Please Help Me.

I have a bit of a conundrum about this blog. As you are the ones that read this (and for which I am very grateful) I thought it best that I share this with you and allow you to share your views with me.

In the beginning…

The name of this blog is knitnrun4sanity. I started out writing about my knitting, crochet and running. Simple and fairly self-explanatory. Occasionally I would write about something completely random but mostly I stuck to the identified topics.

Then….

A few months ago I took the step to write about blogging, how to set it up, tips that I have learnt etc. Nothing to do with the title directly but, according to the feedback and comments, something that people found useful.

Now…..

Even more recently I started writing the Blog for a bead shop called Spoilt Rotten Beads. In order to write that blog I have been making jewellery. Not knitting, not crochet and not running. I aim to write three posts a week for both blogs. Something which most of you will be aware takes a lot of time, especially when you consider the time it takes to make, photograph and research items and subjects for each of these posts.

So the problem is….

  1. I have spent a lot of time building up this blog. I enjoy the relationships and interactions that come from this and I am reluctant to stop.
  2. I also am enjoying building up the other blog and want to give it my full energy and effort that it deserves. (I am not being paid but, in a way, I feel like it is a paid job.)
  3. The summer holidays are coming up and my time will be way more limited with three children running around all day.
  4. I have come to write my Handmade Monday post and have not got nearly as far on with my broomstick Crochet as I would have liked to. This makes me feel sad and as if I am letting people down as the content is not really as it should be.

So do I……

  • Go for more of a crossover between the blogs? This is something that I have been trying to limit as far as possible because :
  1. I am worried that my content is becoming too broad and therefore the readers will start to feel that they are no longer getting what they signed up to get.
  2. The name no – longer reflects what I am writing about.
  • Change the name of this blog so I can write about all the things without feeling that I am duping anyone e.g: knitnrunnbead4sanity? (except for all the wonderful people who have already signed up to follow me before the change.)
  • Do nothing and carry on as before?
  • Change the name to an umbrella term such as Uniquely Alice which is the name of the shop that is almost, but yet to open? (I have also just got a load of business cards with knitnrun4sanity all over them)
  • Reduce the number of posts I do? (which feels a bit like neglect to me).

And Finally

I follow a lot of blogs….a lot of very interesting blogs that I enjoy very much. There are a lot more out there that I would like to follow but, at the moment I am struggling to keep up with all the ones I am already following. In short I am spending too long doing all this ‘blogging’ but am unable to see (or unwilling) to know what to change. Maybe I don’t really need to do anything.

I cannot be the only person who feels like this, or has been through this before. Can I?

I would really, really love to know what your views on this whole conundrum is.

Before I go this is the progress on the broomstick crochet diary cover. The broomstick crochet is all done (I really enjoyed that part). I am now on the more mundane part of trying to fit it onto the cover of the diary.

The front.

The front.

The inside

The inside

I also made a bracelet for a christening but that is not crochet, knitting, running or blogging so not sure if I can show that on here yet πŸ˜‰

I am now going to head over to Handmade Harbour where there are people who know what they are doing. I shall now spend a happy hour or so catching up with their makes this week. Fancy joining me?

73 thoughts on “Please Help Me.

  1. Nice piece of work

    Yes, I know the feeling – there are too many things to spread yourself across, and you feel like you’re not getting any one thing done properly? πŸ™‚
    I think it’s great that you’re getting into the jewellery blogging, and clearly that’s a great new interest for you as well – why don’t you do the jewellery blog 2x a week and your own blog (leaving it as KnitRun4Sanity, with Uniquely Alice as the strapline) minimum once a week, with an extra post if you can fit it in? That way, you are doing at least 3 posts a week, which is a lot by anyone’s standards, and particularly as it’s not the only thing that keeps you occupied!
    Time to remind yourself – this is all supposed to be for enjoyment (the blogging, the networking, the jewellery-making, etc), so don’t let it become another STRESS πŸ™‚
    You control your activities, not the other way round.

