Broomstick Crochet

I am really pleased to say that I feel that I am getting the hang of this technique although it is quite a slow process (despite being told otherwise).

This is just over one evenings work.

This is just over one evenings work.

I do love the effect though. One thing that I have learnt is that you need to be careful which way you twist the stitches as they come off the ‘broomstick’ (I do not use an actual broomstick in case you are wondering – I use a ladle.) Other than that it is quite ‘easy’. You only need to know how to dc (UK terms).

The book that I learnt from is one I picked up in a second-hand bookshop.

It was published in 1981

It was published in 1981

As you can see from the cover it has lots of lovely photos. Patterns in it include a Fluffy Bed Cape and a baby matinee set. I don’t really mind – I was interested in the first two pages:

Broomstick crochet instructionsApparently this technique originated in the UK and was taken to the US in the 1600’s by the Pilgrim fathers.

I shall keep you updated on my progress. Have you ever had a go at it? I would love to see.

Why not pop over to Handmade Harbour with me and find a lot more lovely crafty blogs?

Have a great week šŸ™‚

45 thoughts on “Broomstick Crochet

  1. Gertie

    I’ve never heard of broomstick crocheting. However it’s certainly a beautiful stitch. It looks really complicated though. I can’t believe you did all that in just one evening. Wow!!!

    Are you planning to make something using this stitch xx

    Reply
  2. Claire Cooper

    That looks interesting. I’m in the middle of some crochet at the moment and hop to have it finished soon! I’d like to have a go at the broomstick type. I am remembering how long it actually takes to do crochet though!

    Reply
  3. Lilly's Mom

    This brings back memories of my Grandma who used to do this stitch years ago. It’s really lovely with the type of yarn (thread) you used. Beautiful design.

    Reply
  4. Jodiebodie

    I have tried broomstick crochet and had a lot of fun experimenting with increases and decreases etc. There is a lot of room for creativity. However I haven’t completed a single project with it yet! I have also read that it is a good stitch to use with tape yarns as it shows them off very well.

    Reply
  5. Patty

    I’ve never heard of this stitch, but it looks amazing. I bet what ever you decide to do with it, it will look gorgeous šŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. freespiritdesigns

    oooh your sample looks very pretty! I look forward to seeing what you will turn it into.

    I don’t know much about crochet but it does look very intricate, i imagine i’d get myself in a knot in know time! x

    Reply
  7. sue

    I love broomstick crochet – haven’t done it for years though! A lady whose husband I worked with at the Scout Association taught me along with some other friends – her husband bought a couply of slim broom handles, cut them down to about 12 inches and sanded off the ends for all of us and I’ve still got mine! Sue

    Reply
  8. fiddlyfingers

    I like what you have achieved in the photograph. I did try a bit of this but couldn’t really find a use for it (but no doubt a lot of others could!!) so never tried again. Maybe I’ll come back to it one day šŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. A Patchwork Life

    looks like you’ve absolutely cracked it! Such a pretty, delicate stitch and I’d never heard of it either till you mentioned it last week – probably beyond my limited crochet skills though! Love the photos in old knitting/crochet patterns – is there a pic of the fluffy bed cape? šŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Ali

    You’ve got me really confused you don’t use a broomstick but a ladle. Well whatever your using the result is beautiful. The stitches look really pretty. Have a lovely week.
    Ali x

    Reply
  11. lululoves

    Beautiful – well done for picking it up so quickly. I’ve often admired this stitch from afar – I may have to try it just out of curiosity. Did you find it awkward? Em xx

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

