Ribbon Ruffle Scarf

Last week I showed you this fabric that I got whilst on holiday:

DesireI am very pleased to show you this:

watch Abraham heightgs 050It knitted up really quickly and was very easy once I found this wonderful blog explaining exactly how to do it, including casting on, joining and casting off.

It was a really good job that they explained how to join as I had 2m that was not part of the rest of the ribbon. I am a bit disappointed by this as I really expected that it would all be one continuous ‘spool’. (Maybe I am being a bit over ambitious?)

It was ‘easy’ to knit although it didn’t flow like my knitting usually does as you had to put the needle into the hole each time rather than wrapping around but this was not really a problem. It probably just took a little bit longer.

This does not however take anything away from the fact that it has created a lovely scarf that I am really looking forward to wearing. I am really pleased that I bought it – it will serve as a long-standing reminder of my holiday in Broadstairs.

As always I am heading over to Handmade Harbour to catch up with all the events over there. First however, I wish to apologise to everyone who linked up last week on Blogger. I did read all the blogs, mostly even 2 posts to make up for the week before. I also commented on them all but for some reason WordPress and Blogger were having a bit of an argument and wouldn’t acknowledge each other. It was only on the ones that ask for a catcha code. Searching on the web it was not just me having this issue. I am hoping everything is back up and running this week. Sorry about that. There were some lovely creations (as always.)

As a final ‘plug’ – I have started up a series called Blogging Buddies aimed at encouraging people to start (or have recently started) blogging. If you know of anyone who is interested in Blogging then do send them my way – I have got so much out of blogging that I am trying to give other people the chance to experience the same positive things as me. I try to do it on Wednesdays. Thank you.

51 thoughts on “Ribbon Ruffle Scarf

  1. Red Hen

    I`ve noticed the knitting revival here in Ireland, has been heralded by lots of new ribbon type yarns for making ruffle scarves. Your`s is very pretty.

    Reply
  2. Ginny

    What a transformation. I think I am going to have to look up how you did that.

    On what you said on my post, I really wish I could crochet as I think it probably would be more flexible for some of my little creatures. I sat and tried to do some a few weeks ago, and got in a real pickle, so feel it would be a huge amount of work to master it to the extent that I could follow, let alone write a pattern. So I just pick up my old knitting needles.

    Reply
  3. Patty

    The fabric was beautiful and the result even more. Your scarf looks elegant . I bet eyes are going to meet your neck on chilly windy days. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Catherine McAtier

    Your scarf is beautiful – would I be wrong in thinking you wouldn’t be rushing to make another? I love the idea of your Blogging Buddies as you can tell from my post today. Take Care Cx

    Reply
  5. Divine Debris

    Oh, that looks beautiful, as I know it would! The fabric looks light, airy and delicate, and I’m quite glad you decided to go for it and make a scarf from it. Truth is, I don’t much like those easy to make ruffle scarves that are so popular right now but you’ve added your own personality to the mix and really made something lovely rather than mass produced looking. I’m positive that you will receive numerous compliments when you wear it.

    Reply
  6. Gertie

    It’s beautiful. I would have never of guessed it was knitted. I took a look at the tutorial and it looks so complicated !!!

    Good luck with your new blog xx

    Reply
  7. soyofthenorth

    Such a beautiful scarf. Remarkable to think it’s made just from kniting with fabric.

    I had the Blogger communication too over the past couple of weeks. It seemed to happen at random to me. Some blogs with captchas worked, while the majority didn’t. Hopefully it will be fixed soon.

    Reply
  8. Pickle-Lily

    I have seen this in the shops and now I know what it looks like finished – and it looks amazing! have a great week, Jo x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

