5k and Marathons

I am in a bit of shock tonight as I type. The unimaginable has happened. I have got a place in the London Marathon. It was my first entry into the ballet and I got in. That is really not supposed to happen. What is more my friends haven’t got in. I am scared and excited and worried all in one go.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyway. Onto events closer to the here and now. A while ago I read a post about an international running event: the Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k. All WordPress blogs are invited to join in but I cannot see why anyone of you cannot join in. It is an idea that has captured my imagination. How great to be running a 5k alongside people from all over the world? Not often you get to do that.

Automatticians running a 5k in 2012

In fact you don’t have to run it – you can walk it, swim it, cycle it – in fact whatever you fancy as long as you cover about 3.1 miles. The idea is to do it on Sunday 29thΒ  although officially you can do it anytime until that date. You then blog about it using the tag: wwwp5k.
If you are not on WordPress then you can link it back to this post.

So how about it? Fancy joining in? I shall be participating – so watch out for the post.

21 thoughts on “5k and Marathons

  1. tgonzales

    Congratulations on getting in the Marathon, what an amazing thing for you to be doing. Good luck and “keep on trucking”. (I’m not sure why that phrase came out but it did) The 5K sounds fun too. I will see what I can do. Love and Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  2. feelgoodknitting

    Aw man, I will still be here in Maryland doing wedding stuff for my friend, so no 5k and posting for me. 😦 Congrats and good luck on your first marathon though! Hubby is running his first at the end of October. I can’t even imagine surviving that many miles…

    Reply
  3. lovelucie1

    Wow! How exciting!. Have you started with your marathon training plan yet? That will give you something to get out for for the next 6 months! What’s the furthest you have run so far?
    My ex did it 11 years ago. Being a spectator with a one year old on my back following him around the course for the day was enough for me. It was a truly fabulous day though. It’ll be wonderful and scary at the same time.

    Reply
  4. Cassie

    Brilliant news! It sounds like you’re well on your way to success already with the way that your training’s going – my distance running friends all advise starting to get in the mileage before Christmas so you’re not faced with them in the coldest, darkest months…. Looking forward to reading about your progress.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