    Reply
  2. e1aine

    I faced this conundrum too. Initially I only started the blog to support my daughter who had to start one as part of her uni degree. It was very broad, then became about my jewellery (it was never intended). Now I have a fair few followers who don’t get what they signed up for. I also follow people who have changed tack too. Sometimes I go off on a complete tangent.
    My advice would be don’t worry. I do wonder when people ‘disappear’ for a while, but it doesn’t require an apology. We all have busy lives to lead and we don’t want this to become a chore!
    Do it the way you enjoy.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thanks for that. I don’t think that I had really thought about it from the reverse. I don’t mind what people blog about – I enjoy the ideas and finding out a bit more about them. Thanks for your suggestions. xx

      Reply
  3. Love Natalie

    Hmmmmm, a tricky one! I think you should leave this blog as it is (name and all) as it reflects the “personal” you, and continue the other blog as it’s the “professional” you. I know what you mean about the time involved – the more you read, the more you want to read and that takes up valuable crafting time! I write my post and link it to Handmade Monday and then spend 1 to 2 hours following links. If I can, I do this again once more in the week but thats all. Perhaps you just need to be a little stricter with your time? I too wonder how much I’ll get done blog/craft wise during the holidays. I’ve been thinking about drafting posts when I think I’ve got time for later publishing maybe? Watch this space!

    Reply
  4. creative pixie

    Blogging shouldn’t be a chore. Just do posts as and when you can, people do understand that you have a life to live.

    Reply
  5. PearlyPea

    It is your blog, so really you can write whatever you like and as often or infrequently as you like. Maybe you could change the description, “Running, knitting, crocheting and blogging along” to something broader? I probably need to do the same with my blog, as sometimes I don’t blog because I feel it doesn’t fit in with what my blog is… but in the end, if it’s my blog surely I can write about whatever I want? That was a little circular, but I hope it makes some sense :o)

    Reply
  6. Cat

    Wish I could help, but I never even solved the problem I have myself. The name Cat’s Wire was there before I even started thinking about having a shop and blogging. Then there was the clay – serious time out on that – and then came the bead looming.
    I decided I can put that in the description, but write about what I want. If people want to follow, they will, if not, well, it’s everyone’s own decision. After all you don’t have to read each post, and that’s fine by me, as a blogger and as a blog reader.

    Reply
  7. Red Hen

    I think you should have two blogs. One for business-totally focussed on your products. It should have more static pages displaying your products, about you, gallery etc and a bi weekly updated smaller blog section could keep it refreshed and updated.

    Link it to that site to this blog maybe?

    Keep this blog for the fun bits you really enjoy. Most of our blogs evolve, I expect. It`s nice to follow the change in the person`s interests but then it`s more cyber friends rather than strictly customers who will do that.

    Maybe plan out your new business website over the next few weeks?
    `
    It`s difficult to keep up the reading/writing thing. It`s an addiction and a time sucker all at once.
    So don`t beat yourself up over it. Whatever you need to focus on most now, do it. Everything else can wait-including us, your loyal readers!

    Read Stephen Covey`s “Seven Habits” if you get a chance. And I think you recommended Michael Hyatt`s “Platform:Get Noticed in a Noisy World” about blogging for business? It`s excellent.

    Just don`t read my blog as an example of how to do it. I`m evolving too. At least, that`s my excuse!

    Reply
      1. Red Hen

        Your business depends on your laptop activity though. But I`ll bet you can develop the discipline-or find the ap-that will help you give it the time it needs.

        Reply
  8. Alison Rimmer

    I would never think anything was wrong if I read about your jewellery making on a blog called knitnrun! I don’t think your blog title has to be narrowly prescriptive and it makes it more interesting to read about diverse interests as well as snippets from people’s lives. 6 blog posts a week is a lot I think – as you point out – it takes time to write and your readers’ time to keep up so reducing your posts might make everything feels less stressful. xxx (patchwork Fairy)

    Reply
  9. musingrunner

    I have only been blogging for a few weeks, but I have been reading blogs for years. What I like to see in a blog is a mish mash of a person’s life – their interests, travels, and whatever other details that they feel like sharing. I say blog about what makes you happy!

    Reply
  10. little red monkey

    Uniquely Alice is a lovely name for a shop, you could alway put one of the names in the tag line. It would make sense for your shop and blog to have the same name, but it is easy to get around by the above.

    As for contents, post everything on your blog, I am not an all interested in running myself, but still read you running posts. And I have been thinking of dusting off my jewellery making tools since reading your jewellery posts!

