Colour Review

KCBWDAY4

Day 4 of the knitting and crochet blog week

Today we have been tasked with reflecting on colour.

What are your favourite colours for knitted or crocheted projects. Have a think about what colours you seem to favour when yarn shopping and crafting.

So this bit is easy. I am drawn to greens (any colour) and  light blues/turquoises. I am training myself to go for oranges, reds and purples as I want to add more bright, cheerful colours to my palate so these are beginning to creep in. Unconsciously I am still drawn to greens and turquoises. They suite my colouring and  I have never been afraid of wearing them.

Is this reflected in my projects?

No not always, but definitely sometimes.

Ok I was wrong. Most of what I do does use these colours. Probably because these are the colours I am drawn to. I am more likely to buy them and so have them about when I am making. I do also use other colours, I shall show you:

So you see I can do different colours too! (Although notice that these were slightly harder to come by!)

Are my preferences reflected in my stash?

Well obviously although there is a bit more of a mix here as I sometimes buy things for particular projects that need to be a certain colour…..for example I bought some silver and gold beads to do some Christmas knitted beaded napkin rings. I have not used them all so they have been added to my stash!

Do my colour preferences reflect my House animal?

Being a cross between a monkey, peacock and a bee….to some extent. I am sure that I can stretch a link from somewhere.

The Peacock: definitely with the turquoises.

The bee: not as much as I don’t use black hardly at all and yellow only very occasionally. However, bees like pretty, bright flowers so maybe this could count?

The monkey – he is found in trees with their green leaves. Do you think that counts?

Do let me know if I am stretching the truth a bit too far.

Do go and see what other bloggers have been writing about on this topic by typing 4KCBWDAY4 into a search engine. It will be worth it – I have loved seeing how different people have interpreted each task.

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway here.

7 thoughts on “Colour Review

  1. hazelscrochet

    I was amused at your relation of colours to the house animals, your logic definitely works 🙂 I am a bee, and I definitely don’t use black since it is so hard to see what you are doing. But I love rainbows and I think it works since bees are attracted to colourful flowers like you said 🙂

    Reply
  2. chrisknits

    I think your colors represent your mashed up house! Bee things aren’t always their color, but the color they are drawn to. And since they are a summertime animal, green is in abundance and ergo, there’s the link!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

