Pinterest – Why?

Many of you will know that each week I participate in a ‘link party’ called Handmade Monday. Recently I noticed that when you hovered over the pictures of each contributor with the mouse a

button appeared. I have not yet ventured into Pinterest but. I do realise how potentially useful it can be and therefore thought that it was a good idea. You are meant to be able to add it to WordPress sites and I thought that this would make a great tutorial, howeverΒ  WordPress says no. Sorry. You can add the button to your side bar but no hovering for us I am afraid.

In case you are thinking whatΒ  complete waste of time I do have another purpose to this post and I am throwing it open to you all:

Can you convince me that I should get on Pinterest and that it will not simply just be another drain on my time?

What will I get from it?

What are the benefits?

And anything you else you can think of.

So there you go. I look forward to reading what you have to say. Thank you in advance πŸ™‚

 

 

38 thoughts on “Pinterest – Why?

  1. mariamadeit

    You can’t just sign up, you need an invite or go onto the waiting list.
    You can while away many hours looking at what other people pin.
    You can create your own boards to pin things to, so you can easily find things you’ve liked.
    It is very inspiring to see loads of different pics of things…

    Reply
  2. Clare

    Personally I only got a pintrest to keep all my wedding hair inspiration together, I don’t think ive ventured into it as fully as I could have and to be honest just searching for anything and scrolling through endless pictures is one of my favourite things so I should do that more!

    Reply
  3. offthehookbykeke

    I love Pinterest for organizing my craft patterns, inspirations and other ideas all in one place. It’s only time consuming if you become addicted to browsing pins and boards. Also I can pin some of my own patterns and tutorials that are then shared with others ….which is always great for business! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. pimplyserfect

    I love it for organization and remembering where I saw that great idea. It’s also a way I can do short, microblogs on projects I’ve attempted. People seem to like it for all kinds of reasons. You should definitely give yourself a time limit though. Otherwise, it will hog all of it!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Gertie

    I joined pinterest (I kept calling it pininterest…..) last week after Planetpenny did an article about it last week. Having looked at it, if I’m honest I’m not a big fan.

    I might be missing some thing but all it seems to be is people collecting each others pictures. I have noticed though that there are some tutorials so I might find them useful.

    Overall at the moment it’s not for me. Maybe if I had a reason to be there then I might feel differently xx

    Reply
  6. MissNeriss

    Pinterest is by far my favourite of all the social media platforms. I love the inspiration that I find and it definitely gets better the more people you follow and the more you pin. I began when I was pregnant, searching for baby shower ideas. Now I get a huge buzz when I see images I’ve uploaded being re-pinned. It can be a time sink, but it’s a positive time sink. Lots of pretty pictures and fantastic tutorials. I’ll happily send you an invite if you like?

    BTW, the image you’ve posted above doesn’t work for me 😦

    Reply
  7. nanacathy2

    I joined a couple of weeks ago- I didn’t wait or have an invite. Having done so I haven’t been back! I have enough inspirational stuff around the house, I don’t need to add to it!

    Reply
  8. lovetartan

    I’m a pinner too! I like just looking at things and pinning some of the pictures – the lovely travel ones especially. I also can pin from my website so there is always the chance that it may spur someone into buying something (it’s not happened yet though!)

    Reply
  9. lululoves

    I love Pinterest and I think it can be useful if you blog. Its one of the best sources of inspiration I’ve come across (although this too can have it’s downsides if you trying to come up with original ideas!). But It can also be a time stealer – I try to limit the amount of time I spend on there now as I felt I spent more time pinning than making! But I’ve found many great patterns and blogs via Pinterest and I’ve also gained lots of visitors to my own blog from it. So overall I’d say it’s definitely worth some of your time. Em xx

    Reply
  10. jariester

    Pinterest is the biggest time suck of all the social media! But, I’ve found it’s the perfect thing for me to browse while eating lunch at my desk doing my boring day job. It cheers me up to see all the creative ideas and the pins are so broad that you will find something for any interest. Let us know if you decide to join so we can follow you!

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      That is good a good reason for using it but unfortunately my job is not like that 😦 I shall tell everyone if I do take the plunge don’t worry about that!

      Reply
  11. bekswhoknits

    I have a pintrest account, but I can’t access it at work. So anything I find at work I save to instapaper rather than pintrest.
    I find pintrest helpful for specific tasks rather than just browsing. I recently designed some engagement party and then later some save the date cards for my sister in law, and it was really helpful because we could both access it and get ideas from different websites.

    I do follow a couple of knitting bloggers and so I see really cool patterns. But I’m just as likely to find awesome knitting patterns whilst browsing tumblr than pintrest. Ravelry still wins hands down for me.
    Quotes and stuff like that I’d rather write down in a notebook than pin. But it’s worth trying to see if you like it. If you do join, let me know and I’ll come and have a look. I like following other knitting bloggers.

    Reply
  12. fatmonica

    I like Pinterest but don’t use it as much as I thought I would.It’s useful for if I see something and don’t want to forget where but i find it just as easy to bookmark.

    Reply
  13. feelgoodknitting

    I joined Pinterest when a friend begged me to, but it took me a while to really warm up to it. I’m definitely hooked now. I mostly use it to keep track of things that inspire my designs, things I want to try with my students, and things I want to do to my house.

    Reply
  14. claireabellemakes

    From a business perspective, Pinterest can be a great way to build a brand identity by building a collection of images/links that you wish to associate with. I agree with others, on a personal level it can be a huge time suck, but it’s an indulgence and a great one at that. There are some fantastic craft ideas and recipes on there and pinning your own work can bring a lot of traffic back to your blog or shop. Ultimately, if you limit your time on Pinterest, it can be a very valuable tool.

    I have a book called Pinfluence which you could borrow if interested.

    I also use it as a tool for collating sites and tutorials I’d like to revisit, a virtual pinboard.

    x

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I may just take you up on the offer of having a look at the book. Thank you for your valuable insight. I am beginning to think that I am going to have to give it a try πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  15. Pingback: A huge burst of enthusiasm and ideas. | knitnrun4sanity

  16. Natalie

    I joined, I didn’t have an invite or anything. It is great to look through all the pictures and pin interesting and inspiring things to a board but I never have time to look at the board! In another life, I have an empty day/week/month when I can look through all those things that have inspired me and create to my hearts content – not sure whether in the real world this will ever happen. Join up, if only for a browse, but having followed your blogs for sometime I can tell you now that you a) won’t have time to dedicate to it and b) you’ll be inspired but actually have lots of your owm ideas to work from x

    Reply
  17. Nice piece of work

    I’ve never heard of needing an invitation for Pinterest! I resisted Pinterest for a long time because I felt I already spent too much time in front of the screen, but now that I have, I realise what a great source of inspiration it is. I don’t log in often, maybe once or twice a week at most, but I often pin things from other people’s blogs (you don’t have to log in to do that) which is a great way of keeping all the stuff you want to remember in one place, and also nice to boost someone else’s ideas πŸ™‚

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