    I suppose what I am trying to say is just write whatever feels relevant to you, and maybe change the tag line of your blog to reflect this x

    Reply
  11. Jill Spain (@JillSpain)

    Blogging is a very personal, and difficult, thing to manage. Sometime last year (I think it was) I had feedback that the personal snippets I included in my blog were not of interest to several readers and because of this I changed the way I blogged. I either left out the personal bits or added them at the end. However, this was not me, and at the end of the day my blog is me, so I went back to how I always blogged, a mix of my craft world and my personal world. I know this may not help you in your dilemma, but my recommendation is don’t make changes that you feel pressured into making, it’s your blog, go with what you are happiest with. Life, blogs and our business are always changing, developing and moving so If it means another blog, is that a problem? I have just started a wedding stationery blog because I felt it needed a separate identity to my other crafting – will it take off? I don’t know, but it will be great fun trying it out. Hope you have a good week and I am really looking forward to seeing what you decide to do.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I think that the idea of you wedding blog is a really good one as it seems to be an area where you are growing. I am glad that you stuck to your guns about your content. I like to find out about the people behind the blog. xx

      Reply
  12. raphaele42

    This is a usual problem as most blog grow organically, following their author’s path. You should just go as you feel like, I don’t see why you couldn’t keep the name (which is your trademark) and blog about whatever you want, even shop related stuff. Then the name you got for your shop is brilliant, keep it for the shop only. Nowadays it is quite usual to have people blogging broadly about their life, interests and business with a more focus shop on the side. At least that is what i do and I even plan to broaden my blog content line πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. Clare

    I like the range of posts you’re doing now, and im not convinced if i was you i’d bother changing the name of the blog either but thats maybe because I will read anything vaguely crafty or lifestyle related and not JUST knitting/crochet blogs, once i’m following i read everything that comes up on my dashboard daily anyway so don’t pay too much attention to whether the blog title relates to the post…

    But I can see where getting new followers it might be a little more critical

    Reply
  14. nanacathy2

    Hmm- see your problem- mine is that I have run out of space on mine and don’t wish to pay for an upgrade- dilemma! And writing and reading is very time consuming! I think the only thing to do is to go back to basics and ask the Question Why Blog? Now to follow my own advice!!!

    Reply
  15. lululoves

    I think you should do whatever feels right for you. Your readers come here because they enjoy reading and engaging with your posts.

    I understand how you feel completely as I had the same issues a while ago. I felt the name of my blog was no longer relevant (it started out as a blog about my adventures with Lulu at home) and that I should be posting more regularly. It lasted a couple of weeks before I failed. So I removed the pressure and decided I would post when I was ready. I even stopped posting to handmade home, even though I loved it, because I found it too stressful to get my posts done over the weekend and then felt I had to visit each blog. I think letting go of that pressure is the only reason I’ve managed to run my blog for so long now.

    I know that a lot of people like more regular posts but we can only do what we can do. Posts take a lot of time and are unpaid. They have to fit around your life. I think people will understand if you decide to post less and still look forward to reading your posts – I know I will.

    Em xx

    Reply
  16. Dr Dorothy Griffiths

    Hi I have been following you for ages and have a similar problem. Am new to crafting and wanting to try new things out. Can knit but can only do a little crochet and sewing. Hope you don’t mind but have mentioned you in my blog and added you as a favourite. I think your blog is fab and love reading your posts so wouldn’t worry. Also blogging takes a lot of time and we are all human, you do a great job.
    Lots of love
    Dorothy
    :-)xxxxx
    crochetknittingsewing.blogspot.com
    Dorothy’s Room

    Reply
  17. Lucy Blossom

    I don’t think you need to change the name of your blog, as its personal to you. I can’t say I’ve noticed that its not much about knitting, running, or sanity (something I lack :p) I just take people’s blog names as what they’ve chosen to call it – I’ve never expected it to contain what’s in the name. At the end of the day you have to feel comfortable with it. People who like your posts won’t care what its called – we’ll like you anyway.

    Reply
  18. little poppits

    Oh I know just how you feel. I love blogging but it seems to take up all my time! I don’t post as often as I want to now or read and comment on other blogs as often as I’d like too. I’ve just been setting up my shop which has taken me away from blogging even more, as you know creating all your own stock takes ages!
    most people seem to say you should enjoy it and not get so worked up, but I always find that so hard, especially when trying to fit in 3 kiddies and a husband!!
    I think you should leave it as it is and chill out (or try!)! every one will understand. xxxxx

    Reply
  19. lovetartan

    I am sort of in the same dilemma as I am more blogging about my photography stuff and not so often jewellery and less often hair! I wondered about starting another block for that separately but then wondered if I’d have time for the 2. After reading the above comments I think I’ll change the ‘about’ details to incorporate the photography just now and try and make it a more general blog about everything than specific. (This is unconnected, but is there a way I can change the address of my blog to lovetartan – just now you can search for that and it will take you there but it’s still under the old mcrafts the blog address?) Mich x

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      OH. I had not made the connection concsiously. Duh. I am not sure but I know someone who did but I am not sure if she changed her blog totally. I shall ask.

