A week of firsts!

This week, on Wednesday I was very lucky to be invited around to a friend’s house to be a ‘guinea pig’. I must make it very clear that she didn’t really need any guinea pigs at all but she was very keen to give her lesson a trial run as she will soon be teaching at The Sheep Shop in Cambridge. It is always a good idea to get the idea of timings and what to do when you are given a complete idiot to teach! Teaching what? needle felting.

It was a lovely, relaxed morning and I managed to complete 2 projects in this time. 2013-05-22 10.29

This is a pictures shows the tools we used. In the top left you can see the needles (horrid things with barbs along them), the red ‘handle is the tool that you put the needles into, the blue is the wool and the heart cutter would give us the shape. The heart at the bottom is what we were heading for – eek! All this is on a mat to stop the needle going through to the table.

2013-05-22 10.36

To start with we put bits of wool into the shape and then stabbed at it with the needle. This mats it together. You keep adding until you have a fair bit and then you can gently take the shape away and peel the wool off the mat.

2013-05-22 10.40

There we have the rough, fluffy shape. The more you stab it the less fluffy it gets.

2013-05-22 11.05

You can just about see that I have added bits of pink and blue in too. It is now firming up nicely.

2013-05-22 11.42

The flowers were added by rolling small bits of wool and then gently stabbing at them so they join with the main one.

2013-05-22 11.55

All three hearts that were created on the day.

The next project was more free – form as we had no ten plate. We were just doing a flower:

2013-05-22 12.16

Here is my attempt.

2013-05-22 12.33

Here are all three.

I thoroughly enjoyed myself. If you would like to have a go and live close to Cambridge then do book yourself into the class.

The other first for me was I attended an introductory Jewellery Making class. I am starting a new venture and writing a blog for a local bead shop Spoilt Rotten Beads about my journey as I learn how to make jewellery. Do pop and have a look – I have done 2 posts so far. After yesterday I now find myself in a major dilemma – I don’t know which to do – knit, crochet or make jewellery. Oh dear, too much choice and not enough time!

4 pieces

These are the bits that I made yesterday in the class. I am still buzzing from it. Do keep an eye out to see what else I get up too.

As always I am popping over to Handmade Harbour to catch up on everyone’s makes this week. (For those who are wondering I will be partaking in wine this week ;).

55 thoughts on “A week of firsts!

  1. Wendy

    The felting looks fab – it’s one of the things I’ve never tried but would love to have a go. I would’ve been a happy guinea pig!

    Reply
  2. Red Hen

    Never heard of needle felting til now Looks like a nice way of making all sorts of decorations. Might even get the Christmas tree sorted for this year if I start early enough;-)

    Reply
  3. t1ckledp1nk

    Fabulous, I love the way that you added other colours to your heart, and the little flowers are delightful. You describe it so well too. And I’m so glad you enjoyed it.
    I have ordered bits from Spoilt Rotten Beads before so am interested to see how you get on. Have a lovely week. xx

    Reply
  4. Ginny

    Very interested in your felting, as me and my daughter spent the morning trying to make felted beads from a kit, with very sketchy instruction. Also made tricky as she has bad eczema on her hands, so isn’t meant to get soap on them. We are going to try and add the colour tomorrow.

    Reply
  5. Patchworkfairy

    Wow the hearts and flowers are very good for a first attempt at felting. I wish I lived nearer as I would do the course – I bought a felting starter kit from Wonderwool and haven’t really done anything with it yet. I have lots of cookie cutter shapes so will try that method I think! I have same dilemma too – knit crochet or jewellery and now Felting!!!

    Reply
  6. Lin

    They are really pretty. I love the fact that you can add on bits of colour to create added detail. They would make fantastic embellishments, or a lovely mobile for a baby’s cot πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Ali

    Your felted pieces look amazing. It’s something that I keep thinking I should have a go at. I’ll be checking out your new blog. The jewellery you’ve created looks beautiful, I really like the green bracelet. Can’t wait to hear about your new adventures in jewellery making.
    Ali x

    Reply
  8. freespiritdesigns

    oh wow what a creative week! Needle felting sounds like so much fun and i love all the pretty hearts and flowers πŸ™‚

    your jewellery is soooo gorgeous too, i especially love the chain bracelet with turquoise beads. I look forward to seeing what you make next!! x

    Reply
  9. Gertie

    You certainly have had a busy creative week. I love your felt work. It looks like a very relaxing type of crafting. I must give it a try xx

    Reply
  10. raphaele42

    Your felting is really nice. I love needle felting because you can start and stop anytime. I used to have a felting project in my kitchen, stabbing some while dinner was cooking. But I was in too much hurry and kept stabbing my fingers πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Bits and Bobs Crafts

    You’re an amazing lady! I love the needle felting and wish I lived closer so I could do the workshop, your friend is a great teacher and you’ve explained the class so well too! The jewellery is beautiful – I’m sure you can find a way to juggle and combine all your many talents x

    Reply
  12. Lottie Of London

    I love the look of the needle felting it gorgeous and I wish your friend lots of luck with her classes and well done on your jewellery making your pieces look great, are you sure you’ve not done this before hehe

    Reply
  13. Maryanne

    Alice, I simple don’t know where to start…wowee, you have been a busy busy lady! I have fallen in love with the little felted heart! Your jewelry, flowers…everything! Brilliant xxx

    Reply
  14. Alison Rimmer

    The felting looks good for a first attempt! Hope I can do as good as I have just bought a felting kit which adds to my dilemma too! I like sewing, knitting, crochet, jewelery making, card making and now felting!! I have some ‘cookie cutters’ I will get out for this! (Patchwork Fairy)

    Reply
  15. Pingback: May Made It – The Final Countdown | woolhogs

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

