Upcycling.

I have been busy doing a project that will please Vicky from vickymyerscreations recycled bags, and possibly Alison from Fiddly Fingers too. I have been saving 3 old tops that were no longer wearable (much to my husbands disgust) and finally decided upon the perfect project for them.

The three tops.

The three tops.

I cut them into strips.

I cut them into strips.

The three tops cut into strips.

The three tops cut into strips.

I then joined the loops together in the same way as you would if making plarn.

I then joined the loops together in the same way as you would if making plarn.

You should end up with a ball.

You should end up with a ball.

Not sure what it is called jearn? (Jersey yarn?) You can buy off cuts of jersey that is made into yarn for you, apparently called Boodles, but I have made my own and turned it into this:

A lovely little bag.

A lovely little bag.

I could have done with 4 tops as I had to resort to using the sleeves for the handle which has resulted in it being quite ‘knotty’ but it does the job that I wanted it to: i.e. I have a bag in which to carry my essentials in (plasters, creams, phone and keys) and just sling over my shoulders.

turquoise 006

It is really quite heavy and sturdy and was fairly physical to make as it took my whole arm and a fair bit of strength (Alison will know if this is usual when working on the slightly larger scale). I am just a bit unsure as to whether it will fray and how that will affect the strength and longevity of the bag. I shall keep you posted.I do know that the colours won’t run as it has been through the washing machine countless times. πŸ˜‰

The back

The back

It only took a few hours so it is a quick and very satisfying project. I shall be popping over to handmade Harbour to see what everyone else has been up to this week later. Do pour yourself a glass of wine and join me πŸ™‚

52 thoughts on “Upcycling.

  1. Red Hen

    I remember an aunt of mine did just this to make a beautiful circular rug for her daughters`bedroom. I so admired that rug and wondered how she`d made it. Now I know. Thank you!

    Reply
  2. tgonzales

    I love the bag and I have a hard time crocheting with t-shirt fabric, it’s very hard to pull your yarn through the hook. You did a wonderful job. Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  3. Beate

    O want to reblog this, but my blog is under construction. I pray i will not forget this and do it next week. You are awesome. My attempt with an old wool coat failed horrible!

    Reply
      1. Beate

        I think it was the person behind the hook that was not too patient with folding the end under nicely. My blog is still in the process of being revamped. May be 2 more days to wait for it to turn to ORG and than i can lay loose, though my primary concern is making patterns right now.

        Reply
  4. sourdoughkaty

    I read another way to make plarn style yarn that doesn’t have the knots: cut all but the last inch of the strips, and then cut at an angle to make one big continuous strip. I haven’t tried it yet. It sounds like less work, but also less sturdy, since it’s not double thick. What do you think?

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      I vaguely recollect reading this somewhere too. It would get more yarn out of a piece but as you say may not be as strong. I guess the only way to know is to have a go….one day:)

      Reply
  5. xloz68x

    love it…….I’m looking to do a cat basket/bed type thing in this type of material, when I get round to it lol always something that Im going to get round to. Reblogging it also πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Simmi

    WOW! I think it looks great (although I didn’t really follow how to make it – but that’s my lack of knitting and crochet experience I think!) but it looks like it’ll be really durable and I like the size of the ‘knots’, I like chunky! Have a great week, Simmi xx

    Reply
  7. threadsnshreds

    Fantastic!!! Thank you for sharing this. Its something ive want to have a go at, and yes ive kept aside some tops just for this (or am i just a hoarder!!) but i wasnt quite sore how to go about it and definately didnt know how to join the strands, so thanks again now (or when i have a spare moment!!) i can give it a go. Hope you get plenty of use out of your lovely bag πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. freespiritdesigns

    Wow! This looks amazing! The colours look fab together and i love the chunkiness of it. I greatly admire your skill in bringing it all together so beautifully, you make it sound so easy but i think its your talent that made it so πŸ™‚ x

    Reply
  9. Mlissabeth

    I really like the colors you used together. I am pretty sure the yarn will not fray, from what I have read about others doing this. My only thought would have been to stretch each loop before you added it to another one, It kind of curls inward, and gives you longer strips to use.

    Reply
  10. jamieaaron03

    I like the way you mixed up all the colors, it actually seems better than the way I’ve been making my t shirts into yarn. I’ve been having a major problem, when I wash the things I make with it, they ALWAYS unravel, I don’t know what I’m doing wrong.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

