Crochet Book Giveaway

I am thrilled to be have been given a new crochet book to look at called Hip Crochet by Natalie Clegg. Even more exciting is that Natalie is local to where I live. (I love a local celeb.) If you live anywhere near the Cambridge area you too can meet her on Saturday April 27th at the Sheep Shop in Cambridge at 3.30pm. She will be signing copies of her book and answering any questions you may have. I also have heard a whisper that she is designing a special pattern for the event too!

So now about the book starting off with the author:

Who is Natalie Clegg:

She is an interior designer and sounds to be full of life:

I absolutely love my life and love to try new things – so I am always exploring and learning.

Taken from her blog: here

She obviously loves her job designing interiors:

I love interiors – I would love to see every building and space made beautiful – even the unused ones.

Taken from her blog: here

Probably the thing that stands out most to me is that she is not afraid of colour. YAY πŸ™‚

THE BOOK

Taken from Ravelry

Hip Crochet is her first Crochet book and is full of fun patterns for the home. There are a real mix of patterns in this book:

Taken from the Ravelry Page here click to see the rest.

All in all there are 25 patterns ranging from the useful (Graffiti Doorstop) to the purely decorative (Ice Cream Sundae).

Hip crochet includes fun crochet projects to give your home a touch of colour, with patterns to suit all tastes and levels of ability.

Taken from the ‘blurb’

There is a refreshingly different selection of patterns in this book. The range is such that I am pretty sure that there is a project in this book that will appeal to most people. Quite an achievement. The range of techniques is broad so it is a great book for people relatively new to crochet or for those looking to expand their skills.

Organisation and essentials

The book starts off giving some really good tips (my favourite is using a notebook to make notes about each project.) There are also conversion charts for the sizes of hooks and the differences between us and uk crochet terms. Other features to note are:

  • it is written inΒ  UK terminology
  • it includes charts where appropriate as well as written
  • it has great photos – at least 1 full-page photo per project
  • it includes a variety of techniques – in the round, rows, amigurumi, felted, join-as-you-go and Jacquard Crochet Diagrams
  • many projects give ideas of how to vary the pattern
  • Natalie gives her own little tip on each project
  • There is a section on basic crochet techniques – how to
  • There is a section on other techniques (including a recipe to make your own starch)
  • There is a glossary of terms.

My main criticism would be that there is no indication on the difficulty of the pattern.

A Trial Run

I am however not done. I feel it is only fair that I try a project out. After all the patterns may be so badly written that they are impossible to follow (unlikely I know but ……)

I had a go at a Cache Pot:

Cache Pot

I found the instructions to this easy to follow and I ended up with a really cute little bowl which is surprisingly sturdy. It is a quick project to complete – great for gifts.

GIVEAWAY TIME!

Now for the exciting bit. I have a copy of the book to giveaway – not only that but it will be a signed copy! (either you can come along to the Sheep shop and I will give you the book then and there so you can get it signed yourself or I will get it signed and send it to you later!) Excited? All you have to do is leave me a comment below telling me why you would like to win a copy of the book.Β  I shall be doing the draw on Friday night at 8pm.

Oh and one more thing. Claire over at Clairebellemakes also has a copy to give away so why not pop over to her blog and see what she has to say about the book as well as doubling your chance to win yourself a copy? Good luck to everyone who enters πŸ™‚

If you like crafty blogs why not follow me over to Handmade Harbour to have a look at a lot more lovely crafty blogs?

ps: This week it is the 4th Annual Knitting and Crochet Blog week where bloggers are challenged to write a blog post every day following a plan. I shall be joining in. If you would like to then pop over here to find out more.

78 thoughts on “Crochet Book Giveaway

  1. Lorraine

    I’m new to crochet and need some inspiration to improve from rows of practice stitches. It looks like there’s some interesting projects in this book πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Elizabeth

    Oooh the book looks lovely! I’d like to win it because I’m quite new to crochet, so a well-written collection of projects would be just the thing. Plus I live near Cambridge and could pick it up! Happy hooking!

