Hootsuite

I realised that I have not introduced you to Hootsuite. What is hootsuite? Well it is a social media platform that allows you to manage your twitter accounts (yes ‘s’ as in if you have work related accounts and private for example) as well as Facebook accounts google+ linked in etc.

What it allows you to do is to follow several different feeds on one page of your computer. eg: One of pages has my general feed / mentions / and Direct messages all on the same page:

https://knitnrun4sanity.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/126ad-hootsuite1.jpg

So here you can see the different feeds that this person has chosen to follow, all on one page. At the top there is a box where you can compose and send your own tweets / updates.

As in Twitter you can easily retweet tweets and edit them before should you wish. You can favourite tweets, dm people and share. In short all the things that you should would expect.

You can also have several tabs like the page above thus increasing the feeds that you can follow. I, for example follow some # on twitter, namely #wirecrochet and the like. This means that I can easily connect with other people doing similar things to me even though I don’t necessarily follow them previously. I have found some lovely people to follow this way. Another one of my tabs is dedicated to Facebook. It is really easy to jiggle between the different feeds as they are all there on the screen in front of you.

The other thing that I love about Hootsuite is the fact that you can schedule tweets in a similar way you can schedule blog posts. Therefore I can schedule tweets containing links about a latest blog post throughout the day. I can choose the time myself manually or allow it to automatically schedule them in according to the time it feels is your most prime time.

One final feature that I particularly like is the little Hootlet that sits on my toolbar:

This cute little owl allows me to compose a tweet on the page that I am on – putting the link in automatically allowing me to share things easily, as I find them.

The final great thing about this program is that it is free and it comes with a mobile version so I have it on my phone too. There are other versions that do similar things such as buffer which I know some of my friends use but I like my Hootlet and as I use it feel able to share some of the workings with you.

Do you use anything like this? If so what are the advantages that you find best?

(This is in no way a sponsored post – it is all my own views and opinions.)

8 thoughts on “Hootsuite

  1. *Wisher*

    OMG.. Such high tech application… 😀
    thank you for sharing this.. I don’t even know this exist.. i’m such a dummy when it comes to technology.. 😦

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Tools for Auto Tweeting | The Tech Lady from Texas Blog

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

