More Stash Aquired

Last week I had no wip’s. The first time for quite a long time. I did have a couple of projects that I wanted to start but had not got the necessary bits for them. I then went to The knitting and Stitching Show at Ally Pally. I now have a lot of projects waiting to be started.

source

For those of you unfamiliar with the show there are many, many stalls and exhibitions – all to do with knitting, crocheting and sewing. My idea of paradise. It takes nearly a whole day to get around and see everything although this year we were slightly more organised than last. We headed straight for the stall where we knew that we would find some bargain yarn (half price!) I picked up one or two (ahem) bags and then we went off to have a look at the rest of the stalls. The yarn was all ear-marked for specific projects obviously (:))

This is the stall!      Source

The other main thing that I was looking out for was sock yarn. I am going to attempt my first ever pair of knitted socks. I am really looking forward to it – I see all these lovely socks on blogs and I want some of the action. I know that some people only knit socks. It must be good. Unfortunately I need to get the right sized needles for this project. In fact I really need to invest in a lovely set of needles and hooks. I just haven’t been brave enough yet.

My first Christmas present.

My first Christmas present underway.

As you can see I have not made an awful lot of progress on what should be a quick and easy project. These are going to be my teacher gifts, along with a nice bar of soap I think. I probably will not stick to just this pattern but have a go at several, both knitting and crochet. I have plenty of yarn after all (20 50g balls in all!) It is Rowan Purelife, organic cotton. Really lovely and soft but easily splits which is a little annoying. I have two colours – this colour, Brazil Wood and Oak Apple so some will be a mixture of both. I shall keep you posted.

I shall now head over to Handmade Harbour to catch up with all the amazing achievements that they will have made over this last week. Before then getting on with my own knitting obviously.

(As an aside I had the pleasure and honour of meeting a fellow Handmade Mondayer, yesterday – Jan from Handcrafted by PictoIt was lovely to meet someone in real life and her items are every bit as amazing in real life as they are on the blog :))

52 thoughts on “More Stash Aquired

  1. Alison Willcocks

    I really must go to this show one of the days and how lovely to meet a fellow Handmade Mondayer! Looking forward to seeing some of the other patterns you will be knitting and crocheting 🙂

    Reply
  2. freespiritdesigns

    Oh wow what a fantastic looking show, all those stalls…! It must feel great having lots of lovely new yarn balls just waiting to be turned into gorgeous things. I love the sound of your knitted socks i’m sure they will be fab and super cosy, looking forward to seeing them completed! x

    Reply
  3. JenR

    Wow!! That looks amazing!!! It’s funny because the big yarn & wool festival here in State was this weekend as well. Must be the ideal weekend for all things crafty!

    Reply
  4. Knit and Purl Garden

    Lovely presents for teachers idea – might have to copy you on that one 🙂 I’ve been to Wonderwool Wales a couple of times and really enjoyed it – the journey is just about do-able in a day from where I live. Hope to make it to the Knitting & Stitching Show one day…sigh… 🙂

    Reply
  5. Lilly's Mom

    Your pattern you shared is coming along beautifully. I know you will enjoy knitting socks. They are my favorite item to knit. I would suggest sock yarn more on the DK weight as some of the other sock yarns are so thin and bothersome to work with. I wish you the very best.

    Reply

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

