Blogging Buddies – Why?

So why have you decided to blog?

  • Is it to simply share your ideas with others?
  • To ‘meet’ other, like-minded people?
  • To build up a following before you launch a shop?
  • As a ‘conscience’ so that you stick to something or do as you say you will?
  • As a diary?
  • As a record of a particular task: e.g bucket list?
  • because you read a lot and think that it is a good idea?
  • Any other?

I am not really sure why I started now. I think it is probably in the hope that I would set up a shop to sell my makes (I am still working on it…). To be honest, the original idea is immaterial now. I have got so much from blogging (as I have mentioned once or twice before… ;))

  • I have made a lot of great ‘friends’.
  • I have gained a huge amount of confidence.
  • I have gained a lot of new skills (still developing).
  • My style of crafting has evolved a lot.

Those are just the ones that come easily to my mind.

Why have you (or are hoping to) start a blog? I thought that this would be a great way to begin to learn a bit more about each other. If you feel up to it why not write your own post and link it up using the link below. We can then all visit each others. If you get time then do please leave a quick comment – it makes us all feel loved. If you have yet to start a blog properly then feel free to leave a comment below – we would love to get to know you all better, whatever stage you are at. (Obviously if you have yet to start then tell us your hopes and dreams πŸ™‚

43 thoughts on “Blogging Buddies – Why?

  1. vickymyerscreations

    Personally my blogging journey is constantly evolving, initially I started as I was advised it was a good idea for driving customers to my Etsy shop. In reality it is a creative journal which inspires me to create, and has introduced me to whole new world of blogging friends and community:) It has given me far more than I ever thought:)

    Reply
  2. waistbandontherun

    I really like to read your posts on blogging – they are so helpful to newbie bloggers. I was skeptical about blogging – who wants to listen to things that come out of my brain?! But I’ve been so surprised by the level of positivity that other bloggers send my (and others) way. My blog is definitely my “conscience” and a tool learn from others who are kind enough to share their comments/advice.

    Reply
  3. tgonzales

    The reason I started blogging was for the first 5 things on your list and in the 3 years that I have been blogging I have gotten so much more out of it than I ever imagined. The blogging world has brought me closer to a community of friends from all over the world. It has built my self confidence and made me a stronger person inside and out. I’m so glad that you have brought up the topic of starting a blog; I think it will help a lot of people out. Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  4. *Wisher*

    thank you for this lovely post today.. I started out long ago (2002) as a record keeping of my daily life.. then i close the personal blog and stopped totally.. recently.. i started out because of the similar reasons as you.. but i guess.. blogging had taken to another different level and I’m so glad that i’ve continued it and met many interesting friends/crafters/artists.. I love the blogging world and the community..

    Reply
  5. jamieaaron03

    I’ll try to write a post about why I started, I have a dozen reasons tho, but I am continuing to learn more and more reasons to keep it going. I’d like to start a shop too, and have tried, I thought blogging would be a good way for people to get to know me, then maybe they’d want to support my shop lol, but I don’t really know if that works.

    Reply
        1. jamieaaron03

          Humm, I just looked it over for a sec, but this could be interesting, I think smaller could be better, there is just so much on etsy it’s hard to get noticed

  6. Katie @ thisel and bean

    I started after prompting from my techy husband who suggested it would be a good way to keep track of what I made. I’m so glad I did it now for that very reason as I have made tons of things and its fab to be able to look back and see how my ideas have changed etc. Like others though it led me to find a whole community of tremendously supportive craft bloggers that I wouldnt have know about.

    Reply
  7. Gertie

    Mr Gertie and I started our blog (the BOGOF Blog) as a way of keeping in touch with our friends who are scattered across the country, likewise they did the same.
    I started the Joint Journals as an online diary for my hip, and with Gertie’s blog, it was somewhere to keep a record of the things I’d made and to share my recipes xx

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      What a great idea to start a blog as a way of keeping in touch with friends. I have not heard this before but it makes perfect sense. Does this mean that you are about to start your fourth blog?

      Reply
  8. Pingback: Why do we blog? | Lottieknits

  9. claireabellemakes

    I started to blog for creative and business reasons and I can honestly say it has changed my life. I never thought it would lead me to make so many new friends (online and IRL). The opportunities I have received because I write my blog have amazed me and I often wonder how I ever lived happily without the creative community.

    I guess what I am trying to say, is that before I blogged I was unfulfilled in some way and I didn’t even know it. The community is what makes it for me.

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Blogging Buddies – building a community. | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

