You learn something new everyday!

After a fair bit of persuasion I am beginning to consider myself to be a fairly competent crocheter. This week I have had cause to question this. I started a pattern fairly confidently. I counted the stitches as required and found  that I didn’t have the  correct number. I told myself that I was tired when I did this and ripped it back. I started again. This time it was wrong again. I studied the pattern carefully, looked at the crochet and decided that I must be wrong and ripped it back again. HUMPH!

Source

After a while I decided to ask my esteemed friend and designer Joanne Scrace. It turns out that I hadn’t got it wrong at all. Any of the times. (Extra large HUMPH.) It is simply a misunderstanding. The pattern, (for argument’s sake) had a row of UK trebles on one round and then on the next round you put another treble on top of the previous one but this time adding a chain in  between each one. When counting the stitches I had counted them all, chains and everything. Apparently I was wrong. The chains are not counted as a stitch. I had no idea. I do now though and will remember this for evermore.  As I always say, you have to make mistakes in order to learn.

If you fancy learning more useful tips, why not head over to Handmade Harbour and catch up with all the crafty goings on?

23 thoughts on “You learn something new everyday!

  1. Jan @ Handcrafted by Picto

    I’m not a crocheter so don’t understand about trebles or chains but I do agree with you about learning through mistakes.
    BTW I’ve just read your previous post, well done being accepted…… now let the training begin 🙂

    Jan x

    Reply
  2. Jill Spain (@JillSpain)

    I vaguely know the terminology of trebles and chains, but always had difficulty getting to grips with crochet and sadly had to abandon it. I do agree though that you learn from your mistakes, a great way of doing things differently too. Hope you have a good week.

    Reply
  3. Gallivanta

    Excellent YOU for consulting a friend. In a similar situation I can imagine myself, after a couple of tries, putting everything away and sulking! Or giving the wool away because I was so cross with it all 😦

    Reply
  4. lululoves

    Hi Alice – I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve had to unravel as I’ve not read or understood a pattern! I’ve just had a catch up on your blog and I wanted to say Congratulations on getting a place in the London Marathon 🙂 Em xx
    P.s. I know how you feel about the socks as much as I would like to think I could live with it I would have to finish that second sock! xx

    Reply
  5. Love Natalie

    What a nightmare! The other thing to remember is that sometimes (just sometimes!) the pattern is wrong. And I’ve just read your post about the marathon – congratulations! And good luck with the training!!

    Reply
  6. Lucy Blossom

    How infuriating, I’m just starting to learn how to crochet and at the moment struggle to keep 10 stitches on my double stitch (can’t even begin to try others yet) so finding the pattern doesn’t help must really be difficult.

    Reply
  7. EleanorLucy Millinery

    I imagine this is exactly how it feels to be going Actually Mad! Well done for sorting it out, and take comfort from the fact that a) this happens to all of us all the time lol, and b) you were right in the first (and second!!) place! 😉 Have a good week x

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

