A huge burst of enthusiasm and ideas.

Since I went on my first jewellery making course I have to be honest in that I have been struggling a bit for ideas. At the time I put it down to the world of jewellery being so wide open with so many different variables which I found overwhelming. This weekend however something has ‘clicked’ and I am now bursting with so many ideas that I don’t know where to start or when I am going to get time to do them all before I forget! I have no idea what ’caused’ the change. I am just really grateful and full of energy. As such I am going to keep this post quite short so I can go and get on with the making.

Knitting

I have not got an awful lot to show this week – I hope that there will be a lot more next week. I have spent a lot of time trying to finish a knitting project that I am doing for a book (not my own design). That is nearly finished now 🙂 I can’t show you yet but will in a few months when you will have forgotten all about it ;).

Jewellery

I have to say that I am quite pleased with how my jewellery making has come on this week:

I made this button ring which I love wearing.

I made this button ring which I love wearing.

I also had a go at wire wrapping with this ring.

I also had a go at wire wrapping with this ring.

I have also made a bracelet but as I have yet to blog about this I don’t think it would be fair to share it on here yet. (If you want to see tutorials on these rings and have a go yourself they can be found here and here.)

The final thing that I have to show you is the beginnings of one of my ideas:

upcycled braceletsI took a simple silver wire bracelet and, so far have covered it with thread using crochet. I then crocheted some sewing thread in a different colour along each side. The idea is that I create a range of different sorts of these that can then all be worn together or not as desired. I have at least 4 more different versions in my head and that does not involve different colour versions of this one.

As always I am about to head over to Handmade Harbour to catch up with all the amazingly talented crafters/bloggers over there.

P.S If you have a great argument or strong view on pinterest then please add your comment here. I am trying to work out if it is a good idea to join in or not. 🙂

I hope that you all have an amazing week. x

41 thoughts on “A huge burst of enthusiasm and ideas.

  1. Jan @ Handcrafted by Picto

    I’m not on Pinterest, I find I spend lots of time on the computer already, but, I see the ‘treasuries’ etc and like the look of them. I want to do a facebook art page and would like to open a shop on etsy so I either need to juggle my time or forget about Pinterest for now.
    ( I’m in the Mildenhall area)
    Jan x

    Reply
  2. Bits and Bobs Crafts

    I love the button ring! I crochet over bracelets too, have a chunky one sitting and staring at me at the moment waiting to be transformed. I hunt mine down in charity shops. You’re doing brilliantly with the jewellery course. I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you about the blogging award, I don’t know why but the last 2 weeks have been hectic and I’ve been too tired to get my head around blogging in the evenings. I’m going to try a new approach to social media, so I will get cracking with it this week and blog about the award and pass it on to other deserving people 🙂 xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Hey do not worry. Life has a habit of getting in the way. I too got these bracelets from a charity shop and have had a go at chunky ones too. Great minds and all that 😉

      Reply
  3. freespiritdesigns

    oooh i love your new makes, the button ring is so fun and the wire bracelet with added crochet is a great idea, you are so creative i can’t imagine you ever being short of ideas!

    I was crazy for Pinterest when i first found it, i don’t visit so often now as i could waste lifetimes on there! If you’re a visual type of person though i’d say its a must and you won’t look back one you get started 🙂

    In case you don’t get a chance to revisit my blog and see my reply to your comment, the sailing boat bookmark is for sale for £6.50 or i can make you one to your specs if you wanted – just let me know 🙂 free.spiritdesigns@rocketmail.com

    Reply
      1. lovelucie1

        No, wish i did! I think it must be a bit like blogging. Sometimes nothing to talk about and other times so much to say.
        I think keeping yourself immersed in the works of others, books and classes keeps you inspired and excited about what you do.

        Reply
  4. raphaele42

    I love the wire wrapping ring! I am also very intrigued by the crochet bracelet project, I can’t wait to see where it goes.

    Reply
  5. allnightknits

    Love the wrapped ring and I can’t wait to see how the other projects turn out! I may have to add a jewelry class to my “to do when things settle down” list. 🙂

    Reply
      1. healthyfrenchie

        I’m so glad you had the all clear!
        I find that when my mind is preoccupied by other stressors, I’m either way more creative (hello procrastination) or not creative at all.

        Reply
  6. Ali

    Your rings are absolutely gorgeous. I think your idea of covering the bracelets with crochet is wonderful, I can’t wait to see how they turn out.
    I haven’t forgotten about the award, will post soon.
    Ali x

    Reply
  7. Gertie

    I just love the button ring. No wonder you can’t stop wearing it. Your jewellery is really lovely. So unusual.
    Look forward to seeing your knitting when you finish it xx

    Reply
  8. Dawn Hart

    Wow I love your button ring, I’m on Pintrest and love it, although it is slightly addictive with all the fab knitting patterns and yarnbombing.

    Reply
  9. A Patchwork Life

    I am a bit in love with your button ring! So clever!
    Not sure what to advise about Pinterest. I have joined, mainly because my sister said I should – but don’t really use it, for fear of being sucked in! x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

