs

  14. sue

    What a beautiful shawl – you must be very disciplined to do this – I proof read but it’s much less intensive than having to do this! Sue

    Reply
  15. Pingback: An Easter Rabbit | knitnrun4sanity

  16. Pingback: A Pocket Teddy! | knitnrun4sanity

  17. Pingback: Blocking and Ta Da! | knitnrun4sanity

  18. Pingback: The House Cup | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