      Reply
  20. Wendy

    It’s an interesting dilemma and one a lot of us have come up against. I set up a new blog after feeling my business blog wasn’t the right place for everything else I was saying – and my new blog is evolving into a new business (which had been bubbling slowly in my mind for a while). I don’t see a problem though with your blog name not announcing your jewellery – I think people who read craft blogs understand that crossover. The thing is whether to have a separate business blog (for SEO) – which might be a good business move (and you can link between the two for more SEO!!). Whether you want to maintain the two is a whole different dilemma in itself (I am currently floundering with this part)! Good luck with your decision – whatever it is you have blog friends out here who will read it with interest! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  21. claireabellemakes

    I have found it very interesting to read other people’s responses to your dilemma and it seems the theme is to do what is right for you.

    Rebranding under one name might give you a refreshed start and then you would have only one space to worry about. I see some people who do many different blogs for lots of topics and wonder how realistic it is to create great content in so many areas. However, they do often prove me wrong, but that’s not something I could ever find the time for.

    I combine my craft blog with personal posts and news about my shop. I feel this works for me, as those who follow me for my shop will get an insight into the rest of my world and learn a little bit about who I am and what I value. In a business sense, I feel this helps with my branding and core values.

    I agree with Em (Lulu Loves) – The pressure to post is only there because you allow it to be.Your readers come because they enjoy what you share and if any changes are made, the good ones will stick with you! You never know, sometimes with a change, it can bring new followers!!

    The trouble is, you are multi-talented (knitting, beading, jewellery, crochet, running) and you have too much to share!! πŸ™‚

    Good luck whatever you choose to do!

    Reply
  22. Alison Willcocks

    Oooh! What a dilema! I’m with you on this completely, but how to solve it?

    I think firstly you have to ask yourself why you are blogging and what you are hoping to achieve. Answering this question honestly may be all that is needed for you to make a decision (if only life were so simple! lol). Perhaps make a list of the pros and cons for each choice/blog, this often helps to clarify things.

    Restricting the amount of posts to one a week for each blog and a link to the others may help with time management.

    As for the name, that is a difficult one too. I don’t think it matters for personal blogging but I do think getting to know a name and liking the person behind that name is a good way to build up followers and keep them. Readers know who you are and even if they don’t want to read a particular post, they will always pop back another time.

    Good luck, and remember, enjoyment comes first!!!

    Reply
  23. salpal1

    Keep the name. Blog about what you are doing. For the business one, I agree with the person who said keep some static pictures on that and update once a week or so with news. Don’t let that one slide if it really is attached to your business, as customers will depend on it for news.
    But this one, the one that is all you – what ever you are interested in or working on at the time, does not need to change, it just needs to become manageable for you. Personally, I write about whatever, but I said I would when I started my blog. But I also like to read whatever, too. So I am interested in seeing what other creative people are making or doing with their time. It gives me new ideas. So keep on writing, I will read it no matter what. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  24. Catherine

    I know just where you’re coming from. I’ve been doing a lot of rejigging around here recently. I’m having lots of fun and have a post this week about why the most important person you write for is you. That’s what makes your blog authentic that it is so you. And what keeps it you is the content,variety is good. I think you should just go with whatever it is your gut is telling you to do – because you know deep down that the answer’s already there. And the name well, I like knits n runs – you could always add a little line of – and lots of other things too.
    Whatever you decide if you’re happy with it and not stressed then it’s the way to go. Cx

    Reply
  25. freespiritdesigns

    I think knitrun4sanity is a great name that’s unique and memorable – i understand why you’re worried about not all your posts strictly fitting in with it but as a reader i really don’t think it matters too much. It doesn’t take long to look at a blog and work out the kind of things to expect there – i know you write about a variety of crafty things and i’m happy to read about all of them!

    If you find you have too much on your plate, why not do your HM post every other week instead of every week…? At least the routine is still there and readers know what to expect and you’d have more time to out together posts you’re happy with… (its so time consuming blogging about crafting isn’t it, because you have to do all the crafting before you can even start writing anything! :))

    hope this helps! xxx

    Reply
  26. feelgoodknitting

    I like the idea of renaming the blog to something more generic. I don’t make jewelry (although I’d kind of like to) and can’t run nearly as well as you, but I still like reading about that stuff occasionally. I’m not bothered by the fact that you post about a variety of topics.

