Lino Printing

On Tuesday my friend  and I went to a lino print class at the new and upcoming local studio called Betty Makes. I am going to be very honest here and say that I didn’t really know what I was letting myself in for but I thought that it was:

  1. a craft
  2. a great chance to have a quiet time dedicated to it
  3. a chance to try something new
  4. a time to meet some new people

In other words definitely worth a go.

I shall not hold you in suspense: I loved it.

The Environment

It was very easy to find with plenty of free parking nearby. The studio itself is beautiful. There is a whole wall of windows giving it a lovely bright and airy feel with plenty of lovely light. The decor was  simple with carefully chosen pieces of furniture.

https://i0.wp.com/www.bettymakes.co.uk/communities/2/004/011/829/292//images/4593795422_346x232.jpg

The Hospitality

We were given a very warm welcome. After introductions we were then offered tea or coffee which was served in proper tea cups (with saucers!). There was  also a  tea-pot and a milk jug. Very civilized. The mats were hand crocheted! Crucially here were plenty of refills on offer throughout the evening as well as the obligatory cakes.

The Class

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=e7aeb91453&view=att&th=13f7b60a980a0b81&attid=0.8&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_mW6PugsQ4oadcCTJDRc63&sadet=1372185972946&sads=kNlQhYlwpPM9-N1II8q_OkYPMVY&sadssc=1

It was very well organised. Everything was laid out all ready for us on arrival. The instructions were very clear and we started very quickly (no messing about at all!)

https://i0.wp.com/www.bettymakes.co.uk/communities/2/004/011/829/292//images/4594569793_334x224.jpg

This is some of us happily beavering away.

We were all able to work at our own pace and there was plenty of guidance and advice when we needed. Jean-Mary is a lovely instructor, calm, kind and very encouraging.

The Future

One of the things that I really liked about this is the many different applications that it has. Jean-Mary had printed her logo out and did a great impression of it. She is going to print it onto paper bags. This is one use. On the way home Joanne and I were thinking of all the other applications such as wording for cards, labels, bags, packaging….the list is endless. Lets just say we have already ordered our own resources!

https://i0.wp.com/www.bettymakes.co.uk/communities/2/004/011/829/292//images/4594569830_336x225.jpg

This is us with our finished tea towels. We all managed it.

If you have not done lino printing I suggest that you do have a go. Also do go and over and have a look the Betty Makes website and, if you are local keep a check out for classes. It is definitely a lovely way to try your hand out at something new.

Have you been to any new classes recently and learnt something new? I would love to hear about it.

All the photographs here are taken from the Betty Makes Website with permission. Thank you.

21 thoughts on “Lino Printing

  1. lovelucie1

    Sooo jealous. I would love to be in a class learning a new craft.
    I’ve booked my daughter (12yrs) onto a week’s bread and baking course in the summer holidays. Completely jealous of that too. I will make a conserted effort to track something down for myself.

    Reply
  2. Jean-Mary

    What a lovely blog post – you’re very good at engaging your audience.

    Thank you so much for your kind words, I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself and you’ve caught the lino printing bug!

    I really enjoyed meeting you and the other ladies and loved your design!

    Hope to see you at another workshop sometime! Xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thank you. I very much enjoyed it. I see someone has signed up for another one soon 🙂 I am very intrigued by your mystery craft evenings. They look like a lot of fun. Great idea.

      Reply
  3. Gertie

    A blast from the past !!!! I haven’t done lino printing since art class at school – I did a windmill….
    You’re so lucky to have great classes and workshops in your area. There’s hardly any good ones were I live. What are you going to do next xx

    Reply
  4. cinnamoncottage

    Fabulous!!! I was also planning on trying this in my daughters room – I’ve bought some plain cotton blinds and will be printing ice creams on it ( she wants a seaside vintage room)
    Any tips you can give me would be great – I saw it on Kirstie’s Vintage Home and loved the idea 😊

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      The only tip that I can think of is you need to decide whether you want the ice creams to be raised or ‘holow’ with the raised bits around it!!Hope that makes a tiny bit of sense?

      Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

