Exciting Times.

On Thursday our year-long crochet project culminated in an amazing display in the houses at the Cambridge University Botanical Gardens (read their take on it here). I think we are all quite amazed at how amazing they look scattered about in amongst the other plants.

We made Lichen which was put amongst the rocks.

We made Lichen which was put amongst the rocks.

2013-10-26 14.28.37

This plant is housed in a pot complete with soil, all crocheted of course!

2013-10-26 14.29.47

There are actually 2 crocheted plants in this shot. Each plant had an embroidered name card. This is so realistic it is hard to tell where the real begins and ends!

2013-10-26 14.30.43

This plant was amazing – it is all held up with wire and the detail in the flower is amazing.

2013-10-12 12.40.48

OK, so now this is not in situ – it is my groups sea onion before it has been tarted up!

2013-10-26 14.25.28

And here it is in situ. It looks so much better and I have to say that I am so relieved! I had been really worried. It has been actually buried in the soil!

What makes this project really amazing is that many of the participants were not able to crochet before the project started at the beginning of the year. It is a really tactile display and during our ‘meet and greet’ session yesterday everyone was touching them – including us!! Should you be in the Cambridge area at all this week it is on all week so do pop along and see it for yourself.

We all loved it so much that we are desperately trying to find another project to work on next year.
If you pop over to Claire’s blog from Monday you will probably find some better photographs to look at. I also know that Michaela is also putting it up on her blog – go and see their take on it.

I apologise to other Handmade Mondayers who will have read a very similar post already but I shall be linking up anyway.

A couple of other points to note:

1 – I have a giveaway that ends on Wednesday.

2. My son completed his first knitting project – a polar bear, pictures will follow (I am so proud).

3. I am about to have my very secondΒ  crochet pattern published – hopefully tomorrow so keep your eyes peeled πŸ™‚

As I said – exciting times πŸ™‚

48 thoughts on “Exciting Times.

  1. Cocoa & Heart

    Wow, what a fabulous project – I only wish I could see it in situ… I think, it’s always the story behind, that’s most significant and the fact that people got together and learned a new craft to achieve something like this is amazing. Well done!

    Reply
  2. Gertie

    Wow!!!!! What a fabulous project. I too wish I lived nearer so I could see if in person.
    Can’t wait to see the polar bear. I bet both mum and son are so proud of it.
    Well done on another pattern being published. Before long we’ll be looking out for your book on Amazon xx

    PS Just been catching up with your recent posts – haven’t had the chance before now. Hope the book competition goes well and I’m in awe of your running…. I’m worn out just reading how many miles you’ve done !!!! xx

    Reply
  3. freespiritdesigns

    oh wow, the crochet plants look amazing! as you say, incredible like the real things! Well done on completing such an original project, i’m sure it presented a few challenges along the way.. πŸ™‚

    aww i can’t wait to see pics of the polar bear! x

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The Chelsea Flower Show and crochet! | knitnrun4sanity

I love to hear your thoughts and views.

