Prom Jewellery

This will probably show my age but I didn’t attend a prom when I left secondary school. Did you? Now, it seems like all schools hold one. I have to say that it seems really nice, a bit like a mini wedding. You get all dressed up with a nice dress, get your hair done and organise a special (unusual) way to get there. Fire engines, limousine’s, VW vans etc. I am not sure what my shy and reserved 16-year-old self would think about it but now I think it sounds like fun.
The reason I am writing this is because we are coming into prom season and I was asked to make a bracelet and some earrings for a friend’s daughter. It appears that they had found the perfect dress but had been unable to find the right jewellery to go with it. As the dress has a high neck line a necklace would not work.
I have to say that the responsibility did make me quite nervous but I cracked on anyway.
They entrusted me with the dress so that I could choose the perfect beads. Yes I took it to the shop with me and had some excellent advice from them.
All I needed to do now was to make the pieces.

Knitted prom bracelet

I was undoing this to add a border around the edge so that the beads were a bit more ‘contained’. However a friend that I was with said that it was great as it was. Seeing how she is completely OCD about symmetry I took her advice and left it as it was.

Crochet Earrings. There are some 'proper' crystals in here.

Crochet Earrings. There are some ‘proper’ crystals in here.

As an added extra I recently added a ring as well. I had some beads left over and, having begun to get a bit more comfortable with ‘proper’ jewellery making I was keen to have a go.

The ring!

The ring!

Luckily everything has gone down really well. A huge relief although we did have plenty of time to rectify the situation had it not been.
I am a bit late joining up with Handmade Monday this week as my computer had a bit of an issue with theΒ  internet yesterday. (oh the joys!) I hope you all have a great week. Xx

34 thoughts on “Prom Jewellery

  1. Maria

    My dad was telling me last night how he’s been asked to take some girls to their prom in his lorry(!) and that they are still at primary school(!!) anyhow, love the jewellery and your choice of beads.

    Reply
  2. Martha

    well done on your comissioned jewellery set. i especially love the bracelet – the chocolatey beads are so pretty and when strung on a thin wire – it all looks like as if they were suspended in the air. very nice πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Lucy Blossom

    I didn’t have a prom either – the closest I got was the university May ball. Your jewellery looks lovely, and how nice to be able to make something so unique.

    Reply
  4. Dawn Hart

    They are gorgeous I love the bracelet and ring, I’m not and earring person but they are cute too… So talented…

    We never had Proms when I was at school although my son went to one at his school, I think they were fairly new here then, didn’t really see the point of it to be honest.

    Reply
  5. Ali

    The pieces you’ve created are beautiful. I’m sure friend’s daughter was thrilled with them, she has something unique that she can treasure forever.

    Reply
  6. freespiritdesigns

    oh wow! that bracelet is exquisite! the ring and earrings are so beautiful too, i’m sure you have made a young lady very happy πŸ™‚

    p.s. i’m glad your Dad liked his bookmark! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. bekswhoknits

    you were the one who inspired me to buy some jewelery making supplies on the weekend.
    Do you have any recommendations for tutotials which you’ve found useful? I know that you went to a class, but is there anything online you’d recommend?

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Hmmm. Now you are asking… What sorts of things are you hoping to make? I would download this: http://www.keepandshare.com/doc/1592990/jewellery-making-basics-handout-pdf-december-3-2009-9-01-pm-125k?da=y as it gives you some key skills. Then here http://www.spoiltrottenbeads.co.uk/beading-projects-b168490.html are a whole lot of project instructions. I only suggest these because I know this website really well as I write their blog. Jewellery Maker also has some tutorials etc on youtube. Hope that some of this helps? Good luck – I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

      Reply
  8. Alison Rimmer

    I am too old to have had a prom too! I love the colours in your prom jewellery – a very lovely unique set of memory pieces for the lucky girl. x (Patchwork Fairy)

    Reply
  9. raphaele42

    This bracelet is gorgeous. I think too you made the right choice: with an edge it would have looked less “foamy” (I miss some English words to express my thoughts here). It surely did look stunning on the girl. Any chance of a picture?

    Reply
  10. Stephen @ Soy of the North

    The year I left school was the first year a end of year prom was held instead of the usual end of year disco. So many of the students, (included myself), thought the idea of a formal event was silly. Only 2 tickets got sold so it got cancelled πŸ˜€

    It shouldn’t be called a prom anyway since that is an American term. At least your friend’s daughter will be going with some very beautiful jewellery πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. lululoves

    No prom for me either 😦 Although probably just as well as I was a terrible tomboy at that age! The jewellery set is beautiful – what a wonderful commission and a very lucky recipient to have a handmade set for her prom. Em xx

    Reply
  12. Simmi

    Gorgeous bracelet – I LOVE it!! The earrings are pretty, but the bracelet really caught my eye – out of interest, how much would you charge for one similar? Simmi x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

