Thank you!

A really, really huge thank you to all of you who took the time to comment and share your views on my post last week. The care and time that you put into them was truly amazing and a great help. At the moment I am going to continue as I am, more or less but let me share some of the key points that came up. The first is a really core one and one that I will attempt to not forget in the future:

Blogging is for fun. It is meant to be enjoyable, not a stress or a chore!

I am going to remember this. I love the whole blogging ‘world’ and can no longer imagine life without it but that doesn’t mean that it is the only part of my life. It therefore has to fit in as and when it can.

The second point that I had failed to take into consideration was that I read blogs that change. It doesn’t mean that I stop reading. I tend to build up a relationship with them and so are interested in whatever they write about. It is simply like having varied conversations with them. I therefore need to stop worrying so much. I don’t stop and think whether each post is relevant to what I signed up to and doubt that many others do either.

Finally someone made me realise that the whole issue was more likely down to me and the way I was feeling rather than an actual problem with the blog. I had been feeling a little bit down. Once I had realised this it was a bit like having the cloud lifted. Things were nowhere near as bad as I had made them out to be.

So again, a huge thank you. It is much appreciated.

And my makes:

I have also found more time to crochet this week πŸ™‚ My broomstick crochet diary cover has been completed.

The free form fitting over the diary itself was quite tricky and got better as I went on. The inside back is therefore slightly better than the front. It doesn’t stop me loving it however. I can’t wait to start using it properly (it is an academic diary).

AND….

Yes there is an and. I also managed to have a go in wire and made this wire cuff (admittedly not quite finished yet.)

Broomstick cuffI have quite a few more ideas of ways to use this design which I hope I will get around to this week.

Just one last thing before I head off over to handmade Harbour to see what everyone else has been up to this week: if you like knitting you may appreciate this link which was sent to me on twitter.

Hope you all have a fab week. xx

 

 

51 thoughts on “Thank you!

  1. highland monkeys

    Broomstick crochet, another thing I will have to google. The amount of various stitches is amazing and how you can transform a length of ordinary yarn, be it wooly or wire, is very inspiring.

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      Thanks. Broomstick crochet just involves pulling the stitches over a stick to make loops. You then take them off in ‘bunches’ and dc across the top. Hope that makes sense?

      Reply
  2. Wendy

    Aren’t bloggers a fabulous lot? I love how you can ask a question and get such good feedback. Your crochet looks really good, as usual.

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    I struggle to find the time (and things to write about) to blog regularly….But really enjoy it when I do….AND more so when I make the time to read other blogs too!!!
    Am looking forward to seeing your finished bracelet!!
    S x

    Reply
  4. Gertie

    Glad to see you’ve managed to come to a decision about your blogging.
    Love the broomstick crocheting. It looks so complicated. Thought the knitting link was so funny xx

    Reply
  5. tgonzales

    I know I’m one who is glad to be part of the wonderful world of blogging. Lots of very sweet people out there and by the way I love the broomstick lace cover. Very cool. Thanks for sharing you! πŸ™‚ Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  6. Cocoa & Heart

    Wow, I had to re-read couple of your blog post to get the gist of what has changes since the last time I visited – and first of all your blog looks great. Secondly – you are definitely not the only one who is blogging away and then realising that perhaps second blog is necessary ( I have now 3 and 4th is firming up).

    Reply
  7. mrsbrownmakes

    Your blog looks lovely (changed since I last stopped by I think), and no matter what you’re writing about people will always respond to honesty… but I’m sure you already know this! Broomstick crochet is definitely one added to my list of “things to try when I have time”. x

    Reply
  8. Mlissabeth

    The broomstick crochet and the cuff both look great. I like your summary of the main points you got from peoples’ comments, and can easily identify with those points, even if I didn’t comment last post. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  9. allnightknits

    As always I love your projects. I am glad that your cloud has lifted! πŸ™‚ It is so easy to get down on ourselves or worry about every little thing but just remember – no matter what you do, I am going to follow your words. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Maryanne

    Sorry I missed your discussion but your broomstick crochet is SUPERB! Keep up all your amazing blogging, your work and thank you for your warm spirit xxx

    Reply
  11. lululoves

    Your broomstick cover looks brilliant – I love the way it worked up in the wire too, will make a striking cuff. Ps loved the link gave me a good laugh this morning :)) Em xx

    Reply
  12. Catherine

    Good to hear you’re over the blip – that broomstick stitch is amazing, thinking I may have to try something out with some ribbon – when I get a spare minute! Catherinexx

    Reply
  13. claireabellemakes

    Gosh you are clever, the broomstick in wire looks brilliant.

    I’m pleased to hear ythe discussion helped to figure things out. We will follow you whatever path you take because we like YOU!

    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. freespiritdesigns

    Its great to hear that you’re feeling brighter and more positive – your blog is fab and definitely something to enjoy and be proud of! πŸ™‚

    Well done on completing your pretty diary cover – broomstick crochet looks very challenging i can’t believe you’ve mastered it so quickly! I really love the cuff too – soooo gorgeous in that copper wire, it will look beautiful on πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
  15. Rena

    Blogging can be joyful – write what you’re passionate about, and people will resonate with your openness. Love the blog!

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

