Something new to try.

It is called Flutterby

It is called Flutterby

This is the yarn that I have been using for my latest crochet project. Unfortunately I cannot show you the finished item…..yet. This yarn is not one that I would choose again in a hurry as it was not easy to use although it will be perfect for the project that I have used it for. It is made from polyester and will wash and dry really easily and my boys like it because it is lovely and soft. This colour way is a new one.

The second item that I have been working on this week was a piece of jewellery, my beloved kumihimo. This time I have used chips of Turquoise:

KumihimoIt has created a really lovely chunky item which I will turn into a necklace.

Finally, some of you may have noticed that I have spent very limited amounts of time on the internet this week? This is because we have been away. We had a lovely week in Broadstairs (Kent) where i managed to swim in the sea every day! There is a lovely little wool shop there, which I had to visit ;). The main reason was for this:

DesireI know it is not yarn as such but I am hoping to be able to make a scarf a bit like this:

Unlike All night knits, I have never made a ruffle scarf before (she is going for the world record I think, although not through choice!) but I was drawn to this because it is unusual. I it is actually chiffon which has holes lasered into it:

Broadstairs2012 037The laser is to stop it from fraying. Luckily it comes with instructions and there are some tutorials on YouTube too (thankfully!). It was not cheap at Β£11.00 but I am looking forward to the experience. I shall keep you informed as to how I get on. Has anyone else come across it before, it is called Desire by Woolcraft?

With it being Sunday I shall be heading over to Handmade Harbour to catch up on 2 weeks worth of news (my phone does not make it easy toΒ  comment so sorry to everyone. I shall try to make up this week :)).

51 thoughts on “Something new to try.

  1. Simmi

    Wow – the lasered chiffon looks amazing! My Mum’s made some of the ruffle scarves and they’re lovely to wear! Can’t wait to see the soft WIP – looks lovely and snuggly πŸ™‚ Simmi xx

    Reply
  2. e1aine

    My Mum makes me ruffle scarves too, but I think the chiffon will make a beautiful one.

    Love the beaded kuhimino, it looks great using chips.

    Reply
  3. Divine Debris

    That chiffon is lovely, I can’t wait to see the finished product. It’ll probably make this scarves actually quite gorgeous… I don’t want to judge other’s work, but I greatly dislike those ruffle scarves.

    Reply
  4. lottieknits

    Oh, interesting! We have the exact same yarn, in the same print, for a similar price where I work, but it is called Circulo Tecido Trico. Though in my experience it is not unheard of for two brands to buy the same yarn from the same supplier! It’s actually a little easier to knit than the ruffle yarns as the holes are very defined. I hope you have fun with it πŸ˜ƒ

    Reply
      1. lottieknits

        I’ve only tried it a little in the sample we have for the shop. It’s a little easier to knit with than some scarf yarns, but I still prefer ordinary knitting as there is more variety. It does give a nice effect though πŸ™‚

        Reply
  5. freespiritdesigns

    I’m glad you had a lovely holiday. Thank you for taking the time to catch up with two week’s of my posts, that’s really sweet of you.

    Your turquoise necklace is gorgeous – so versatile, you could wear it anywhere and feel pretty πŸ™‚

    I’m very intrigued by your scarf idea – i know it will be unique and fabulous, i can’t wait to see it complete! x

    Reply
  6. Ali

    The pattern on the scarf looks really pretty. I can’t wait to see how it turns out. The yarn your using for your other project reminded me of pipe cleaners. Have a lovely week.
    Ali x

    Reply
  7. xloz68x

    lol I kinda like the flutterby yarn, Its the stuff I used for the dontations to the hospital as it is so soft and thought this would be ideal for preemies, still waiting to hear back from hospital if they were of use though. Love your necklace, looks complicated to do from picture tutorials i saw…Also cant wait to see what you make with the other stuff with holes in ! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Lucy Blossom

    It will be interesting to see how your scarf turns out, I’ve never seen anything like it before. I’m also intrigued by your first wool, can’t wait to see what you’ve made with it.

    Reply
  9. tgonzales

    I bet that fuzzy velvety yarn is hard to work with. But I bet whatever you are making will be very soft and durable. As for the other chiffon fabric; I have never seen anything like it either and can’t wait to see the scarf that you make with it. Have a great week. Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  10. In a Pickle

    I have just finished knitting a ruffle scarf with a fury trim for my mum’s birthday! I’ve never tried the chiffon although now I want to! The fuzzy yarn looks incredibly soft!

    Reply
  11. EleanorLucy

    Busy busy as always Alice! That wool really does look super soft, I’m intrigued to know what’s in creation as I type! I haven’t tried the Desire packs personally but my local fabric shop recommended it and my friend’s super crafty mum loved it – it’s super quick apparently, and unlike some of these packs the end results looks really professional so all in all probably well worth the Β£11! I really like the turpuoise chops too, it reminds my of the seaside πŸ™‚

    Reply
  12. soyofthenorth

    Love the colour you’ve chosen for your kumihimo. Good luck with your first attempt at a ruffle scarf.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

