A Pocket Teddy!

Following my last couple of forays into the world of amugurami  (here and here) and the relative interest in it on my Facebook page I had an idea. One that would hopefully be popular and be closer to my jewellery……I would make mini amugurami! Easy – quick, cheap and perfect for key rings etc. In theory!
In actual fact it took me AT LEAST twice as long if not more to make this:
image

image

This one gives a better idea of scale!

In addition it was fiddly and the finishing off (weaving in all the ends etc) a nightmare. He is however very popular with my children so I was correct about one aspect – they would be popular. It is not, however an avenue I shall be exploring any more. I have had a go, learnt my lesson and now move on! (For the record I partly blame Fiddly Fingers as she made a lovely mini teddy and made it look gorgeous. No moaning on her post so either I am a wimp or I am rubbish at it!)

image

He was quickly nabbed by my son and put into his pocket (any guesses where he got his name?)!

 

As always I am linking up with Handmade Monday over at Handmade Harbour. I know that I always suggest that you come and have a look too but I wanted to underline this fact by telling you that so many of the people who take part are published in magazines, books participating as ‘headline acts ‘ at fairs etc. It is more like mixing with royalty than catching up on blogs. It is really lovely when ‘someone you know’ pops up in something you are reading. It really feels really special, as well of course  a great honour as you have been learning from them for a while before they have shared their knowledge to a wider and different audience. If you are one of those people who are reading this, you know who you are, I would like to say thank you for sharing a bit of your journey with me 🙂

I hope that you all have a great week and that spring will stay for a little bit longer this time around. 🙂

44 thoughts on “A Pocket Teddy!

  1. t1ckledp1nk

    He’s very cute and well done for having a go! It’s fun to try something different for a change even if you don’t stick with it.
    I love Handmade Monday for the very same reasons and also because everyone is so supportive and helpful. It’s like having a little crafting community in my computer. xxx

    Reply
  2. Ginny

    Love the little teddy. I have been knitting something very similary this afternoon, so know what you mean about the end and fiddleliness.

    Reply
  3. freespiritdesigns

    Aww pocket teddy is adorable! and all the more special for being a one off 🙂

    Why is it that small things always take so much longer than large things?! Like you, i’ve had a go at making tiny things before only to realise that they are waaaaaaay too time consuming and fiddly to be worth it.. i have great admiration for those who work in the world of little! x

    Reply
  4. CatkinJane

    He is tiny!
    I find that people are confused at fairs when you have to charge so much for small, fiddly things as they just see less materials not lots more work!

    Reply
  5. healthyfrenchie

    It’s so tiny and cute! But I can see how it would be a nightmare to finish off! You really have inspired me to make my next project a bigger version of this though! Or at least something similar for my little niece 🙂

    Reply
  6. Simmi

    Awww he’s cute, but I can see how fiddly he must have been to make. Why is it that the smaller and more complicated things always appeal to children? Simmi x

    Reply
  7. Janice

    Know what you mean with small things – recently finished a tiny beaded owl, great to do for fun, not a chance to make to sell 🙂

    Reply
  8. EleanorLucy

    I’ve been considering having a go at some lace with one of these tiny crochet hooks but have been putting it off (and off and off ha!) It’s a shame he’s not commercially viable but he is totally adorable and obviously much loved, so I think we can still sign this one off as a success 🙂 x

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thank you. It is not the tiny hook so much, more the project. You should have a go at the lace. I would love to see how you get on.I have done other things with small hooks that were not as bad as this! 🙂

      Reply
  9. Martha

    well done 🙂 good try at amigurumi. there are so many amigurumis out there that once you discover this world, you wont be able to stop yourself 🙂
    i think the teddy perhaps needs a bit thicker yarn as the stuffing shouldnt be showing through the crocheted parts 🙂 give it another go – will come out even better 🙂

    Reply
  10. Lisa

    Going smaller on designs always seems such a good idea but always becomes more fiddly and time consuming. Your teddy is really cute though, you did well despite your difficulties. I love the way you wrote your last paragraph, and totally agree with the sentiment. Have a good week.

    Reply
  11. Ali

    Your teddy is just so sweet. I can’t believe how tiny it is. You must be so patient. I just started amigurumi and it’s a bit fiddly for me. I been popping over to read you posts on blogging and just wanted to say I really enjoyed them and thought they are very useful.
    Ali x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

