An important lesson….

This last week has been just as hectic as the week before – if not more so. I did not manage to blog at all which, as many of you will know is very unusual for me. The good news is that my Mum is well on the mend and my parent’s now only own one house. The house that they do own is not exactly finished so Mum is still with us but all their belongings are now in one place, albeit in boxes.

My crafting has also taken a bit of a dive in productivity. It occurred to me today that, when I most need crafting it is the thing that I get around to doing last. To be honest, this weekend I have ‘crashed’ a bit, both mentally and physically.  Not surprising really but instead of taking some time out to crochet and make jewellery I have done everything but…..cleaning, sorting and such. Madness. It is distraction techniques in reverse, doing everything except the one thing that will help me feel better. Does anyone else notice themselves doing this?

I do have one, almost finished object to show you:

Very slow progress but very nearly one completed.

Very slow progress but very nearly one completed.

As the weather is definitely changing in this part of the world, and getting colder and colder I really need to get the other one finished. I hate having cold feet and these are lovely and cozy (or will be if I ever get around to finishing them).

Sock from aboveI have enjoyed this project but it may well get eclipsed by another one that I am about to start as this new one needs to be completed soonish.

I am sure that my life is about to calm down a bit so normal blogging will be able to resume, both reading and writing. Meanwhile – the one thing that I have to take away from this week is:

(Image from this etsy shop)

This has to be a priority in my life from now on – I just need to try to remember it!

In order to get some inspiration I am going to pop over to Handmade Harbour to see what everyone else has been up to this week – do pop over too.

52 thoughts on “An important lesson….

  1. vickymyerscreations

    I have been contemplating the whole looking after ones mental health thing today… I’ve been thinking I really should exercise! (bit of a nose dive round here too… the prospect of winter). So pleased your mum is feeling better, and here’s to her house being finished soon:) These slippers look great:) Vicky

    Reply
    1. knitnrun4sanity Post author

      It was a run that finally shook me out of my blues. Even walking is good for the soul though – just finding the time and energy… Thanks for your lovely comments and thoughts. x

      Reply
  2. Red Hen

    Oh I know all about putting off doing what`s good for me. My Inner Saboteur raises her(his?) ugly head far too often. Love the socks. Wishing you well with your Mum and her big move.

    Reply
      1. Red Hen

        Run went pretty well. The worst of the rain cleared and I`d a fantastic tail wind for the first part,which of course, I paid for later. Eight miles, though not non stop!

        Reply
  3. Patty

    I totally sympathize with you… I’ve had a chaotic week and another one is coming… not much time to really do things I enjoy… I’ll try to remember your motto and do/see something creative 🙂 By the way your sock looks amazing and very comfy.
    PS: good to know your mum is ok.

    Reply
  4. Nice piece of work

    That’s a really great sock. One warm, cosy foot should be enough to spur you on to finish the other one 🙂 I hope you have a less stressful week, I’m sure the balance will come right soon 🙂

    Reply
  5. Joan

    Oh I know that over compensating one, avoidance I can do too! So glad some problems are sorting themselves. Now where is that thick yarn my feet are cold!!!

    Reply
  6. freespiritdesigns

    Wow, it sounds like you’ve had a lot going on! Don’t be too hard on yourself about not doing as much crafting as you would like, perhaps the clearing and sorting you’ve done will help clear your mind for some more genius creative ideas! I find that sometimes – i spent a whole morning clearing the area behind our shed this week (a job i’ve put off for a looooooong time) it wasn’t fun and i’d rather have been making a start on my Christmas designs but now its done i feel like somewhere a little weight has been lifted, i hope you feel this way too 🙂

    You cosy booties are gorgeous, perfect for keeping your toes toasty on those chilly days to come! x

    Reply
  7. Gallivanta

    Oh, life is so like that sometimes. And, somehow, we seem to make ourselves guilty about doing what will make us feel good 😦 I agree we must try to do something creative every day; for me, that is usually writing my blog and reading other blogs.