    Reply
  27. bekswhoknits

    I was all about to say keep your identity until you said uniquely alice.
    I love that name.
    Obviously I have a preference for a generic name mostly because it gives me the freedom to write about new things and blog to my own beat.

    I wrote about this exact topic about 2 years ago, when I was musicfoodlife and had just starting knitting (you probably didn’t even know me then!) and wanted to write about knitting.

    Ultimately it depends on what your aim is. Blogging began as a way for me to deal with depression and keep myself in check and busy. I have to remember that when it becomes a chore, or I don’t have anything to write about because it usually means that I’m not doing so well. So you need to figure out why you blog and it will probably all come from there.
    I wouldn’t worry about readers too much. If they like your content then great, if they don’t like a bit of it they can skip over it, OR they make be a knitter who sees your awesome jewellery and is inspired!

    I’m rambling a bit now, so in summary.
    – blog however you want
    – i really like the name Uniquely Alice (even if I can’t spell properly)
    – Even if you want to change, you can try it out for a while and if you don’t like it change it back. (wordpress and twitter both let you do this) This is the internet. We can cope.

    xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thanks so much for this. It has made me think a lot. I think that maybe that you have been very insightful. I am struggling a bit at the moment outside of blogging which maybe why this post came about. I am really good at setting myself tight rules and regulations which get worse the worse I feel in myself.
      No I didn’t know you before. Just off to check out your post now. xx

      Reply
  28. The Knitterly Hooker

    That was a mouthful! I think you should find balance. If you feel you need to make a second blog then do so. Dedicate specific times for each blog you’re maintaining. Dedicate specific time to read and comment on the blogs you follow… They work as hard as you do for a following. In either blog, just remain passionate about creating, no matter the craft.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Such great advice. I comment on every blog I read as I know how important it is to the writer.I also visit every blog that likes and comments on my blog – I see this as an important part of the whole blogging thing – building relationships. Thanks for taking the time to share your wisdom. xx

      Reply
  29. lovelucie1

    Wow, you have a huge amount of feedback to this blog post! There are obviously alot of us that enjoy what you do so don’t change too much.
    I think we all follow so many blogs and I for one don’t count how many posts each bloggers puts out.
    I suppose it depends why you blog. You probably blog on each site for completely different reasons.
    My advice would be to take the pressure off. Reduce, but don’t stop, the posts to this blog for a while. Maybe intersperse longer posts with quick photos and one liners to remind us all you are still here. Don’t let it become a chore; an addition to the ‘to do’ list. We all have enough to do without that and I am my own worst enemy where that is concerned. Lucie x

    Reply
  30. Pickle-Lily

    I too, quite understand. Lately I’ve struggled to blog as my day job has been so demanding, let alone family life! I do it because I enjoy it, and that’s what I keep in mind, if I can’t post it’s not the end of the world, I’ll post when I can. It’s what feels right to you. I enjoy reading your blog, Jo x

    Reply
  31. laurenmaria84

    I’d say change the name or do nothing, you’ve still got your readers so they obv don’t mind the change in your content.
    As for too much blogging, I’m the same I struggle to keep up with all the blogs I follow!

    Reply
  32. Ali

    Wow you’ve spent so much time thinking about this. I honestly don’t know how you find the time to blog so much with 3 children. I think you do an amazing job and I enjoy reading all your posts. I don’t always comment as I read them on my tablet and it’s a nightmare to type on. I also find it difficult to follow lots of blogs and at times feel I neglect some of them. I enjoy reading about your craftying and running (which I don’t do). I think by doing that people enjoy the fact your sharing more of yourself. I don’t think you should change the name. I love the name Uniquely Alice and you could always add a link to your shop on the blog.
    I hope you have a lovely weekend and don’t worry too much about the blog. It’s wonderful.
    Ali x

    Reply
  33. Pingback: Thank you! | knitnrun4sanity

  34. Lottie Of London

    I’ve only just read this post as last week I was so busy i couldn’t catch up with handmade Monday or any other posts. Personally I decided a long time ago to aim for one main blog post a week and occasionally I just don’t have time for that but like you I do feel guilty. With regards to your new hobbies and the name of your current blog name I’ve never felt that the name of your blog personally represented you I love reading about your crafts and obviously your running posts but lately I have also enjoyed your jewellery and beading posts either on here or your other blog, I think its nice to see how you are evolving as a crafter and I don’t see any problem with you broadening the subject matter of your blog πŸ™‚

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

