Tunisian Aqua Earrings

Do you remember this?

Aqua pendant side

It is a pendant I made a few weeks ago see here. (I have re-done the photos!)

I decided that some earrings might also work well with this technique so had a go:

Aqua earrings

I used a 1mm hook and 3.25mm wire and seed beads.

Aqua earrings side view

They still curve up giving them a 3D effect. I think they work well and judging by the response on my Facebook page so do other people. I have even had a commission for a pair!

Talking about commissions I have been very busy working behind the scenes towards opening an online shop as an outlet for selling some of my work. I have spent hours and hours on Photoshop in an attempt to come up with a banner:

Shop bannerSo what do you think? All opinions and/or advice is greatly appreciated.Β  I had to think of a new name as knitnrun4sanity would obviously not work!

The next major decision, and the one that has probably taken the most time,Β  is where to sell. There is something about Etsy that screams no to me – it is so busy and there seems to be a lot of things that you are expected to be part of it. I know that a lot of you sell on it, but it all seems a bit alien and unknown. I then found Zibbet which is free but appears to be more for the American market. Finally, as reading through the wonderful blogs on handmade harbourΒ  I saw that some sold on a site, similar to Etsy but called Misi.It is based in the UK but I am not sure how much traffic they get on there. Oh dear decisions, decisions. I really do need to get on and take the plunge!

Enough waffle – what I really want to do is to go and catch up on the other wonderful blogs over on Handmade harbour. Hope you all have a good week and if you have any pearls of wisdom then do please share:)

33 thoughts on “Tunisian Aqua Earrings

  1. Michaela (@MissChaelaBoo)

    These are beautiful, so detailed. I like the banner too. I haven’t heard of Misi but it looks good. Etsy is a very big place to try and get noticed but it’s easy to use. It’s tricky to decide, I certainly don’t want to be juggling multiple shops. X

    Reply
  2. Alison Rimmer

    The earrings look very good and make a nice set with the pendant. I have a shop on Etsy but it hasn’t done well. My folksy shop ‘Enchanted Wood’ has done much better. You should give Folksy a look – they don’t yet allow shops to pay to have their items come top of search lists as Etsy does so I think it allows the small seller a better chance on Folksy. (Patchwork Fairy)

    Reply
  3. Martha

    Love the colours of the beads – one my favourite shades. Your jewellery looks to me like a little universe of gems and wire on its own πŸ™‚ an Atom model, I’d say πŸ™‚ Very unique.

    Reply
  4. Ginny

    I do know what you mean about Etsy – although I’m in the process of expanding my shop. I feel I want to try to give it a proper go. I have sold a few knitting patterns, and feel I reach differetn people who might not look at ravelry. So far I have only sold finished products to people in the States, and the postage does get a bit much. Perhaps the best thing is to have your own website.

    Reply
  5. freespiritdesigns

    Ooooh these are sooo pretty! Very stylish and expensive looking, i’m not surprised you’re getting great feedback πŸ™‚

    Etsy is busy, especially for jewellery… its busy with buyers as well as sellers though and despite seeming a bit daunting to start with its extremely user friendly.

    If you wanted to go with a UK based site you could try Folksy or WowThankYou… i’m on all three of these plus my own website, mostly because i’m indecisive!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. offthehookbykeke

    Love your matching earrings!
    Some CC on your banner: love your company name! It’s difficult to see what your images contain (at least for me). Not sure about the background color…personally I would tone that down a bit. . Great job! I understand how much work goes onto creating a banner.
    Etsy is wonderful! It is popular and very user friendly. Customer service is wonderful.

    Reply
      1. KAB

        I agree with the cc on toning down the background colour – you’ve got some lovely blues and greens in the beads you’ve been using, could you try to match some of them? I like the name too.

        Reply
        1. Clare

          You didn’t come across as rude, and when i was writing my reply it didnt sound rude (but reading back it seems to come across that way, sorry!!!)

  7. claireabellemakes

    The photos look fantastic and really bring out those pretty colours. Have you considered Folksy? Although just for UK it is similar to Etsy. Personally I like Etsy even though there are so many shops on there as it opens you up to international sales too and you can create treasury lists of your favourite things (although not compulsory). I also like the teams on Etsy where you can join and discuss (a bit like forums), but you may also find this with other sites.

    I know with NOTHS you have to pay a joining fee and the selection process is a bit tougher as anyone can get a shop on Etsy or Folksy.

    There is also Art Fire which I don’t know much about but is another site to consider. You could also have a self hosted shop site and then you can make it exactly how you want it.

    The banner looks great. I like the name too πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Natalie

    I know nothing about selling online but however/wherever you decide to advertise and sell, your jewellery is really beautiful and will be ever so popular!

    Reply
  9. Bits and Bobs Crafts

    Oh wow they are beautiful! I love the shop banner too. Have you heard of Folksy as well? That’s another UK platform and its where my shop – currently full of fresh air – lives. Its a nice friendly community over there too. I did try Misi but I think the lady running it was ill at the time and I was very new to online selling and very confused too, but would consider going back again. There also used to be one called Carrot or something like that but I don’t think its still around. You can also get a facebook shop to sell from your page but I didn’t find that particularly successful. There’s also WowThankYou which I know several people like but I can’t find any info on the cost and they want you to submit images so i think there’s some sort of selection process there – not that you’d have any trouble with that πŸ™‚ xx

    Reply
  10. Gertie

    I love the matching earrings. I’m sure they would make a great set for the Christmas market.

    Good luck with your new shop. Have you heard of Coriandr and DaWanda. They sell handmade and unique gifts. I’ve never bought from the sites so can’t comment but they do seem popular. Maybe other bloggers have used them xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I had not heard of coriandr so thanks for flagging this up. There are just so many different options! Thank you very much for your comment on my jewellery πŸ™‚

      Reply
  11. CatkinJane

    Love the earrings πŸ™‚

    I have the same feelings about Etsy, I did open a shop there but had no sales and never got to grips with all the ways you need to promote yourself (treasuries and circles etc.) I think it does need quite a bit of time invested to get returns.
    I’ve had more success with Folksy (only just!) but the most online sales I’ve had are through my own website

    Reply
  12. Pingback: May Made It – The Final Countdown | woolhogs

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

