French Knitting

Hands up who has added something new to an already busy schedule? Maybe it would be put better the other way around as in who hasn’t ;). I ask this because as I was thinking back over this week I realised that this is exactly what I had done myself. The trouble is I have done it in the past and know that I will do it again in the future!

This week has been busy enough as it has been half term. Add on to that the two blogs that I am now doing (having started the second one just over a week ago so I am still getting to grips with how this one works) and all the time that takes (making things in order to be able to blog being the most time expensive). I also have a tunic that I am knitting that really needs finishing asap and you can see that my life is very busy (but a lot of fun!) at the moment.

When out and about this week I suddenly decided that I would actually buy one of these:

Buy Pony French Knitter Online at johnlewis.com

Does anyone remember these from when they were little? I certainly do. One of these had been on my list for a while now as I wanted to try it out with wire. I got it on Thursday and Thursday night I:

threaded a load of beads onto the wire I was going to use.

threaded a load of beads onto the wire I was going to use.

I then proceded to spend a very happy hour or two making this.

I then proceeded to spend a very happy hour or two making this.

It is a very enjoyable process where you wrap the wire around the metal spikes at the top and then pull the bottom piece of wire over the tops one with a crochet hook. It grew nice and quickly. I am going to make this into a necklace.

I think that there is a lot of scope for this and I look forward to having another play very soon. Once I have made some more jewellery the traditional way and finished my tunic that is ;). At least this ‘detour’ meant that I had something to blog about and show ready for Handmade Harbour. I am heading over there now to catch up on the weeks achievements of the many talented bloggers. I hope that you have all seen some sunshine today and that you have a great week 🙂

63 thoughts on “French Knitting

  1. Jill Spain (@JillSpain)

    I used to do this when I was at school (er, yes, a long time ago) using a cotton reel with four nails knocked into it and wool. It was great fun and I made many little mats and other interesting things. I love yours using wire and beads – a great idea. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  2. Cat

    Ha, good luck with that! It’s another of those addictive things!! I haven’t had my own spools out for a while, but I’m sure they’ll be back.
    Have fun!! (Sheesh, why do I keep yelling? ;-))

    Reply
  3. Red Hen

    I recall French knitting using a wooden thread spool into which four little nails were tacked on top.It works really well with that beaded wire.

    Reply
  4. offthehookbykeke

    I used to use one as a kid! Love how your wire is worked so neatly!
    I can relate to adding new adventures ointo an already hectic schedule! It’s what keeps me sane! ;).

    Reply
  5. Ginny

    What a brilliant idea. I remember french knitting very well, and have also done it with my children. Your french knitting with wire looks so elegant.

    Reply
  6. Gertie

    That takes me back !!! I too used to have one which was made out of a wooden cotton reel and four nails. I received a proper one as a present on my 10th birthday.

    The wire and beads look very effective. Should make a lovely necklace xx

    Reply
  7. Emma

    Thank you so much for being the first commenter on my blog!

    Also what a genius idea to use wire and beads for French knitting. I used to have one that looked like a doll that was called “Knitting Nancy”. Happy memories of making metres and metres of woolen tangles!

    Reply
  8. Martha

    Hey! this is a clever idea – love this knitted chain and the tiny seed beads have always been my favourite – i rememeber millions of these rolling around the table when my mum was making looong bead necklaces.
    wonder what else you will make with this french knitter 🙂

    Reply
  9. Alison Rimmer

    That’s a brilliant grown-up take on a childhood hobby! Iloved French Knitting as a child and always wondered what to do with the long snakes I created, apart from make a hat! Your necklace is beautifully delicate. (Patchwork Fairy)

    Reply
  10. Louise @ Elsie May and Bertha

    I love the way you use conventional instruments, crochets hooks and french knitters, and then use them with unconvential threads, beaded wire. You have such a great imagination. I have the same french knitter as you but I wouldn’t have thought to use the wire. I find french knitting quite theraputic and I use the ‘tubes’ to make flowers, handles for bags etc.
    I hope you manage to fit in everything you want to this week!

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thank you for your very kind words. Most people find it hard to know what to do with the ‘tubes’ so your ideas are great. I think that the flowers is one I could use too! Thank you (If you don’t mind me pinching your idea though.)

      Reply
  11. mrsbrownmakes

    The wire and beads look lovely when ‘knitted’, what a clever idea. I’ve been doing much the same this half term – adding to what is already too much and finally getting to grips with my blog whilst carrying on with/finishing/thinking of new projects (I must make a list at some point and see how many there actually are!).

    Reply
  12. freespiritdesigns

    How funny, my mum bought me one of these gadgets just last week! Your necklace i sooo pretty, what a great idea! I’m not sure what i’ll make with mine yet but i can’t wait to have a go 🙂

    p.s. yup, i am also completely over extended.. as usual! x

    Reply
  13. soyofthenorth

    I remember doing this at my grandparent’s house when I was kid with some nails, some wool and a cotton reel. Completely forgot how I made things with it though 😀

    Reply
  14. Clare

    Just clicked over from the lovely comment you left on my blog, thank you! I remember making I-cords with cotton reels, there’s something very satisfying about seeing a neat little cord emerging from the bottom! I like your idea of using wire, it looks very pretty with the beads on!

    Reply
  15. Sue

    Ooh what a good idea! Must dig mine out… And those beads that are lurking in a box… Good excuse to rummage in the loft thanks!!!!! Sue x

    Reply
  16. EleanorLucy

    We always knew them as Knitting Nancies when I was a child, I used to love mine! I must say that the finished product looks so much more attractive in wire than mine used to in wool ha! Excellent detour 😉

    Reply
  17. lululoves

    A new blog? You have been busy! I’ve often seen these little dolls at the fabric store and fancied having a go – but I would never have thought to use beads. I absolutely love what you’ve created, it would make a perfect necklace. Now I’m off to find your new blog. Em xx

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