    Reply
  3. Ginny

    I would love to win the book, as I can’t crochet, and I really need to learn. Perhaps a lovely book with some simple projects, will be the kick up the backside I need.

    Reply
  4. lindarumsey

    I am trying to teach myself to crochet as there are so many great crochet patterns appearing on Ravelry (and adding to my queue). This book looks full of bright and inspiring projects. Just what I need to help me increase my skills!
    lindarumsey on Ravelry

    Reply
  5. Alison Rimmer

    I love crochet and I would love to win the book and try out some of the patterns. The tip about writing notes about your makes in a book is one I have recently adopted and would recommend it as good advice! (Patchwork fairy)

    Reply
  6. lizzierosejewellery

    Hi there, I’m Cath. The book looks inspiring from the beginning – just looking at the cover makes you want to start creating. My downfall is that I have never crocheted before! I would love to see the lovely blankets, mats and other soft furnishing around my home and for my cats to laze on but don’t know where to start, it sounds like Natalie explains how to begin in plain English – something I would definitely need! If I won the book you could post it to my mum’s house in Yorkshire so it wouldn’t cost the earth to mail to Singapore and I can pick it up when I visit in June. Happy Monday to you and good luck to all those entering the competition! Cath

    Reply
  7. Clare

    I need patterns for sweetie bags/pots to use as kiddy favours for my wedding! and if i spend actual money on any more crochet books i might get in trouble!

    Reply
  8. Beingme

    I’d love to win this book, I have a whole summer of no study stretching out ahead of me and my aim is to learn as much crochet as I can while I have the time! The chillies (and I suspect the ice cream sundae) look ideal for a play kitchen

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Hip Crochet Review and Giveaway |

  10. EleanorLucy

    That book looks seriously cool – I’m always looking for innovative new patterns and ideas, and this seems a one stop shop! Pop my name into that hat please (if you’ll pardon the pun)! πŸ˜‰ I really hope she’s as lovely as I’m imagining her to be when you meet her in the flesh! Really good luck with the blogging every day – I’m dropping down to a more achievable fortnightly update, so I’m even more in awe of your challenge ha! πŸ˜‰ x

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Fortnightly seems to be very sensible at the moment. It is all a bit crazy here today – so many comments, and another post to prepare for tomorrow! Your name is in the hat (not one of yours I am afraid but still……)

      Reply
  11. lovelucie1

    I have a plan to take crochet to a contemporary status. This would aid me in my quest. Also, my other half frowns upon crochet in bed, but not a book. Bizarre!

    Reply
  12. Ali

    I love the photos on the cover like you said it’s so colourful. The name of the shop made me smile ,’sheep shop’, do they sell many sheep?
    Ali x

    Reply
  13. Louise @ Elsie May and Bertha

    I think a whole set of thise cache pots would be ideal for keeping sewing etc bits and pieces in. The book looks like it has lots of fun patterns in it. Unfortunately my crochet capability is practically nil, so don’t include me in your giveaway.

    Reply
  14. Pingback: A Mascot Project | knitnrun4sanity

  15. freespiritdesigns

    Ooooh looks like an amazing book full of lots of lovely projects πŸ™‚ I love how crochet is so popular right now!! x

    Reply
  16. Vix

    Wow, the book looks lovely.
    I’d love to win it purely because I love crochet, competitions and parcels πŸ™‚
    Wondered why I wasn’t getting your post updates, turns out I wasn’t following (how did that happen?!) Problem rectified, looking forward to the rest of your monkbeecock posts
    X

    Reply
  17. Linsey

    Just found your blog from Claireabellemakes! I learned how to crochet last year and love finding new project ideas. I’d love this book as I’ve not yet managed to make anything for myself, everything has been for other people!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: Colour Review | knitnrun4sanity

  19. Pingback: Can you make this? | knitnrun4sanity

  20. Hannah

    ooh Just sneaking in.. nearly missed it! πŸ™‚ Why would I like to win erm well because it looks like a pretty awesome book! πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply
  21. Pingback: Crochet : The very big project, Chapter 1 | Spunky Wayfarer knits and bakes

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