    Reply
  8. Lucy Blossom

    As a terrible sufferer of cold feet I think your knitted socks will be great! I can just see you getting cosy and warm whilst wearing them. I often forget that crafting calms me down and distracts me from stress, but when I do make a point of doing something I always feel better. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  9. CatkinJane

    I know just what you mean about not giving yourself time/permission to do what would be best for your own health – I regularly make resolutions to give these things more priority (just started on a new one that should get in to full swing next week when daughter #2 has gone to uni)

    Love the sock(s) – look like they will do a great job in style 🙂

    Reply
  10. Leeanne

    The socks look so warm and cosy. Some weeks are just like that -I think its important to remember that doing something creative every day doesn’t always mean you will FINISH something creative everyday or necessarily have something to show for it. In its own way tidying and sorting is important too -especially if it means you have a better space to then be creative again. Hope this week goes better…

    Reply
  11. tgonzales

    I’m so glad you’re back and hopefully your stress level will be lighter. And as always you are so right about taking time to create is the best stress reliever. Thanks for sharing. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  12. Gertie

    Glad to hear your mum is doing well.
    Don’t take it to heart about not crafting. We all get times like that when we know we should be doing something but don’t.
    Love the sock. I’m sure they’re keep your feet nice and warm xx

    Reply
  13. Ali

    Glad you parents are settled in a new home and your mum is well. I always think the blogging world is somewhat false in that we all blog about the good things in life. I did follow a blog that talked about their problems so much I could no longer read it, it was depressing. I thought you were being harsh on yourself saying you needed to concentrate on blogging more but then I thought your right. It makes you look at the good things in life and tone down the negative. I hope you have a lovely, lovely week with lots of blogging, craftying and time for yourself. We don’t function well if we ignore our needs.
    Take care.
    Ali x
    PS Love the sock, we definitely need them now the weather has turned.

    Reply
  14. Love Natalie

    Reading your blog post and all the comments, we are all “in it” together it would seem, and isn’t that the joy of the blogging commuinty that you can share your woes and realise you are not alone! The thing that I tend to do is craft something that somebody else wants/needs before doing anything for myselfand that can somethimes drive me mad. I love the yarn you have used for your sock – for the first time ever, I’ve been having cold feet in the evenings since the weather has turned, so I think I may have to make some for myself. After I have finished making them for everyone else of course…..

    Reply
  15. raphaele42

    That’s easily said, but I also try to make something each day, I found it helps me keep my sanity. You should make the other one of the pair because it is getting really cold.

    Reply
  16. fiddlyfingers

    Glad your mum is on the mend 🙂 Don’t worry about not being able to fit everything in. We all get weeks like this from time to time. I do hope you get your other sock finished as one foot is going to be very chilly!!!

    Reply
  17. healthyfrenchie

    I’m sorry to hear about your parents. And I can totally relate. Why is it that when things get hectic we forget to take time to do what we enjoy and makes us sane?
    Love the one sock 😉
    Take care of yourself

    Reply
  18. lovelucie1

    The only way is up! Keep up the running. Keeping the feel good endorphins pumping is paramount when things are hitting you hard. Although, as you say, sometimes the things that you know will make you feel better are the hardest to do. Lucie x

    Reply
  19. feelgoodknitting

    “when I most need crafting it is the thing that I get around to doing last”

    Yup. Crafting, exercising, eating well – these are all the things that keep me happy and balanced, and all the things I don’t feel like doing when I’m stressed. I know better, but sometimes knowing better is just not enough motivation. Glad to hear your parents/life are settling a bit!

    Reply
  20. EleanorLucy Millinery

    It’s good to hear everything’s calming down for you Alice, hope this week continues to smooth out. I feel exactly the same – I’ve been struggling to fit everything into my days now I’m full time working again and it’s the things that give me pleasure that seem to slip, so I’ve been getting up super early to run and making more time to be on my own in the studio this week. It’s been a revelation. Good luck and I can’t wait to see the socks finished, they look super cosy :o* x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

