Looking Forward

4KCBWDAY7

WOW! This is the last day of the knitting and crochet blogging week and I have done it πŸ™‚ I have written a blog post of some sort everyday for a week. Phew. I am quite tired but SO pleased I have done it.

Today we have been set the challenge of looking forward to this time next year:

One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?

Before I address this I first wanted to go back to last year where we were asked something similar and I set myself some targets. I have never returned to these and so thought that now might be a good time to do this (Should you wish to read the full post it is here):

1. To be more effective and further develop my understanding around Facebook and Twitter.

I had only been blogging for a couple of months this time last year and I was struggling to get to grips with these. I am not sure that I will ever stop learning but I have got the basics (or so I think!)

2. To set up an e-shop to sell my jewellery.

Well no! Failed on that one and so will push this forward to this year. I have started I promise πŸ™‚

3. Make a beaded crochet rope necklace by the beginning of the summer holidays!

I have done this but not by the time I set myself!!

Beaded Rope Bracelet

A bracelet

A necklace.

A necklace.

Turquoise non-classic beaded rope.

Turquoise non-classic beaded rope.

So on to this year:

1. Set up the e-shop!

2. Keep challenging myself:

I enjoy doing new things – sometimes too much (the bee) flitting from one thing to the next. I cannot give a specific list because things have a habit of cropping up out of no-where. I would like to make some socks (I have a pattern from feelgoodknitting that I won doing a treasure hunt!!) and I would also like to learn how to knit 2 at once. Which brings me to another part of this which is to keep looking outward. I have found so many awesome blogs through this knitting and blogging week that I had no idea existed. I have this ‘silly’ rule that if I follow a blog I really want to be able to do it properly, read each post and interact. The trouble is the more I find, the more I want to follow that takes more and more time! Anyone have any answers – PLEASE?

So there we have it. Nothing very exciting – more reminders so I don’t get stuck in a rut (something that is so easy to do). Oh yes, one more thing:

KEEP BELIEVING IN MYSELF!

https://www.ptsdforum.org/c/attachments/believe-quotes-11-png.5024/

(Source)

I hope you all have a lovely Sunday which includes some crafting time πŸ™‚

16 thoughts on “Looking Forward

  1. bekswhoknits

    I give myself a 4 week rule. I’ll follow a blog and then if I don’t feel like I’m connecting or making a new friend I’ll unfollow.
    I also used google reader (so sad they discontinued it) and have switched to bloglovin which isn’t too bad. I have a folder for ‘special friends’ which I read every day.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      You sound like you have things sussed! I am currently using the reader here on wordpress but maybe i should try something else. I like the sound of having a folder with certain blogs in. I hate feeling like i am not giving blogs the time the time they deserve….

      Reply
      1. bekswhoknits

        I do use the reader on WordPress but I find it unreliable. Bloglovin means I can follow non-Wordpress blogs too so I have my local news and other websites I read often (thehairpin) all in the one place.

        Reply
  2. lululoves

    Hello :)) I have just caught up on your weeks posts for knit & crochet blog week! Well done for blogging every day – I’m in awe! As for the comments I don’t think there’s an easy answer – sometimes I will tweet a comment but I realise this is not as nice as someone leaving an engaging comment on the post. Em xx

    Reply
  3. Truly Myrtle

    Love your beads …
    I’m the same with blogs … it’s tricky – so much inspiration and lovely people to meet means so much time on the computer and less getting my stuff done …. sorry, got no answer! I’ll wait for someone else to share the secret.

    Reply
  4. claireabellemakes

    Well done on blogging every day for the Knitting and Crochet Blog week. I’ve really enjoyed your posts and it’s great to hear about your goals from last year.

    I think you are the most engaging blog reader I have and according to wordpress, you are my top commenter, so THANK YOU. I hear you about keeping up though, it’s tough when there is so much great content out there. Just remember, people will still appreciate you stopping by to read, even if you don’t leave a comment. xx

    Reply
  5. tucsonhorse

    I agree with Bekswhoknits up above, I used google reader (why oh why did they kill it?!?) and I’m currently working on finding an alternative, but an RSS reader makes a big difference for me. The wordpress reader feels like the facebook newsfeed to me and I don’t like that feel for reading blogs.

    Do you have a pattern/directions for the crocheted rope necklace/bracelets? I would love to try it but have no idea how I would go about doing it.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

