Blogging Buddies – snap descisions

Last week your responses reminded me that there is definitely not a ‘one size fits all’ correct answer as to how to make a post interesting. One person liked people to leave a question at the end of each post whilst another specifically singled this out as something they didn’t like. I find this reassuring as some of it is down to personality. That takes some of the pressure off.

Earlier this week I thought about another factor related to this – how do you start your post off? I ask this because in my reader I only get a few sentences at the beginning of a post and, especially when I am looking for ‘new’ blogs (like I need anymore to read!) I do sometimes decide whether to continue reading based just on these brief snippets.

When I stopped to think about it I was quite upset with myself for being so superficial but I am sure that I am not the only one.

It gets even worse when you look on google. I put in ‘wire mesh jewellery WordPress’ to see what came up:

knitnrun4sanity.wordpress.com/2013/10/15/wiremeshjewellery/

23 hours ago – I have been experimenting with wire mesh and making some different necklaces with it. 1. Simple celtic knot. 2. Netted Pearls 3. A Fair Tradeย 

That’s it. Would it make you want to read it? I guess it depends what you are looking for.
I have no magic answers to this except that I have been a bit more mindful as to how I start my posts off. I have been trying to cut the waffle and get to an interesting point very quickly.
What about you? Do you have any tips or suggestions that you use? Do please share.
26 thoughts on “Blogging Buddies – snap descisions

  1. e1aine

    No amazing insights from here I’m afraid. It never occurred to me to make the first line interesting, but I did once put my favourite picture first in the hope that this would be the one in the reader pane – is that superficial?

    Now you’ve pointed it out I will take more care. It’s not shallow to skip through,though, you couldn’t possibly read all, so we have to make snap decisions.

    Reply
  2. claireabellemakes

    If you are aiming for your posts to be found in a search engine, it always helps to add your keywords in the first couple of sentences. I try to balance this with my personality and writing style so it doesn’t sound forced! Sometimes I am also guilty of skim reading the first few lines….however, the wire mesh jewellery opening would definitely make me want to read on!

    Reply
  3. tgonzales

    I’m not sure what the correct answer is for this, but as for me; I look at the pictures. I guess I must be superficial as well because if the photos are beautiful and clear, then I will read on. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs, Tamara

    Reply
  4. lovelucie1

    I always make sure the photo that comes up in the reader is a good one and if not I go back and add a ‘featured image’.
    If looking through new blogs, it’s the picture that inspires me to open it up.
    This is a good reminder to remember to read over that first sentence.

    Reply
        1. lovelucie1

          Then you can see which photo shows on your reader. I find that quite often the I don’t want the first photo in my post to illustrate what i’m going to say because it wouldn’t necessarily inspire me to read on. Sometimes it’s not even the first photo but a random one from my post.
          If this happens I’ll update the post by adding a featured image

  5. KerryCan

    I taught public speaking for many years and always stressed the importance of an “attention-getter” at the very start, to get the audience focused. Journalists do the same thing with the “lead” in a newspaper or broadcast. I think it’s a great point to remember!

    Reply
  6. Truly Myrtle

    Good question, I’ve never thought about this! I just launch in like I’m having a conversation … To be honest – over time my blog has felt more and more like I’m chatting to friends and I love that. I know it would probably be sensible to be more strategic – but actually, I’m pretty rubbish at keeping up with that sort of thing and if I tried too hard – it’d stop feeling like fun.

    Reply
    1. Truly Myrtle

      Having said all that … I do think about what I’m going to write A LOT. Like an ongoing dialogue in my head. I love having a story to tell, think of a new way to talk about something mundane and work out a bigger “plan”, like my outfits. That’s about as strategic as I get but it’s more about having fun and trying to be entertaining, rather than gathering or keeping readers. Make sense?

      Reply
  7. Lottie Of London

    Interesting post, I’ve never considered this myself and I despite making sure that my blog titles are descriptive to the post to make it easier for other clayers to see, I do on occasions (quite a few actually) start my posts with a paragraph or two of what i’ve been up to lately, hmm one to think about for the future ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. feelgoodknitting

    It is definitely one of those “first impression” things like meeting a new person. I wish I knew the magic answer to get people to keep reading! I just tend to blog like I speak and hope that the people who are into that find me and that the people who aren’t move on politely.

    Reply
  9. daniellajoe

    Time is precious so I read very fast lol
    And I like short concise post, writing a long post is for when I have time and the truth is I like it short 99% of the time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

